Moving Mountains
Moving Mountains


3.0
good

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (92 Reviews)
December 23rd, 2013 | 40 replies


Release Date: 09/10/2013 | Tracklist


Moving Mountains used to be gritty. There was a backbone and high level of resolve in their music, tucked safely behind their unique blend of post-rock, post-hardcore, and indie rock. Songs could get soft and slow and occasionally lose focus, but there was always an outstanding crescendo just waiting to appear out of the woodwork and save whatever song or album in which it was contained. Moving Mountains are no longer that band, as their third full length self titled album is essentially the auditory equivalent of downing half a bottle of Nyquil, which is not necessarily a bad thing because hey, sometimes naps are nice.

Moving Mountains' first two releases Pneuma and Foreword cleverly walked the line between post-rock, ambient atmosphere, tenacious post-hardcore, and indie rock. Most of the post-rock and ambient facets were swiftly abandoned on the group's sophomore release Waves, which contained some great tracks, but was overall lacking compared to the band's previous body of work. Moving Mountains' newest release suffers from the same problems, but is instead exclusively rooted in acoustic based soft rock while abandoning all progress made on Waves. The first three songs "Swing Set," "Burn Pile," and "Hands" showcase Moving Mountains' newer slowed down, relaxing sound well, but this approach quickly becomes old once the 6th and 7th tracks rear their ugly heads. The last two tracks "Chords" and "Apsides" are nice, but I'm usually passed out by the time they come around. Pneuma was the band's only great full length album and I've started to believe that it was a fluke and that the band should stick to taking the three or four great songs their capable of making and release them as an EP. Ultimately just like Nyquil, Moving Mountains is best taken in small doses, because if you drink the whole bottle you're going to be out for days.



Recent reviews by this author
Have Mercy A Place Of Our OwnPianos Become the Teeth Keep You
Tiny Moving Parts Pleasant LivingPrawn Kingfisher
Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) You Will Eventually Be ForgottenKyary Pamyu Pamyu Pikapika Fantajin
user ratings (137)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
Daniel Davis (5)
Drenched in echo, excessively emotional, and absolutely perfect....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 23rd 2013


50703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm only three months late on this review, but yeah here you go

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me in the River

ShitsofRain
December 23rd 2013


5919 Comments


i like short reviews

Digging: Round One to Round Five - 1993-99 Main Street Records

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 23rd 2013


7110 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Droppin' dingers left and right.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 23rd 2013


50703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Now I can focus on my top 50 blurbs

Storm In A Teacup
December 23rd 2013


13167 Comments


so this is emo

demigod!
December 23rd 2013


44793 Comments


this band has always bored me

Digging: Iced Earth - Night of the Stormrider

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 23rd 2013


50703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"so this is emo"

Not anymore

bakkermaarten007
December 23rd 2013


3603 Comments


"Just listen to The Appleseed Cast instead"
Got it. =)

Storm In A Teacup
December 23rd 2013


13167 Comments


watching the cascade music video now

minty901
December 23rd 2013


2077 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

guess i'll post my review for this too.

JS19
December 23rd 2013


4358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awful review treb... Their first album is the one you moan is too like The Appleseed Cast. This one isn't even the same genre? Did you even listen to it?

Digging: Gates - Bloom and Breathe

fromtheinside
December 23rd 2013


18865 Comments


what is this?

Digging: Psicosis - The Crippled Machine That Moves the World

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 23rd 2013


50703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is something your mom would listen to

minty901
December 23rd 2013


2077 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

cba to post my review on sputnik so ill just link to it on the site i wrote it for. my review actually mentions it being something your mum would listen to haha:

http://postrockstar.com/2013/12/23/moving-mountains-moving-mountains/

fromtheinside
December 23rd 2013


18865 Comments


my mom likes phish

should i burn her a copy of this cassette?

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 23rd 2013


10310 Comments


I can't speak for the influences aspect of the review, but the descriptions contained are fair and well-written. But summaries like this one (as well as the previous one) make a review like this come across as being written just to piss off fanboys, even though the content here is actually pretty good

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 23rd 2013


50703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I have trouble writing summaries for short reviews that speak for themselves. I should probably just put nothing.

fromtheinside
December 23rd 2013


18865 Comments


the one before was better and less stand off-ish imo

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 23rd 2013


50703 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

that other guy complained though

I just can't win

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 23rd 2013


10310 Comments


I have trouble writing summaries for short reviews that speak for themselves. I should probably just put nothing.

I do this sometimes, because it can be hard to think of a concise way to sum up a review. I sometimes just pick a couple words as a placeholder.

I do get why you pick the summaries you do, because they grab peoples' attention-- I just don't think that's the kind of writing you should necessarily strive for. I also don't want you to get discouraged here, because this is one of the best reviews I've seen from you in awhile



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy