Earth Crisis
Firestorm


3.5
great

Review

by god ov dem USER (10 Reviews)
November 15th, 2013 | 37 replies | 1,093 views


Release Date: 1993 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Dawn of the chugcore.

7 of 7 thought this review was well written



Earth Crisis is a band that pretty much everyone into metalcore knows of, but they don’t seem to really get much attention outside the fact that they helped pioneer the genre. After releasing a ground-breaking and exciting EP titled All Out War and gaining a bit of a buzz among the burgeoning hardcore punk scene of the early 1990’s, they decided to go back into the studio to perfect the sound they experimented with a year earlier. And while perfect it they did not, they certainly managed to mark a step forward for the genre.


By balancing the Minor Threat-esque hardcore punk energy and the heaviness of extreme metal, they managed to craft a new, sludgier sound that still contains plenty of fury and aggression. This style, often jokingly referred to as “chugcore”, is done to death nowadays – and quite poorly, most of the time – but Earth Crisis made it interesting. They would use their so-called “chugs” (drop D/C tuned guitar chords strummed in a repetitive fashion) to build up to a massive peak in sound only to crash it down in a huge d-beat gang chorus or flurry of riffs. By placing mid-paced thrash riffs between these lifts and drops in tempo, they manage to keep things interesting throughout all three of the songs on this EP. The occasional little guitar solo / fill doesn't hurt either.

But the drumming is the true highlight here. Never leaving a single piece of his kit alone in the dust, he manages to hold the ever-shuffling tempo while experimenting with how he holds rhythm and keeping things sounding big and furious. There isn’t a single moment where I’m honestly bored of the drummer because of his versatility. While the guitarists may not share this musical prowess, they manage to get the job done with their big riffs.

However, this EP is not without its share of flaws. The production is very flat, and despite having a decent track mix, the guitars seem to drown out everything else going on here. This is a shame because it makes it a bit difficult to hear the singer’s awesome and powerful shouts and the already-established-as-fantastic drumming. They also fall victim to the overuse of chugging drop riffs, which may put some listeners off. It’s not a huge deal, though, since the release only really goes on for fifteen minutes, leaving little room for boredom.


All in all this is a fun little EP, packed to the brim with testosterone and innovation. While they wouldn’t perfect this sound until the release of their debut LP, this release is a very enjoyable (if somewhat primitive) metalcore outing that could easily fit in with any modern metalcore fan’s collection. Perhaps it’s not an essential, but it’s damn close, and a neat time capsule to look back on.



Recent reviews by this author
Power Trip Manifest DecimationIntegrity Kingdom of Heaven (The Araca Sessions)
Earthmover Death Carved In Every WordUnruh Setting Fire to Sinking Ships
Beulah Handsome Western StatesLSD and the Search for God LSD and the Search for God
user ratings (57)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
demigod!
November 14th 2013



40970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This needed a review. so I gave it a review!

tommygun
November 14th 2013



21345 Comments


pos

demigod!
November 14th 2013



40970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

love ya tom

tommygun
November 14th 2013



21345 Comments


u 2 matey

JustinKing
November 14th 2013



1217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pos'd. Definitely Earth Crisis' most passionate release.

demigod!
November 14th 2013



40970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah, I might even bump my rating. not sure yet. Destroy the Machines feels a bit more focused.

JustinKing
November 14th 2013



1217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

More focused instrumentally, definitely. Overall, this wins me over as best Earth Crisis. I'm all about the pure emotion in shnitz like this.

demigod!
November 14th 2013



40970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i get that, and I am too, generally. just feel like some of these riffs get a bit dry after a while. A happy medium on the debut LP.

JustinKing
November 14th 2013



1217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Destroy or Gomorrah's are probably their most balanced releases, in my opinion.

demigod!
November 14th 2013



40970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Man I couldn't get into Breed at all. found it boring. First heard it a few years back and it
completely turned me off the band. glad i decided to give them another shot.


btw, have you heard that Integrity EP I recently reviewed? should check it if you haven't. Some of my
favourite stuff from them.

JustinKing
November 14th 2013



1217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I edited that. I got Breed confused with Gomorrah's for a half-second. Breed has some moments, but overall, yeah, it's a bit boring. I heard maybe a track or two off that Integrity EP, but can't remember what it was. At the time, I was focused on other stuff, so it was just background noise. I need to check it again.

demigod!
November 14th 2013



40970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ahh. yeah I just jammed Gomorrah today for the first time, actually. Great stuff. the vocals sounded a bit silly, though. wish the vocalist had stuck with the style he used on this one. seemed like he slowly started transitioning into a rap metal type sound... that might sound harsh but it's true.

JustinKing
November 14th 2013



1217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, that style hit a peak on Slither. So glad Karl came back to just being a screamer on the past two records, though. They might not have gotten that good a reception (instrumentally, they were bland, but it's fucking Earth Crisis, what do you expect?) but I thought they were a pretty good return to form, and personally, I thought Karl's vocals sounded better than ever.

accompliceofmydeath
November 14th 2013



4083 Comments


A FIRESTORM

TO PURIFY





ur xmoshinx

Digging: Crowbar - Crowbar

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2013



1334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Awsome job Demi, doesn't sound for me though. But yeah great review man

demigod!
November 14th 2013



40970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thanks man, that means a lot coming from you!

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2013



1334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Aw shucks, thanks Mann! But actually I'll give this a shot, band seems alright actually

demigod!
November 14th 2013



40970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

they're worth a shot dude, heavy stuff.

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2013



1334 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll do it tomorrow during one of my free hours, some dorm across the street is blasting the loudest most obnoxious pop music. It'll probably be impossible to hear it even with headphones.. Lol

demigod!
November 14th 2013



40970 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

trust me dude this will drown out any annoying pop! Should blast it on a huge boom box in the caf.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy