Crying
Get Olde


4.0
excellent

Review

by Will Robinson STAFF
November 29th, 2013 | 31 replies | 2,778 views


Release Date: 08/29/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: who the hell is bili?

Don’t draw too many similarities between Crying and Anamanaguchi. Though it’s true both fall squarely under the banner of “chip-punk,” the two bands operate on totally different ends of the spectrum. Whereas Anamanaguchi’s fantastic Endless Fantasy was decidedly chiptune-centric, Get Olde is punk to the core. Eschewing the intricacies, feel-good attitude, and, quite frankly, coherence of the former, Crying instead opts for sullen, pull-no-punches lyricism and a sonic chiptune-synths-and-distorted-guitars framework which ends up far less dense than much of Anamanaguchi’s work.

Not to focus too much on a comparison point at the expense of an excellent little snippet of punk spirit, though: make no mistake, Get Olde still works. Maybe it’s the all-too-honest and angsty yet somehow not clichéd lyrics, maybe it’s the rough, sparsely edited female vocals, maybe it’s the way Crying has harnessed the rawness and energy of a good bleepy chip lead synth. Whatever it is, the EP is exciting as hell. The title “Get Olde” is an excellent summary of the release as a whole: the seven songs make for a frighteningly realistic chronicling of the twists and turns of the various battles of life - growing up, getting in touch with uncomfortable feelings, learning to control life as it comes.

It’s also wonderful to see, though, that Get Olde also encapsulates those few immensely satisfying moments of euphoria which come occasionally during those turbulent times. There hasn’t been much music this year more straight-up celebratory than the chorus of “Bodega Run:” “Bodega run, oo-oo-ooh / do you want to share a yoo-hoo? / Lil’ Debbie’s giving me the eye down that aisle, / but pass me a bag of those hot fries, baby.” Songs like “Bodega Run” are prime examples of why punk is still alive and well: the point isn’t just to lament everything wrong, there’s always something good to extract from any situation.

And, of course, while the rest of the EP is rather morose, it’s still a celebration of sorts: life sucks, but at least we can experience that major suckage together. Family reunions might be horrible, I might be burning out, the M might not run on the weekends, but still, it’s life. The energy of Get Olde is hard to understate, despite how laid-back most of the songs present themselves to be. Beneath our scowling exteriors, we’re all really just looking for connections, some meaning in our human existence. However overused the idea behind this release might be, Crying has interpreted that idea in a way that, while not radically new, feels fresh and truthful. A wonderful example of chip-punk done right, Get Olde is a triumphant expression of self, and it’s great to see the medium of chiptune used in a way which satisfies.



Recent reviews by this author
Venetian Snares My Love Is A BulldozerSeven Lions Worlds Apart
Big Freedia Just Be FreeSam Smith In the Lonely Hour
Throwing Snow MosaicFatima Yellow Memories
user ratings (19)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Brostep
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2013



3334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Streaming here: http://wearecrying.bandcamp.com/

Really really good, definitely worth a check (plus it's like 15 minutes long and PWYW, so why not?)

Hep Kat
November 29th 2013



14994 Comments


i didnt like this

Digging: Merchandise - After The End

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2013



3334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hep kat shutting shit DOWN

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2013



4378 Comments


Good review, Will. I'm not really into this kind of music, so I doubt I will check it out. but review was solid as usual.

Kman418
November 29th 2013



9810 Comments


i heard a few songs off this it was kinda ehhh :////

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
November 29th 2013



3334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Kman that's what I thought initially but this one grows hard. there's not much more euphoric this year than bodega run (which i say in the review as well)

dimsim3478
November 29th 2013



4717 Comments


this one grows hard [2]

Not even a sex joke, it really really grows hard.

Digging: Joyce Manor - Never Hungover Again

Spare
November 29th 2013



5250 Comments


record's dope as heck

Digging: Radiator Hospital - Torch Song

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
November 30th 2013



11720 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

heck yea

Digging: Tenement - Taking Everything b?/?w Daylight World Plus 2

DamnVanne
December 28th 2013



1768 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

such a great album. I've never heard anything like it til now, so anybody got any similar recs?

demigod!
December 28th 2013



43809 Comments


wow, this sounds awesome based on your review. gonna listen hard

Digging: Black Flag - My War

MortimusPrime
December 29th 2013



2887 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bodega run is such a fun song

Digging: The Contortionist - Exoplanet

oneups
April 13th 2014



30 Comments


I don't know what it is that works about this album but I'm glad I stumbled on this review. I don't tend to like many female vocalists, I feel like they often do really generic things with their voices - not to be sexist - but the girl leading in this just really pulls it together with the weird lyricism and sincere vocals. Oddly enough, Bodega Nights is one of my less favorite songs on here, though it's still pretty solid. And I'd recommend this to people not generally attracted to the idea, I didn't think I would like it, but well.. "this one grows hard" I guess.

MortimusPrime
April 14th 2014



2887 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Oddly enough, Bodega Nights "

its Bodega Run mate


but I get what you mean, "sincere" is very appropriate definition of her vocals

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2014



3334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah it "embodies punk spirit" or some bs like that except it actually does because it rules or something idk

MortimusPrime
April 14th 2014



2887 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"every goddamn family reunion,

someone's got somethin' to say
how didja become this way?

as if i've made a mistake
meanwhile, they've slaughtered the cake"


last lyrics on the album and probably my favourite

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
April 14th 2014



3334 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think the bridge of Bodega Run (quoted in the summary) is probably my fave because it just sums up the album so goddamn well

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
April 14th 2014



11720 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i was just thinking about this album today

DamnVanne
April 15th 2014



1768 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed, Mortimus. ES is a perfect song

thelastsignal
June 4th 2014



958 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha nice review, Will. I was planning on reviewing this because I thought to myself, "There's no way that this has a review already". Really enjoyable little ep though.

Digging: Mastodon - Once More 'Round the Sun



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy