Pantera
Vulgar Display of Power


2.5
average

Review

by LaughingSkull USER (32 Reviews)
January 9th, 2014 | 57 replies | 1,921 views


Release Date: 1992 | Tracklist


3 of 22 thought this review was well written

After changing their glam image and releasing the moderately enjoyable Cowboys From Hell, Pantera was ready for the next step in their career. Vulgar Display of Power supposedly brought metal to a whole new level and is now hailed as the band's shining moment. For all the praise that it gets though, I personally do not see what makes it that interesting, much less a landmark.

Vulgar pretty much follows the same formula that Cowboys sets, namely start the album with a few memorable tracks, then add the mid-paced slow track somewhere in the middle, then degenerate into boring and rehashed forgettable groove. Sure enough, Mouth for War and A New Level are enjoyable, but nowhere near the level of Cowboys From Hell and Primal Concrete Sledge. This Love is nice, but it doesn't hold up a candle to Cemetery Gates. Besides, at a length of six and a half minutes, it more than overstays its welcome. Album closers By Demons be Driven and half-ballad Hollow are actually pretty good, but I'll take The Sleep and The Art of Shredding over them any day.

Walk is an especially boring song, with a really dry and simplistic riff; even if it's true that along with the drums, it somewhat creates a "walking" pattern. The lyrics are pretty idiotic as well -- "Re-spect-walk / You talking to me? / Walk on homeboy!". Wait, I got confused... is this metal or hip-hop?

Phil Anselmo's tough guy impersonations may be inspiring if you're 13 and desperately looking for something cheap to boost your confidence. Dimebag's guitar work is good, but only as far as the solos go, with most of his riffs being generic and boring.

I'm sure I would have enjoyed this album more if I had a beer gut, lived in a trailer somewhere down in Louisiana or Texas and did meth or heroin every other week. But I don't.



Recent reviews by this author
Lana Del Rey UltraviolenceArctic Monkeys AM
Metallica Master of PuppetsWithin Temptation Hydra
Metallica ...And Justice for AllMegadeth Countdown to Extinction
user ratings (2349)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
tempest--
January 9th 2014



12603 Comments


"Wait, I got confused... is this metal or hip-hop?"

You are a massive fucking tool.

pacedown
January 9th 2014



174 Comments


i think i really understand your point.
there are some bands that i really can enjoy criticizing.
but in my opinion, your opinions in this review are not enough to convince the readers in general.

"along with the drums, it somewhat creates a "walking" pattern."
if you figure this out, you should appreciate the composition. its a simple fuckin crazy riff =)

Multifarious
January 9th 2014



97 Comments


"Wait, I got confused...is this metal or hip-hop?"

I'm going to assume that you don't listen to a whole lot of hip-hop?

JS19
January 9th 2014



4161 Comments


"Wait, I got confused...is this metal or hip-hop?"

I'm going to assume you're 14

Digging: Sadistik - Ultraviolet

Egarran
January 9th 2014



252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

HERESY!

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2014



4796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

You are a massive fucking tool. [2]

Digging: Integrity - Those Who Fear Tomorrow

Pizzahut
January 9th 2014



113 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

haha great review

JS19
January 9th 2014



4161 Comments


Lol this guy has Meteora and Hybrid Theory 5'd

InbredJed
January 9th 2014



5605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I can see how this album is pretty much just 're-hashed Linkin Park.

zakalwe
January 9th 2014



6573 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fucking hostile review.

thumbcrusher
January 9th 2014



3578 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's No Good hurhurhur

but yeah your machine head review was better

RunOfTheMill
January 9th 2014



1428 Comments


I don't like Pantera, but this is a shitty fucking review

Davil667
January 9th 2014



374 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You need more information to back up your statements. For a review it's not enough to just state your personal opinion. If you feel the need to bash on an album or band just write a comment. The lack of information renders your review completely unnecessary imo…

LaughingSkull
January 9th 2014



216 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Review is what it is. I didn't go into descriptive detail because there simply isn't much to describe. That's how bland the album is.

Puckoff
January 9th 2014



35 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I just waisted 3 minutes of my life reading that.

DominionMM1
January 9th 2014



9536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Walk on homeboy!". Wait, I got confused... is this metal or hip-hop?"


lolwut?



Digging: Neurosis - Through Silver in Blood

InbredJed
January 9th 2014



5605 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's odd that someone so well versed in the ways of LP would think that there is anything remotely resembling hip-hop on this album.

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
January 9th 2014



4796 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"Review is what it is. I didn't go into descriptive detail because there simply isn't much to describe. That's how bland the album is."


Stop making bullshit excuses for yourself and just accept the fact that this review is poorly written. The only way I could believe that statement is true is if it was nothing but static noise, and it isn't. It's fucking Pantera.


ChopSuey
January 9th 2014



2392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

reviewer is stupid and deserves to die.....even though I do agree this is overrated

KILL
January 9th 2014



70599 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

no way punk

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy