Busta Rhymes and Q-Tip
The Abstract & The Dragon


2.5
average

Review

by Aziz STAFF
December 12th, 2013 | 29 replies


Release Date: 2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Misleader & The Disappointment

It should be a surprise to no one that Busta Rhymes can spit. While he has spent the last couple years reasserting himself in the mainstream as a rap titan through the gimmick of light speed syllable gymnastics on Tech N9ne and Chris Brown tracks, he cut his teeth on straight boom bap, and even in recent years, features on Raekwon tracks and his New York ilk have proven to heads that Busta’s still got it. So it’s wildly unfortunate that after left field track-of-the-year contender “Thank You,” what quickly became a hotly anticipated mixtape was ultimately served up as a cunning prevarication – merely a compilation tape recounting the eminence of two greats in the 90s. The Abstract and the Dragon, which should have served as an official renascence comes out almost as a brash reminder that the man still exists, oh, and that ELE 2 is on its way. Most of the tape consists of Busta and Tip’s classic collaborations – a nostalgic saunter through the reeds of the past but hardly the 2013 wildfire we expected. There’s roughly 10 minutes of new content on this colossal compilation – none of it from Q-Tip. In fact, if it wasn’t for Tip ad-libbing part of the hook on “We Takin’ Off,” (one of the few fresh cuts), one might speculate whether Tip even cosigned the tape or if Busta just plastered his name across the top for the exposure. On the few new tracks that are present, Busta rhymes serviceably, gliding over A Tribe Called Quest-esque beats, occasionally with his new school deadpan delivery and sometimes with his trademark tenacity – similar to what we heard on “Thank You”. But where’s Q-Tip in all this? The Abstract and the Dragon muscles its way in blatantly as a tape by Busta Rhymes for Busta Rhymes fans, a hopeful reminder of his pre-sell out days and an assertion – an insistence even – that he’s still capable, but it quickly becomes an almost unmitigating recitation of yesteryear and the result is an eccentric compilation that ultimately falls on its face as a mixtape. As we’ve said for the past decade: maybe next time.



Recent reviews by this author
Drake and Future What a Time to Be AliveT.I. Da' Nic
Raekwon Fly International Luxurious ArtRun the Jewels Run the Jewels 2
Logic Under PressureIceage Plowing into the Field of Love
user ratings (20)
Chart.
3.1
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


6386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Everything on this is fire, but it ain't no new-new.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2013


53006 Comments


cool album cover at least

Digging: Tiny Moving Parts - Celebrate

oltnabrick
December 12th 2013


34432 Comments


This is a 5/5

Digging: Gucci Mane - From Zone 6 to Duval

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


6386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

cover art of the year FOR REAL



if only there was new material

LambsBread
December 12th 2013


5334 Comments


You really didn't indent one time? One paragraph?

HolidayKirk
December 12th 2013


1721 Comments


PERFECT REVIEW!

"the gimmick of light speed syllable gymnastics"

Dude.

"an almost unmitigating recitation of yesteryear and the result is an eccentric compilation that ultimately falls on its face as a mixtape"

DUDE.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


4161 Comments


sweet review but can't you say "cunning prevarication" in a way that doesn't take a full 30 seconds to think about?

should be featured, i'll post in the meds thread about it in a bit

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


6386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hilary why would I indent it's short enough as is



Kirk: haha thanks, I'm glad you appreciated it (and agree)

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


6386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@Will: tehe sorry, I'm at work now so can't really edit but I'll take a look after I get home and see if I can make it flow better

Jade
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


10619 Comments


wonderful work man

sorry i said i'd look over your reviews in more detail, been mad busy lately. i'll see what i can do tonight

DikkoZinner
December 12th 2013


4748 Comments


Agreed, artwork is awesome

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


6386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Jacob: np, busy is busy i know how it is; if you can't get around to it it's no biggie, glad you enjoyed the read though!





SitarHero
December 12th 2013


5457 Comments


Looks like Q-Tip contributed album cover if nothing else.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


6386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah that's about the extent of it =/

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


6386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Rest is old nigga

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


6386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Tbh I don't even remember it the rest of the album is like 4 hours long

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2013


6386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Reloaded?? Isn't that from last year tho

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 13th 2013


6386 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Oh shit didn't know bout that



Will cop n cheqq

EaglesBecomeVultures
December 14th 2013


5418 Comments


damn is this actually not good

Digging: White Lung - Paradise

Guzzo10
December 14th 2013


1209 Comments


Hey look, another...



You know what, nevermind



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy