Recondite
Hinterland


4.0
excellent

Review

by Olivier De Clercq CONTRIBUTOR (40 Reviews)
November 9th, 2013 | 81 replies


Release Date: 11/11/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Hinterland sees Recondite perfecting his meditative brand of techno and creating compositions that are able to move not only feet, but the heart as well.

After developing his unique and deeply meditative take on acid house for Acid Test, last year, Berlin-based producer Recondite (real name: Lorenz Brunner) kept his gathered momentum steadily going throughout 2013. He continued his acclaimed Plangent series with propulsive remixes from the likes of RNDM and Kassian Troyer, delivered the atmospheric startup EP for the new Swedish label Trolldans and provided Fabric with one of its biggest bangers this year via 'EC10' - amongst other things. In the meantime, he's also been fine-tuning his debut for Ghostly International and claimed it as his first actual artist album. Saying the guy is restless, in this light, seems like bit of an understatement.

You wouldn't guess it from actually listening to Hinterland, though. The album sounds almost exactly like the picture on its cover: gray and sparse. The music breathes Berlin through and through, as the minimalist aestetic Brunner employs continues along the lines of dub techno pioneers Porter Ricks and the emotive compositions of Pantha du Prince. 'Riant', for example, is just gorgeous in how Brunner uses a single, simple synth pad to invoke maximal response from the listener. The kick of his rudimentary beats is blunt and dim, which gives his compositions room to breathe and wander, rather than interfering with the carefully constructed atmosphere he's displaying throughout the album.

Hinterland is actually a concept album of sorts. It finds Recondite connecting again with the area he grew up in, and recreating the moodswings of the community as the seasons pass. Not only do the actual track titles reflect this ('Leafs', 'Still', 'Clouded'), but the combination of the changes in tempo Brunner inserts with the more uniform melodical motives on top, enhance the sense that although in this area everything shifts and changes with time, nothing ever really evolves. Melancholy: it's the basis of almost every Recondite track the producer has put out to date, but it's never been as obvious as here.

The result is that Hinterland is a very personal record, both for the producer as for the listener. These ten tracks are not communal, they are isolating. They are about being awestruck by the ruthlessness and the calmth of nature, about contemplating your place in the world, about temporarily escaping - but not fleeing - from the worries of everyday life. These are all things Brunner experienced during his trips home, or at least, it's what could be inferred after listening to this sculpted time frame of his youth. Above all, though, Hinterland sees Recondite perfecting his meditative brand of techno and creating compositions that are able to move not only feet, but the heart as well.



Recent reviews by this author
Voices From The Lake Velo Di MayaAmatorski From Clay To Figures
Ben Frost A U R O R AThe Notwist Close to the Glass
The Men Tomorrow's HitsValentin Stip Sigh
user ratings (17)
Chart.
3.7
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2013


6499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listen here: https://soundcloud.com/ghostly/sets/recondite-hinterland

Digging: Recondite - Iffy

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2013


31403 Comments


This is such a good album

Digging: Objekt - Flatland

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2013


10310 Comments


Nice work, man. Excited to listen to this when I can afford it.

What distinguishes acid house from plain ol' house? Either way, may be something I'm interested in.

ShitsofRain
November 9th 2013


5919 Comments


niiice that u reviewed it, wanted to check this out, thx!

Digging: Round One to Round Five - 1993-99 Main Street Records

Typhoner
November 9th 2013


881 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Review really makes me want to listen to this, yet again great work! I noticed you're really digging this guy but I've been always forgetting checking him out after you rec'd. I will fix that... NOW.

Digging: Shinichi Atobe - Butterfly Effect

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2013


31403 Comments



What distinguishes acid house from plain ol' house? Either way, may be something I'm interested in.


http://www.factmag.com/2009/09/22/20-best-acid-house/

2nd main paragraph

Typhoner
November 9th 2013


881 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh and feature plz

ah, never mind. It has been done

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2013


31403 Comments


It's already featured you twit

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2013


10310 Comments


Ahh, I see. So would I be wrong in saying the new Daniel Avery record had moments of acid house?

Typhoner
November 9th 2013


881 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I didn't see that at first, OK?

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2013


6499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wow, Sputnik is busy today! Thanks for the support! :]

So would I be wrong in saying the new Daniel Avery record had moments of acid house?

Yes it definitely had.

ShitsofRain
November 9th 2013


5919 Comments


i wonder why you never write a summary. it would look better on the front page then i think

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2013


6499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, now that it's featured (thanks very much btw) it looks kinda ugly. But I find the notion of a summary of a review rather pointless, especially because I try to write shorter, digestible reviews.

If you'd rather have one, I can write one though.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
November 9th 2013


10310 Comments


Love you Clerc, makin me want to write about electronic more!

Typhoner
November 9th 2013


881 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Three tracks in and I feel so bad for months of ignoring your Recondite recs, Olivier :-(

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2013


6499 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha, glad you like it man! :]

Edit: summary added.

DoubtGin
November 9th 2013


6752 Comments


On Acid was pretty sweet

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
November 9th 2013


2715 Comments


What an album, man. I've been keeping up with this guy for a while and it's nice to see my meager amount of effort paid off. Thanks for reviewing it.

TheBarber
November 9th 2013


1992 Comments


Just finished listening to On Acid and it's pretty cool

Digging: Manes - Be All End All

BigTuna
November 9th 2013


5161 Comments


Congrats on the feature! I'll definitely give this a listen.

Digging: Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels 2



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy