Park Jefferson
Park Jefferson


4.0
excellent

Review

by Robert Lowe CONTRIBUTOR (87 Reviews)
December 18th, 2013 | 25 replies | 1,568 views


Release Date: 08/21/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Well I'm done feeling sorry for myself

A cool user named Pmmets07 posed the question "best emo release since snowing?" on the soundoff page for the self titled, first full length album by Park Jefferson. This statement caused quite a quandary in my mind and I couldn't stop thinking about it every time I listened to this album. Park Jefferson should be a simple listen for me, it's just another emo record, and hell, around half the songs I already knew because they were previously released on EPs. But I loved those songs when I first heard them, and I still love them, but because of this simple, innocent, and I'm sure slightly sarcastic remark made by a random user, I just couldn't wrap my head around this release for the longest time.

There have been a lot of great emo albums that have come out since Snowing dissolved, but I know a lot of people don't feel that way. They feel that the emo scene has become stagnant and all the bands sound the same. But the funny thing is, Park Jefferson are one of those bands. They're completely archetypal twinkly emo revival, but the thing is, they're so good it doesn't matter. Park Jefferson have the emo formula down to a tee: math rock inspired twinkly arpeggios broken up by open note and octave chords, soft emotional vocals that can transcend into passionate screaming at any moment, and of course, reflective and heartfelt lyrics. A lot can be said about a band that's unique and tries different things, but there's also a lot of merit in a band that can play a familiar sound, but play it better than anyone else.

Park Jefferson is not my favorite emo release of the past three years nor do I think it's the best emo release since Snowing, but if a more specific question like "Is Park Jefferson the best archetypal, by the numbers emo release of the last few years?" I would have to give a resounding "yes."



Recent reviews by this author
Kyary Pamyu Pamyu Pikapika FantajinBrave Bird T-Minus Grand Gesture
Old Gray/Tiny Moving Parts SplitBanner Pilot Souvenir
Carissa's Wierd Songs About LeavingAge Sixteen Open Up Finders, Please
user ratings (24)
Chart.
3.5
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 18th 2013



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I barely talk about the music and I used the word "emo" 10 times

Enjoy

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

Tunaboy45
December 18th 2013



1788 Comments


Great review.
I don't think anyone can take the phrase "emo" seriously anymore.

Digging: Dream Theater - Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes from a Memory

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 18th 2013



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think it's more that because it's starting to get popular again, the shitty derivative bands are going to start outweighing the good bands

The good bands are still there, you just have to dig for them

sixdegrees
December 18th 2013



16777 Comments


dont you mean 'typical' not 'atypical' in the last two paragraphs, seems like it from the context.

Digging: Ted Nugent - Shutup&jam!

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 18th 2013



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol yeah oops

Tunaboy45
December 18th 2013



1788 Comments


Would you class captain we're sinking as "Emo"? I love the future is cancelled and I haven't stopped listening to it.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 18th 2013



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No I wouldn't really. Basically any band that has a strong Jawbreaker influence gets classified as emo. They're no more emo than The Lawrence Arms, just melodic punk I guess. You could call it pop punk if you want, but not really emo

Tunaboy45
December 18th 2013



1788 Comments


Fair enough. Whatever it is, it's one of the best albums of the year and I can't get enough of it.

StallionMang
December 18th 2013



5222 Comments


Nice review, will check

Digging: TTNG - This Town Needs Guns

PunchforPunch
December 18th 2013



5891 Comments


dude, it's saturday is one of my favorite song from these guys

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 18th 2013



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Better Boy is one of my favorite songs ever

ShadowRemains
December 18th 2013



20230 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

great album

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 18th 2013



6934 Comments


Now I know what you mean by shorter, gotta love that conversational, ask the world some questions tone though.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 18th 2013



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I gave up on being professional

I like reading/writing the "I'm trying to figure something out in my head" style of reviews

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 18th 2013



6934 Comments


So you don't like mine : [

:] It works well, it's a style I've never been able to pull off without sounding condescending or contrived.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 18th 2013



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like yours too. Having several different styles of writing on the site is always good.

solongatlast
December 18th 2013



190 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good album. Nothing new.

BroFro
December 18th 2013



399 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

did they re-record any of these songs for this LP? or are they all the same versions found on the EPs?

Digging: Choke - There's A Story To This Moral

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 19th 2013



49788 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Re-recorded


Blackbelt54
December 19th 2013



4268 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah pretty decent but I haven't really gotten into it much



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy