The Beatles
1


4.5
superb

Review

by Rory says no USER (1 Reviews)
April 4th, 2006 | 57 replies | 14,038 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist


1 of 12 thought this review was well written

The Beatles 1 is, as you might have guessed from the title, a collection of all the Beatles no. 1 singles, 27 in all. John, Paul, George and Ringo in their eight year lifetime as the Beatles made so many great songs and Albums and this is a small snippet of what they achieved in that time.

Love me do: The Beatles first single. Not a bad song but it doesn't really stand out that much. The harmonicas nice and Lennonís voice sounds great. There isn't really any guitar work in this song though. 3/5

From me to you: Another song with harmonica. I'm not really a fan of this one either. The verse and chorus is o.k. but thereís nothing that really grabs your attention. Fortunately though it's the shortest song on the album (1:56) so I can get through it with out falling a sleep. 3/5

She loves you: The song starts with the super catchy chorus which is just great. The guitar serves a better role in this song with some good riffs. 4.5/5

I want to hold to hand: Not catchy as the previous but still good. Hand claps in the verse for a change and John singing "haaaaaaand" before the choruses makes it a good listen. 3.5/5

Can't buy me love: Another catchy song with good lyrics. The bass carries the song along and the guitar comes in halfway with a solo. 4/5

A hard day's night: Quite a fast song with the singing dominating. A great solo in this one. The song ends fading out with a weird little riff. 4/5

I feel fine: The verse riff rules, it's really catchy and added with Lennonís voice gives the whole song a sense of cool. The chorus is a bit of a let down but the solo makes up for that. 4.5/5

Eight days a week: An American single. Itís a really poppy tune and it makes for a nice listen. It's acoustic and the boys use a nice vocal range. 3.5/5

Ticket to ride: Heavier than previous songs. The guitars work well with each other and the pounding drums make it a louder, heavier song. 4/5

Help!: What a song! The intro with them singing help with the moody riff in the background. Written by Lennon in 20 minutes!! 4.5/5

Yesterday: An American single. Paulís classic ballad that came to him in a dream. The most covered song in history. I really can't see what all the fuss is about. Thereís 2 parts to the song and while there both quite nice with the string section thereís nothing to make you go wow! 3/5

Day tripper: Some good old sixties rock. A catchy riff and good rhythm that makes you want to dance. The best bit is the build up with the loud guitar and the 'ahhhhhhs' and it then all comes crashing back down in to the verse riff again. 4.5/5

We can work it out: its O.K. Acoustic guitar and an organ are the main parts of this song. Only bit I like is the faster part with the cool bass. 3/5

Paperback writer: A really simple and great song. It's really cool when their all singing "paper back writer" one after another. George Harrison also plays a really cool riff just before the verse starts. The rest of the song is just C and G. So simple! 4/5

Yellow submarine: The kids' favorite. A song with simple guitar and drums enhanced by the sounds of a brass band and a submarine. 3.5/5

Eleanor Rigby: Totally different from anything they'd done before. A sad haunting song. I think itís played with violins. 4/5

Penny Lane: O.k. It's not that bad but it's just.... well it's got a brass band and pianos with effects and it's just not for me. 2.5/5

All you need is love; John Lennonís casual message of love broadcast by satellite to millions of people. Itís quite good but the orchestra kind of wrecks it a bit. It ends with John singing "She loves you yeh yeh yeh". 3.5/5

Hello, goodbye: This song suffers the same as Penny lane. It's like thereís no guitar, just a big orchestra. Fortunately guitar does come in and this saves it a bit. At the end the song changes ends with a Hawaiian feel. 3/5

Lady Madonna: Amazing piano starts off and then....that bass line, it just rocks!. Thank God their past that weird pshycadelic stage. The guitar comes in making it rock even more. Thereís also a refreshing sax solo. 4.5/5

Hey Jude: This starts off as quite a good McCartney ballad with piano and acoustic guitar. With backing vocals of "ahhhhhhhh". This one has a heavier feel because of the bass and drums. Now with all of that itís a good song. But what makes it classic is the second part of the song. "Better, better, better, better.... Na na na nanananah na na na nah hey Jude". You just have to listen to it. It's so massively awesome, a work of art. This then goes into a fade out which at the time was the longest fade out ever. It just rules. 5/5

Get back: This song has a real American feel to it. The rhythm rumbles along with American styled vocals, guitar and piano. Entertaining enough. 3.5/10

The Ballad of John and Yoko: The song is about what John and Yoko were doing at the time, such as the bed-in and their marriage. It's good but John's voice isn't on top form and the guitars aren't much cop. 3.5/10

Something: Georgeís classic ballad. It all sounds so very soft; the guitars and bass, along with the orchestra. It's good when everything gets louder with the drums coming in. I also like the solo in this song which is also quite soft. 3.5/5

Come together: This is quite a bluesy, groovy song written by John. Very strange lyrics. The verse is bass and quiet guitar. The chorus comes in with slightly louder guitar and a good riff. The thing I like about it is that it's all very layed back. I especially like the end with the quiet solo and John singing repeatedly ďCome together yeh!" 4.5/5

Let it be: A gospel inspired song and the last British single. Starts with piano and singing ladies. The song builds up with bass, drums and orchestra. I love the little riff thatís played on the guitar and then the organ, which then goes in to the kicka** solo. 4.5/5

The Long and winding road: The last American single and another Paul McCartney classic ballad. Quite a slow, sad song with piano and orchestra. Quite nice but Iím more into songs with guitars in them. 3.5/5

Overall: 4.5/5

Well that's it. 27 no. 1 singles spanning over eight years from 1962 to 1970. This album shows the impact the Beatles have had on music and why their still one of the most important bands today.

P.S. This is my first review (I didn't do any when I was called Rory says yes) so please tell me what you thought of it.


user ratings (605)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Blair Chopin (5)
...

LINK2K99 (5)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Rory says no
April 4th 2006



23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think I did a pretty good job for my first review.

The Jungler
April 4th 2006



4827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You barely described some of these songs. Three sentences doesn't really cut it. Even though most of these songs everyone knows it still would have been nice if you put more effort into the descriptions. Or just didn't do a track by track.

Thor
April 4th 2006



10158 Comments


This is a decent review at best.

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing For Us Here

The Jungler
April 4th 2006



4827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And you could have done better recomendations than just Oasis...

got tool?
April 4th 2006



14 Comments


Too many songs on the cd for a track by track, it would've been better if you talked about the album overall rather than each individual song. I made the same mistake with my first review.

tom79
April 4th 2006



3347 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I know it's just the Beatles' top songs, but those are, for the most part, far from their best work in my opinion. But still rather good.

The review wasn't quite the best either as there are too many songs for a tbt, and not too much detail. I think Penny Lane is much higher than a 2.5 also and Yesterday is IMO higher than a 3.5.
[quote=Reviewer]Let it be: A gospel inspired song[/quote]
The "Mother Mary" part in it is referring to Paul's mother.This Message Edited On 04.04.06

Digging: Bent Outta Shape - Stray Dog Town

AvalancheofSOUND
April 4th 2006



13 Comments


It's funny because Hey Jude is the only song you gave a 5, though i think there is alot more songs that deserve 5. Out of 27 #1 hits, i think there should be more. Everyone is always Hey Jude is such a great song!! I think its an ok song. If Strawberry Fields Forever made it on this cd, then this would be classic. Only if it reached #1 .

mybrotherthecow
April 4th 2006



79 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i think you rated the songs way too harshly. i respect your opinion and all but come on. i own this cd and its one of my favorites and every song is (imo) from 4 to 5. good review for a first time (ive only done two and they're rubbish) this is better then my first review. This Message Edited On 04.04.06

El_Goodo
April 4th 2006



1008 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That song ratings were pretty bad...you gave Yesterday a 3. And Something a 3.5.

Seafroggys
April 5th 2006



60 Comments


first off, the concept behind this album is flawed. Their first #1 hit, Please Please Me, never made it to the album. Also, Love Me Do, Something, and Come Together never made it to #1.

Secondally, this is not their best work. Virtually any band's #1 hit is never their best work. The general public are just idiots I guess.

I don't really agree with many of the song ratings. Something deserves a 5 imo, as well as Let it Be. And you rack Hello Goodbye too much. THough I agree that Penny Lane ain't that great.

It seems all the singles that didn't make this album are superior songs (Strawberry Fields, Rain, The Inner Light, Revolution, etc.)....oh well, whats happened happened.

les paul al
April 5th 2006



51 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

too many songs for a track by track review not a bad review though for a first review

DownPaymentBlues78
April 5th 2006



278 Comments


Yes, Seafroggys, you are wrong. Love Me Do was their first #1 single (US). Please Please Me only made it to #2 (UK) and #3 in the US. Something and Come Together both made it to #1 in the US as well.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
April 5th 2006



16071 Comments


Although I was always a much larger fan of their experimental work, you cant get a better collection of singles than this.

Storm In A Teacup
April 5th 2006



12688 Comments


It's nice to know we can all be welcoming to new users. :-|
Nice first effort, add just a little more detail for some song, and you'd be set.
This doesn't interest me at all for two reasons. The first is that the Beatles' #1 hits weren't even close to being their best songs, and the second is that I've got them all anyways. :p

Seafroggys
April 5th 2006



60 Comments


Well I was under the assumption that Love me Do topped at #17 in the UK when it came out....I wasn't even aware that it was on the charts in the US, even during Beatlemania, because it would be up against songs like I Wanna Hold Your Hand, Can't Buy Me Love, etc.

And I swore I've read that Please Please Me hit #1.

And I also swore I read the Something/Come Together topped at #4, though after reading the info in the '1' booklet prooves me wrong.

Lunarfall
April 5th 2006



3177 Comments


I'm almost completed a review on this, and I think it owns this one. No offense.

Lunarfall
April 5th 2006



3177 Comments


Please don't do that.
Don't worry. I will.This Message Edited On 04.05.06

Rory says no
April 15th 2006



23 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I've taken into account what you guys have said and hopefully my next review will get a warmer reception. Oh, and hey143, i'm dreading how much your review is gonna own mine so hurry up and submit it!!!

MrKite
December 16th 2006



5020 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I don't know how but I know the words to all the songs on here. I haven't listened to it enough to know all the words to all the songs but I know them. The Beatles are never on the radio around and my parents never listen to them. I love this. I love all the Beatles' different sounds. I'm really digging their early pop and their softer songs.

TheMisterBungle
December 16th 2006



861 Comments


I love their later days when they were weirder.
I need some of it very badly.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy