Run the Jewels
Run the Jewels


4.5
superb

Review

by letlivekid USER (1 Reviews)
January 2nd, 2014 | 20 replies


Release Date: 06/26/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Very rarely do we see a producer and rapper have the chemistry that El-P and Killer Mike share.

Run The Jewels surprised me upon its release, since not even a year before it, Killer Mike and El-P released some of the best albums of 2012, "R.A.P Music" and "Cancer 4 Cure" which were both produced by El-P.Now, for "Run the Jewels", El-P and Killer Mike are both behind the mic, and give us 34 minutes of the best free music you'll ever hear.

First of all, I must say that in the short period of time they had to make it, El-P once again impressed me with his creativity and ambition with the beats and production. El-P is really showing how he is one of the best, if not the best producer in hip hop today. Every song, especially "36" Chain", has catchy and interesting beats.

Before I listened to this album, I was extremely skeptical on how Killer Mike and El-P would collaborate for an entire album, because sometimes when you put two or more heavyweight MC's together, it doesn't work out well (Slaughterhouse) and I was pleasantly surprised at how well Killer Mike and El-P worked together. At first lesson, it seems that El-P is trying to keep up with Killer Mike, but after my 2nd-3rd listen to this LP, I think they match up very evenly. El-P's rhymes and wordplay aren't immediate but once you listen to them carefully, he's just as clever as Killer Mike.

The way that the beats compliment the flow of both rappers prove the unmatchable chemistry that El-P and Killer Mike have. This misses the classic rating by a fraction, my only very light complaint about this album is that I think they should have added a song that had more lyrical depth like "R.A.P Music" did, but that is just a grain of sand compared to all of the good that "Run the Jewels" presents.


user ratings (1090)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
LambsBread (2.5)
Mediocre music by masterful musicians...

A J M H CONTRIBUTOR (5)
The true sound of hip-hop in 2013....

LyndonBainesJohnson (4)
It's Killler Mike and El-P? Fuck, boys! [i]Think about it.[/i]...

Sobhi Youssef EMERITUS (5)
Long Live El-Peezus...

related reviews

Run the Jewels 2
recommended by reviewer
Killer Mike R.A.P Music
El-P Cancer 4 Cure

Comments:Add a Comment 
Gwyn.
January 2nd 2014


15322 Comments


produced by El-P.Now, for "Run the Jewels


Put a space after that dot.

And you need to talk more about the music, describing what it sounds like and giving examples or its sound or the lines being done by the emcees.


SnakeDelilah
January 2nd 2014


9092 Comments


'letlivekid'



decayingmajesty?

Digging: Foxing - The Albatross

Phlegm
January 2nd 2014


5578 Comments


'squaids'

squaids?

Digging: Raresh - Fabric 78

SnakeDelilah
January 2nd 2014


9092 Comments


'phlegm'

phlegm?

Gwyn.
January 2nd 2014


15322 Comments


Stop?


Stop

Ryus
January 2nd 2014


4994 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

squaids your pic is fantastic

Digging: Arnold Schoenberg - Verklärte Nacht, Op. 4

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 2nd 2014


50960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

letlivekid

Digging: Friendzone - Collection 1

SnakeDelilah
January 2nd 2014


9092 Comments


thanks man

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 2nd 2014


10382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

Pretty good first review, nice job man. this is definitely one fun record.

Also, I think you should appreciate the lyricism on the last track here. That strikes me as being just as deep as anything on RAP Music.

Digging: Thou - Heathen

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 2nd 2014


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

A Christmas Fucking Miracle maybe, but otherwise I say R.A.P. Music is significantly more deep wrt lyrical content.

kind of a dumb topic to argue about actually but hey

it's me

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

XingKing
January 2nd 2014


11078 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A Christmas Fucking Miracle is ungodly amounts of good

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
January 2nd 2014


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

song of the year

jtswope
January 3rd 2014


2491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They go so hard on Sea Legs.

mankycaaant
January 3rd 2014


92 Comments


Another Run the Jewels review, another "it's good, just coz" response.
Thanks for the clarity Sputnik.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
January 3rd 2014


10382 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3 | Sound Off

complaining about other posters being unhelpful? sounds even more unhelpful to me

CK
January 3rd 2014


4952 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

omg people

Tyrael
January 3rd 2014


20971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ya

climactic
January 3rd 2014


19980 Comments


34 minutes of the best free music you'll ever hear.


Digging: Downfall of Gaia - Aeon Unveils the Thrones of Decay

LambsBread
January 4th 2014


3909 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is good but The Martyr by Immortal Technique is wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy better (and free)

has a track called Civil War with Killer Mike on it too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=34-ocPmH330

LambsBread
January 4th 2014


3909 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Like anybody i would like to live, a long life
longevity has its place, but im not concerned about that now
i just want to do God's will, and he has allowed me to go up to the mountain
i ive looked over, and ive seeeeeeeeeeen the promised land
i may not get there with you, but i want you to know tonight
that we as a PEOPLE will GET to the promised land!
so i am happy tonight, i am not worried about anything!
I am not fearing any man!!
MY EYES HAVE SEEN THE GLORY!!!
OF THE COMING OF THE LORD!!!!!!!!!!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy