My Epic
Behold


4.0
excellent

Review

by Alex Trinkner CONTRIBUTOR (70 Reviews)
December 10th, 2013 | 215 replies | 4,768 views


Release Date: 12/10/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's all nothing.

My Epic is not a band that pretends to be anything they are not. They don’t use vague metaphors to hint at what maybe their lyrics are trying to convey. They are men of conviction and religion. And they’re proud of it, as their 2009 debut proved. I Am Undone was a twelve track monster of an album that spanned over 58 minutes, while showcasing nearly impeccable instrumentation and religious lyrics throughout. After a sophomore album in 2010 and an acoustic ep in 2011, My Epic has returned with Behold, another dense, personal album full of sailing melodies and down-tuned guitars.

Behold is an album that can be summed up in one word. Dense. As to be expected, these 11 tracks are nearly an hour in running length, with a majority of the songs finding themselves hovering around the 5 minute mark. My Epic are masters of these prolonged track lengths, using every second of a song to craft something truly special. This time around nearly every song relies on the atmosphere that they create, as made obvious on the album opener “Arise”. The song acts as a microcosm of the album, as it starts of softly, carefully treading its ground as it builds and builds upon layers of keys, effects, guitars and vocals before climaxing and slowly fading away. Vocalist Aaron Stone has mastered the art of inflicting mood changes with the changing of his voice, with songs often taking the cue of the front man; as his melodies slowly brood, so too does the instruments behind him.

When listening to a My Epic record, listeners must exhibit patience. Songs twist and turn, at times flying high over listeners only to plummet at a moment’s notice, showcasing the minimalistic elements that make My Epic worthy of their namesake. This is all a testament to the song writing capabilities of this young band. Although at first listen songs may seem dull and stagnant, repeated listens reveal delightful quirks and hidden harmonies. Songs such “Zion” or the monster closer “Arrive” best exemplify this, the former quietly building for 5 minutes with minor variances before giving way to a truly beautiful final minute.

Lyrically, Behold has a fairly simple concept; it is split up into two different parts. The first section consists of the intermixed tracks “Arise”, “Approach” and “Arrive”, which depict the story of God’s return to earth. These three tracks have similar melodies and faintly common structures, even if they vary greatly in length. The second part of the album is described by lyricists Aaron Stone as based on psalms from the bible. And here is where one of the only faults can be found in this record. At times this record seems more like a cd that could be played during a contemporary church service (the most egregious offender being the third track “Curse”). Although the lyrics rarely deviate from religious topics, this is nothing new to this band. The songs are sung with passion and desperate sense of urgency, making for a pleasant listen regardless.

Behold welcomes back this group’s customary balance between progressive indie rock and post-hardcore while simultaneously introducing a more prevalent focus on the atmosphere that the songs create. While it may seem a daunting task, Behold is a record that is at its best when listened to cover to cover; intricacies that would be missed otherwise shine with consecutive listens. With a return of two original members it seems My Epic has found the perfect balance between old and new, creating a worthy addition to an already critically acclaimed discography.



Recent reviews by this author
Seahaven Reverie Lagoon: Music For Escapism OnlySleep Weather Two Wheels Spinning
We Are Scientists TV en FrançaisWilliam Fitzsimmons Lions
Prawn / Joie de Vivre SplitBalance and Composure The Things We Think We're Missing
user ratings (35)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
atrink
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2013



2774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's been awhile, huh?

Rowan5215
December 10th 2013



19878 Comments


Thanks for reminding me that I need to check this out

Ecnalzen
December 10th 2013



5846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I hope this is awesome. The two songs they released were pretty damn good.

Rowan5215
December 10th 2013



19878 Comments


I heard three songs from this before it dropped? Weird.

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2013



2774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's on spotify if either of you would care to listen lol

Rowan5215
December 10th 2013



19878 Comments


Downloading it now man, way ahead of you

Rowan5215
December 10th 2013



19878 Comments


Also pretty good review man, I pos'd, but two things
"The song starts of as a microcosm of the album, as it starts of softly,"
Starts off* and you've used it twice; maybe "the song acts as a microcosm. It starts off softly..." would be better? And
"[/]Behold[/i]"
missing an i

Ecnalzen
December 10th 2013



5846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I only heard Hail and Zion.

Man, I would listen, but I don't have Spotify premium, so no can do on ma phone. Have to wait until after work tomorrow.

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2013



2774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Dammit. i rewrote that sentence like four times. Thanks for catching it

instantradical
December 10th 2013



188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review. I like this album, but not as much as Yet (at least, for right now.) Curse, Liturgy, Zion, and Arrive are great tracks.

Still, I feel like this record has the same problems as their last two full-length releases: really indistinct songs mixed in with amazing ones. I can never remember what Pour or Ashes sound like, and their first record, while having some extremely beautiful moments, just runs together as a bit of a hazy mess for me. The same thing happens with the middle stretch on this record, with the exception of Liturgy it all just blends together. Broken Voice is the only one of their releases where I don't think this was an issue.

I like this band the most when they're focusing on vocal melodies or clean, intricate guitar playing. They have some great heavier songs too like Lower Still, but I feel like they still haven't really perfected this yet. Anyway, it's all nitpicking, overall this a great album and I'm sure I'll like it more with repeated listens (Yet didn't make much of an impression on me at first, either.)

botb
December 10th 2013



9274 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Aoty possibly

Digging: Cult Leader - Nothing For Us Here

CaptainDooRight
December 10th 2013



26109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

pretty good/decent music here

Digging: Deniro Farrar - The Patriarch II

atrink
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2013



2774 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ehh i don't think this is even close to album of the year. There are too many great releases this year.

bloc
December 10th 2013



34489 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is really boring

Digging: Gamma Ray - Empire of the Undead

MegaJake1024
December 11th 2013



605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album is pretty good. Has some good tracks, but I agree with bloc. A little too boring. Probably better off listening to the new Everything in Slow Motion. Basically a heavier, less boring, better, more emotional version of this.

Digging: Chevelle - La Gargola

Ecnalzen
December 11th 2013



5846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I forgot to listen to this today.

Nerts.

XingKing
December 11th 2013



8982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I was not aware the release date was so soon

botb
December 12th 2013



9274 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is the opposite of boring

skoopy48
December 12th 2013



1308 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's really good, but I also enjoy the new EISM album a little more, and no this ain't boring at all.

Ecnalzen
December 12th 2013



5846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I haven't heard of EISM before. Might have to give them a listen, too.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy