David Maxim Micic
Bilo 3.0


4.5
superb

Review

by Thompson D. Gerhart STAFF
November 21st, 2013 | 143 replies | 17,083 views


Release Date: 11/17/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A combination of orchestral swells, jazz groove, and rock and metal mentality that makes for one delightful progressive stew.

The more I listen to music, the more I realize what a rare and beautiful gift it is to be consistently awed and inspired by one artist's efforts. There are so many flukes and so many flubs in the world that it's a truly special thing when one artist can continuously expand their musical catalog and their musical borders at the same time, making each new album fresh, palatable, and unique.

I don't think anyone particularly expected that when they first listened to David Maxim Micic. But I also don't know that anyone expected Bilo to be such a powerful and progressive debut considering it was a release that found itself improperly labelled and tossed among the mountain of "djent" that 2011 gave us. Yet there it was, shimmering, shining, and playing with passion and a slant not particularly expressed anywhere else at the time. Then came 2012's Bilo 2.0, a drastic progression from Bilo featuring a number of guest spots from oddball operatic Vladamir Lalic to friend and fellow composer, guitarist Jakub Zytecki. And it was amazing.

All things considered, it shouldn't come as any surprise that Bilo 3.0 is as warm, inviting, and entertaining as it is.

While Micic's debut saw more of a darker, mechanical sound that invoked images of a dystopian cyberpunk reality at times, Bilo 3.0 continues the trend in making the album brighter and more human that was started on Bilo 2.0. From the warm, purely orchestral movements of opener "Everything's Fine" to the tinkling and airy piano and broad swells of "Wrinkle Maze" that lead into an almost Trans-Siberian Orchestra-style guitar solo dotted by choir chants, Bilo 3.0 is as introspective and relatable as it is epic in scope.

This extends into its darker territories as well, with "Smile" accenting Aleksandra Djelmas's sinister growls and cackles with genuine whimpers at the end of phrases like "I give up, the phobia is real" and seamlessly shifting into and out of a soaring, clean style. Any and all instruments know when to step back and when to step up with low, stuttered guitars frequently emphasizing Lalic's Serj Tankian-inspired vocal tone one moment, followed by a well-directed transition into any of many free-flying solos by Micic and friends from Zytecki to Jeff Loomis.

Truly, Bilo 3.0 is an extraordinarily well-rounded album from all angles bright and dark, melodic and rhythmic, with perhaps its best moments coming on "Nostalgia," a track largely guided by groovy, jazz-inspired bass and illuminated by the phaser-sliding keyboards of Vasil Hadzimanov. Yet it's this combination of orchestral swells, jazz groove, rock and metal mentality guided by a melding process that makes the hinges invisible that makes Bilo 3.0 a product of perfection. Bringing those mechanical and technical elements together with the slow, steady, and elegant classics and making it seem like a natural blend; combining vocal-driven music and instrumental tracking at just the right blend to make both aspects feel fresh at the right moment - that is the genius that David Maxim Micic has become. We'll certainly know not to doubt him when Bilo 4.0 comes around.



Recent reviews by this author
Opeth Pale CommunionRx Bandits Gemini, Her Majesty
Chris Letchford LightboxHoth Oathbreaker
Marty Friedman InfernoCasualties of Cool Casualties of Cool
user ratings (107)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2013



1987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8 | Sound Off

I'm so glad this is as amazing as it is.

http://davidmaximmicic.bandcamp.com/

Mort.
November 21st 2013



3407 Comments


good review. you've made me want to check this out really badly

Digging: The Blood Brothers - This Adultery Is Ripe

Slut
November 21st 2013



2461 Comments


That summary has me intrigued. I'll check this out

Digging: Kimbra - The Golden Echo

SitarHero
November 21st 2013



4656 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The vocals kind of steal the show on this one.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
November 21st 2013



4950 Comments


delightful progressive stew

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2013



1987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8 | Sound Off

"delightful progressive stew"

Hey, man, y'gotta love the stew. Also I was in a rush to wrap up and get to work, but I'll edit my first post with the link to the album.

CaptainDooRight
November 21st 2013



28835 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this on bandcamp?

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2013



1987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8 | Sound Off

Yup - just added the link to my first post in the thread!

Calc
November 21st 2013



12136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

insta-feature lol. this didn't grab me like it did you, 2.0 was way better imo. Those horrible screams in Smile knocked this whole thing down .5 for me too. Still a pretty enjoyable and interesting listen

Digging: Jizue - Shiori

thejared
November 21st 2013



198 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Holy shit, 2013 is the year of discovery for me, and this is one of my favorite findings so far. I'm halfway through the album and am enjoying it immensely so far.

Digging: As We Draw - Mirages

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2013



1987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8 | Sound Off

I really dig the screams in "Smile," actually - it's really powerful and evocative to me.

I think I kinda put this and 2.0 on the same level, though. 2.0 was stellar as well.

Calc
November 21st 2013



12136 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

really though? I can hear her voice straining hardcore especially in the beginning of the song. I feel like if they were gonna do that she should've trained her voice more for it. The Bobby McFerrin part in the second song is pretty neat though

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2013



10064 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Nice feature, chap

Should I check this out? This style of music hasn't been doin it for me lately

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

ProjectFreak
November 21st 2013



1318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

will probably investigate

Tyrannic
November 21st 2013



3261 Comments


this infuriates me with delight right in the b drive

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2013



1987 Comments

Album Rating: 4.8 | Sound Off

"I can hear her voice straining hardcore especially in the beginning of the song."

The strain is what adds the emotion, though - it's supposed to be a dark and grizzly edge and that strain just emphasizes that. Might not be your thing though and I can dig that.

@Omaha - I think you'd like it - give it a spin.

Mort.
November 21st 2013



3407 Comments


wtf Omaha I want Jennifer back

Acanthus
November 21st 2013



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Listening to this now, great review!

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 21st 2013



10064 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Jennifer will come in due time, friend

Acanthus
November 21st 2013



9537 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Wrinkle Maze" is superb, would love to have this on a physical medium.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy