Aegaeon
Exponential Transcendence


3.5
great

Review

by Nocturnal USER (3 Reviews)
November 26th, 2013 | 13 replies | 653 views


Release Date: 2010 | Tracklist

Review Summary: BR00TAL. And then some.

2 of 11 thought this review was well written

Aegaeon are a 5 piece deathcore band hailing from Evansville, Indiana that have been making a name for themselves in the DIY scene as a studio and touring band since forming in late 2008 and self releasing 3 albums (2 Ep's,1 Lp). What separates Aegaeon from the million other deathcore bands on the planet is that they write some of the most genuinely heavy and brutal deathcore with well thought out song structures and well placed breakdowns.

"Exponential Transcendence" is the first EP they released and that was in the glorious year of 2009 and right from the opening second's your ears are assaulted by blast beats, speedy tremolo riffing and insanely aggressive, low growls. Mix that with massive breakdowns, huge chugging riffs, the occasional melodic section plus a few solos and you have the general components for any track off of this album. Despite the songwriting being very similar and may seem rather generic on paper, the vocalist shines through with his spectacular growls. Unlike most vocalist's in the genre, Jim Martin chooses to not really use many techniques and just stick to use his bread and butter which are his crushing powerful low growls, and an occasional even lower one. Although his vocals are completely indecipherable and may come across as monotone to some because of the lack of range, in my opinion it's compliments the band's sound very well and is a major strength within the band.

Despite the mega brutality of this very entertaining Ep this album is by no means a game changer. This is a deathcore album for deathcore fans and they show exactly how to pull off this style correctly. With all that said do yourselves a favour and check this album and band out that is without doubt in the upper echelon of dxc scene and a band to keep an eye on.


user ratings (16)
Chart.
3.4
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
joshuahuntkc
November 26th 2013



1517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great EP, solid review.

Nocturnal
November 26th 2013



1177 Comments


It really is great I can't believe that I've only just recently discovered them.

Digging: The Contortionist - Exoplanet

joshuahuntkc
November 26th 2013



1517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is probably one of their better releases. But I listen to Dissension a lot more often I would have to say. I was about to review this if no one else had gotten around to it


Nocturnal
November 26th 2013



1177 Comments


True man I really like Dissension too. You gonna review their other ep?

joshuahuntkc
November 26th 2013



1517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

IDK maybe. I like it but I'm not as taken with it and I'd probably just recycle a lot of what I said when I reviewed Dissension. Have you heard Neural Union?? Its awesome.

Nocturnal
November 26th 2013



1177 Comments


Ya I have man, It's sick I'm really looking forward to their next release. Hopefully I get the chance to catch a show soon too.



joshuahuntkc
November 26th 2013



1517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I've seen then with the old and new vocalist and both times they were great.

Nocturnal
November 26th 2013



1177 Comments


Nice and that's good to hear and I bet the whole band sounds massive.

joshuahuntkc
November 26th 2013



1517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah definitely massive. their drummer is a monster

TheMoreira
November 27th 2013



5751 Comments


I've heard of these dudes before, never listened to their stuff though. This reviews steers me to think that i should check them i mean "This is a deathcore album for deathcore fans and they show exactly how to pull off this style correctly." that's Moreira stuff then.

Nice little review, will eventually listen to this mate m/ pos'd

Digging: The Chariot - Long Live

Nocturnal
November 27th 2013



1177 Comments


Thanks man and ya it's some really heavy stuff I have a feeling it's definitely a Moreira jam.

Havey
November 27th 2013



9319 Comments


stop pluralizing with apostrophes you fuckin dolt

Digging: Tim McGraw - Not a Moment Too Soon

Nocturnal
November 27th 2013



1177 Comments


Fuck off breh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy