Busta Rhymes & Q-Tip
The Abstract & The Dragon


2.5
average

Review

by Aziz STAFF
December 12th, 2013 | 37 replies


Release Date: 12/12/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Misleader & The Disappointment

It should be a surprise to no one that Busta Rhymes can spit. While he has spent the last couple years reasserting himself in the mainstream as a rap titan through the gimmick of light speed syllable gymnastics on Tech N9ne and Chris Brown tracks, he cut his teeth on straight boom bap, and even in recent years, features on Raekwon tracks and his New York ilk have proven to heads that Busta’s still got it. So it’s wildly unfortunate that after left field track-of-the-year contender “Thank You,” what quickly became a hotly anticipated mixtape was ultimately served up as a cunning prevarication – merely a compilation tape recounting the eminence of two greats in the 90s. The Abstract and the Dragon, which should have served as an official renascence comes out almost as a brash reminder that the man still exists, oh, and that ELE 2 is on its way. Most of the tape consists of Busta and Tip’s classic collaborations – a nostalgic saunter through the reeds of the past but hardly the 2013 wildfire we expected. There’s roughly 10 minutes of new content on this colossal compilation – none of it from Q-Tip. In fact, if it wasn’t for Tip ad-libbing part of the hook on “We Takin’ Off,” (one of the few fresh cuts), one might speculate whether Tip even cosigned the tape or if Busta just plastered his name across the top for the exposure. On the few new tracks that are present, Busta rhymes serviceably, gliding over A Tribe Called Quest-esque beats, occasionally with his new school deadpan delivery and sometimes with his trademark tenacity – similar to what we heard on “Thank You”. But where’s Q-Tip in all this? The Abstract and the Dragon muscles its way in blatantly as a tape by Busta Rhymes for Busta Rhymes fans, a hopeful reminder of his pre-sell out days and an assertion – an insistence even – that he’s still capable, but it quickly becomes an almost unmitigating recitation of yesteryear and the result is an eccentric compilation that ultimately falls on its face as a mixtape. As we’ve said for the past decade: maybe next time.



Recent reviews by this author
Your Old Droog Your Old DroogThe Roots ...And Then You Shoot Your Cousin
ScHoolboy Q OxymoronHave a Nice Life The Unnatural World
Warpaint WarpaintChildish Gambino Because The Internet
user ratings (15)
Chart.
3.2
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


6113 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Everything on this is fire, but it ain't no new-new.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2013


50432 Comments


cool album cover at least

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

oltnabrick
December 12th 2013


30904 Comments


This is a 5/5

Digging: Rich Gang - Rich Gang: Tha Tour Pt 1

FourthReich
December 12th 2013


17703 Comments


looks long as fvck nobody got time for that

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


6113 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

cover art of the year FOR REAL

if only there was new material

FourthReich
December 12th 2013


17703 Comments


yea that art is too swee

LambsBread
December 12th 2013


3459 Comments


You really didn't indent one time? One paragraph?

Digging: Ellay Khule - Holy Scriptures

HolidayKirk
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2013


1627 Comments


PERFECT REVIEW!

"the gimmick of light speed syllable gymnastics"

Dude.

"an almost unmitigating recitation of yesteryear and the result is an eccentric compilation that ultimately falls on its face as a mixtape"

DUDE.

FourthReich
December 12th 2013


17703 Comments


can you read?

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


3452 Comments


sweet review but can't you say "cunning prevarication" in a way that doesn't take a full 30 seconds to think about?

should be featured, i'll post in the meds thread about it in a bit

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


6113 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hilary why would I indent it's short enough as is

Kirk: haha thanks, I'm glad you appreciated it (and agree)

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


6113 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@Will: tehe sorry, I'm at work now so can't really edit but I'll take a look after I get home and see if I can make it flow better

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


10209 Comments


wonderful work man

sorry i said i'd look over your reviews in more detail, been mad busy lately. i'll see what i can do tonight

DikkoZinner
December 12th 2013


3152 Comments


Agreed, artwork is awesome

Digging: Death Strike - Fuckin Death

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


6113 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Jacob: np, busy is busy i know how it is; if you can't get around to it it's no biggie, glad you enjoyed the read though!



SitarHero
December 12th 2013


4677 Comments


Looks like Q-Tip contributed album cover if nothing else.

Hep Kat
December 12th 2013


15351 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

first track is good, rest is boring

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


6113 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah that's about the extent of it =/

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2013


6113 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Rest is old nigga

Hep Kat
December 12th 2013


15351 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i dont even like busta's verse on the first song that much


its like okay yeah punchlines on THIS beat eh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy