The Devil Wears Prada
8:18


2.5
average

Review

by SlipperyQ USER (1 Reviews)
November 12th, 2013 | 21 replies


Release Date: 09/07/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: This album is worth listening to if you like The Devil Wears Prada. Overall if your new to this band this album isn't exactly the best example of their work except for maybe a couple songs. This album isn't their best release either. Zombie EP, With Roots

8:18, the fifth studio album of the Metalcore band, The Devil Wears Prada. Like I did their last album, I dove right in and listened to the whole thing without stopping. I always liked this band and I was optimistic about this album. Sadly, this album is a "meh" for me.

When I blasted through the album the first track was "Gloom", I noticed right away this band's utilization of synth and the intro to Gloom had an eerie feeling to it and I didn't know what to expect. After about a minute my face was blasted with chugging and Mike Hranica's typically (Since Dead Throne) beefy lows and wheezy and out of breath highs and mids. I watched all the studio updates for this album and I guess Mike sounds ***ty on purpose. The song overall got me pumped up and ready for the rest of the album.

I won't write a paragraph for every track but my current judgement is that the next two tracks, Rumors and First Sight could have easily fit in on their last album, Dead Throne. War was a bit softer and more interesting and proves that Jeremy's vocals definitely have improved unlike Mike's. About half way through War Hranica took over and but this time this song took a more distinct sound, helping to keep this album from sounding like a Dead Throne clone. War definitely demonstrates Mike's idea of sounding more emotional in his vocals.

8:18, the title track, is definitely a highlight. Kicks off with a bit of mellow instrumentals and Mike sounds as if he's shouting a poem as he's reading aloud, which I thought was actually pretty epic. After a minute, Jeremy jumps in and owns with his clean vocals.

Sailor's Prayer reminded of Dead Throne again, however the chrorus was actually quite catchy.

Care More stood out pretty well, as the softest song on the album. Jeremy shows off his singing again, and this song barely features any of Mike's vocals.

Martyrs was the only song I heard prior to purchasing the album, as it was leaked a while before the album was released. When I first listened to it I thought it was boring, and overall feels like filler. The song is pretty typical except that Mike take's over the task of the chorus and there's no clean singing. Easily one of the heaviest tracks.

Black & Blue also feels like it's just another song.

Transgress is pretty epic. A very eerie intro and then suddenly Mike Hranica just owns with his vocals and for awhile this track felt like a perfect combination of vocals, synth, and instrumentals. This track definitely stands out.

Number Eleven starts out with the intro that continues the overall vibe of the album, although this song really just kind of feels like "Just another song".

Home for Grave is filler.

In Hearts wraps up the album starting out pretty mellow then blasts your face off. One of the heaviest songs on the album and fits the role of the climax song since it includes all the good elements throughout the album. Epic singing and Hranica kicks ass. Instrumentals also stand out on this track.


user ratings (362)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
fednecis (4.5)
Redemption...

spartanawasp (4)
Holy Peanut Butter, Jelly is an abomination (In the Shadow of If-I-had-staff-powers-I-would-have-giv...

MetalHead03 (3)
If Dead Throne and Zombie EP met, and had a baby.....


Comments:Add a Comment 
spartanawasp
November 11th 2013


303 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The track-by-track.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2013


21453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

didnt really care for this

Digging: Aspherium - The Fall of Therenia

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2013


10280 Comments


sure better than their other shit tho

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2013


21453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

yup but thats not saying much

SlMBOLlC
November 12th 2013


5230 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nothing wrong with track by tracks but the descriptions are lol

"Sailor's Prayer reminded of Dead Throne again, however the chrorus was actually quite catchy."

so someone who hasnt heard dead throne will have no idea

"Black & Blue also feels like it's just another song."

um

rly?



SatelliteYears
November 12th 2013


190 Comments


"Overall if your new to this band this album isn't exactly the best example of their work except for maybe a couple songs"

You're* ugh. Grammar fail.

SnakeDelilah
November 12th 2013


7880 Comments


Wow, this review is REALLY fucking bad. Not only is it a track-by-track, but it's a track-by-track with very little detail whatsoever, you use personal pronouns more often than needed, and your grammar is terrible.

Digging: Sun Kil Moon - Benji

joshieboy12345
November 12th 2013


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah review is bad, but it's your first so some advice. Use grammar and paragraphs properly. 1 sentence isn't a paragraph. Use the simple structure of Introduction-Paragraph-Paragraph-Paragraph-Conclusion. And practice your writing more, plus spell check before posting.

mindleviticus
November 12th 2013


8292 Comments


This is horrible

SlipperyQ
November 12th 2013


12 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Sorry if my review sucks I just jumped right in and types as I listened each track

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2013


21453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

like a 2.8

witchxrapist
November 12th 2013


11044 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

sure better than their other shit tho

yup but thats not saying much


every single thing they've done before this is way better, especially plagues and zombie.

sorry, but wtf are you kids smoking?

witchxrapist
November 12th 2013


11044 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Seriously, how does anything on this album touch this in terms of energy, overall catchiness, strength of vocals, production, etc.?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ValqXAh1EXs

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2013


21453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

that just sounds awful to me. the production is horrible the vocals are grating ughh i cant stand this band. this was bearable because of the good production and decent riffs

witchxrapist
November 12th 2013


11044 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This album has the cheesiest synths possible, it's overproduced by TDWP standards (which is absurd because they always were overproduced), and I'm sorry, but having bouncy chug riffs doesn't constitute good songwriting.

Vocally, Mike's vocals are indisputably weak on everything post Plagues.

witchxrapist
November 12th 2013


11044 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Vocally, Mike's vocals, lol redundant.

In other news this album has no coherence.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
November 12th 2013


21453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

yea listened to a few songs again and its worse than i remember. this kind of metalcore is not for me

witchxrapist
November 12th 2013


11044 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

These dudes always showed promise but they need to stop trying to sing, and they need to stop trying to incorporate outside elements into their music because they're not good at it.

SlipperyQ
November 12th 2013


12 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Seriously, how does anything on this album touch this in terms of energy, overall catchiness, strength of vocals, production, etc.?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ValqXAh1EXs"

That was back when Mike's lows were ear candy and the band as a whole was still quite original.


Tunaboy45
November 12th 2013


2537 Comments


This review should've been drowned at birth.

Digging: Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross - The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy