Deicide
In the Minds of Evil


4.0
excellent

Review

by DarkRecollections USER (4 Reviews)
December 5th, 2013 | 29 replies | 999 views


Release Date: 11/26/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If you are looking for something new or different from this band, you will probably be disappointed. While not being a classic or groundbreaking by any means, "In The Minds Of Evil" is still a good and solid record in it's own right.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Deicide. Anyone even remotely familiar with death metal knows the name. They are a band who has forever made their mark in the world of death metal. Their brand of Christ-bashing death metal has sparked much controversy over the years and in their twenty plus year history they have released several records now considered classics, particularly the first four albums, the self titled, "Legion", "Once Upon The Cross", and "Serpents of the Light". Since then Deicide has continually been releasing some fairly decent to good records under the same banner, making some pretty significant changes to their sound throughout this course of time, leaving many fans feeling alienated and disenfranchised with the band.

Now in the year 2013, another new record called "In The Minds Of Evil" was announced. At first upon hearing the news I, like many of you, was not too overly thrilled and didn't really expect much, as they had been sounding more bland and uninspired as of late as their recent material hadn't really done much for me. I heard a new song "In The Minds Of Evil" was released and just out of pure curiosity, I gave it a spin. Upon first listen, I thought it was pretty good and noticed while it wasn't too much different than what I had came to expect, some improvements surely needed to be made. I listened through the song again and noticed first of all the vocals had greatly improved, as it was clear Benton was putting forth more effort and emphasis on the vocals and lyrics. Instead of sounding much like a barking dog like on most of the newer records, the vocals sound much clearer and he annunciates the words better than he has in a long time.

Musically speaking, there are also some important changes to note. The riffs are catchier and groovier than seen in a long time, giving the music more of an old school Deicide vibe that hasn't really been seen seen since "Serpents of The Light", as evidenced by the main riffs of songs like "Godkill", "Thou Begone", "Beyond Salvation", and the title track. The leads have also improved. "Between the Flesh and the Void" is another highlight with the main riff bringing a Morbid Angel type of vibe. Production wise, it brings more of a "Stench of Redemption" vibe, also a solid album in it's own right. The main thing making this release different from that album or any of the other newer releases though, is more emphasis is put on the vocals and the album contains more groovy riffs like in the early days of the band.


user ratings (101)
Chart.
3.3
great
other reviews of this album
Darion Paone (3.5)
If you were to cut half the record and release it as an EP, it might have scored higher than my fath...

Robert Garland CONTRIBUTOR (3)
The old lustre for Deicide’s brand of death metal has faded out of the band’s sound, but that do...


Comments:Add a Comment 
DarkRecollections
December 5th 2013



32 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is my first review so any input is appreciated. I know the conclusion cuts off. Anyone know how to edit a review?

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2013



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Go to your profile, just under your profile pic, link: Edit Reviews/Albums

Something along those lines. Shorten your summary. If the point is important incorporate it into your review.

Oneiron
December 5th 2013



194 Comments


Does this still have the boring mid tempos of the last two they put out? Stench of Redemption was amazing, but their more recent stuff has been a massive let down

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2013



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Review Summary: In conclusion,


This is obvious.

While not being a classic or groundbreaking by any means, "In The Minds Of Evil" is still a good and solid record


Try matching your context with your rating; "good" as seen by Sputnikmusic with the .5 to 5 rating system is a 3/5. Also, the two adjectives are instant grounds for a 3/5 anyway.

Now in the year 2013, another new record called "In The Minds Of Evil" was announced.


Really? What are you reviewing again? I like how bands announce album's they are going to release. Consider removing, burning, throwing out a near-by window.

At first upon hearing the news I, like many of you, was not too overly thrilled and didn't really expect much, as they had been sounding more bland and uninspired as of late.


Speculation of thoughts of others (however moderately true) doesn't really convey your own professionalism. It also doesn't help your argument's relevancy for In The Minds Of Evil

The last couple releases "Till Death Do Us Part" and "To Hell With God" hadn't really done much for me.


Which album are you reviewing again?
________________________________________More on the next post.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2013



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I seen a new song "In The Minds Of Evil" was released and just out of pure Curiosity, I gave it a spin.


*curiosity

This is nit-picky but taking a first person perspective while appearing unbiased and objective really is at odds unless you can pull it off properly. Read a couple of the staffers reviews, you'll see what works.

Also, seeing music? Just a terminology issue.

some improvements had surly been made.


Some improvements "surely" need to be made.

The riffs are catchier and groovier than seen in a long time, giving the music more of an old school Deicide vibe that hasn't really been seen seen since "Serpents of The Light",


Have you heard any of the earlier albums? I don't think this is accurate at all.

DikkoZinner
December 5th 2013



3014 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty good album, lots of great dm released this year.

Digging: Skinless - Trample the Weak, Hurdle the Dead

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2013



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is a pretty good review especially for a first[?]. There's just a few things that can be cleaned up, edited or replaced. You're well on your way.

DikkoZinner
December 5th 2013



3014 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yep pos'd.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2013



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Also this was probably one of the least positive dm releases for this year. Barely above average.

DarkRecollections
December 5th 2013



32 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for the input. I have made some much needed edits.

DarkRecollections
December 5th 2013



32 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The early albums placed more emphasis on groove. Compare just about any song off the self titled to The Stench Of Redemption. To Hell With God and Till Death Do Us Part had some pretty groovy parts but this album as a whole is more groovier and takes more influence from the early albums.

Nocturnal
December 5th 2013



1329 Comments


Well done. Pos'd. Album is awesomepossum.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2013



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Really?

Nocturnal
December 5th 2013



1329 Comments


Really what faggot?

Nocturnal
December 5th 2013



1329 Comments


Such a weird ratings chart for this btw.

Amphoteric
December 5th 2013



1699 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, too many 4's and 4.5's

Digging: Alpha Male Tea Party - Droids

CaptainDooRight
December 5th 2013



28844 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

iPod tearin' shii up

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2013



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Way to many 3.5/4/4.5...

CaptainDooRight
December 5th 2013



28844 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

whole world can't b perfect agreeed

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
December 5th 2013



6993 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sometimes though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy