Melt-Banana
Fetch


4.1
excellent

Review

by Aziz STAFF
November 5th, 2013 | 144 replies


Release Date: 10/10/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Eat your heart out Gretchen Wieners

I need to clear the air here before we get things started: noise rock isn’t exactly my forte. It’s not something silly holding me back, like the grating dissonance offends my musical sensibilities, or my pansy ears can’t handle the feedback – it’s more like I’m just not exactly attuned to it; I haven’t done enough listening. Sure my inexperience with almost every iteration of post-punk inspired genres may suggest that I’m underqualified to rave about batshit Japanese two-piece Melt-Banana, but don’t overanalyze; that should speak only to the almost overwhelming accessibility of the band’s new album Fetch. Built atop a tightly sequenced drum machine and futuristic squeaks, squawks and everything in between, Fetch is the small concrete room in which vocalist Yasuko Onuki and guitarist Ichirou Agata have confined themselves, furiously bouncing off the walls as they regurgitate insanity for 12 tracks and 33 minutes. Yasuko yelps feverishly, like a manic tommy gun of staccato screeches, while Agata, with his penchant for robotic effects pedals and gluttony for heavy caffeine injections attacks with the kitchen sink (see: the end of “Schemes of the Tails”), a maelstrom of schizophrenic fun engulfing the album. “The Hive”, simultaneously being the album’s shortest song and most glossy highlight, slams like an aural rapture in every sense – Yasuko’s drowning calls melt rapturously into euphoric whistles which drive the verse, drunk, into a frenzied chorus as bumbling and chaotic as the prophesized return of Christ. “Lie Lied Lies” convulses with comic book (complete with light speed flashes of noise and lyrics that sound like “It’s a bird, it’s a plane!”) hysteria, epileptic guitars thrashing in bursts of color, while “My Missing Link” rumbles from sharp feedback into full-blown entropy, Yasuko’s choruses soaring with intense urgency high above Agata’s thunderous clamor below. Noticing a trend? The album is non-stop chaos, brimming with vivid, brilliant color and flavor – Fetch is almost like the audible version of a sharp Technicolor cartoon that you might watch while trippin off your ass, throwing your limp arms around like a retarded zombie. It’s the sound of the world crumbling from overdoses of exhilaration, and it’s as rowdy and psychotic as we’ll all be in those final moments. Stomp your fuckin’ feet.



Recent reviews by this author
Iceage Plowing Into the Field of LoveYour Old Droog Your Old Droog
The Roots ...And Then You Shoot Your CousinScHoolboy Q Oxymoron
Have a Nice Life The Unnatural WorldWarpaint Warpaint
user ratings (167)
Chart.
3.9
excellent
other reviews of this album
Jared Floryan (4.5)
"I'm still here, I'm still lost On this fucking dear planet!"...


Comments:Add a Comment 
GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2013


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

one of the best of the year, just found this recently surprised that there's no review

like a 4.1 if i was staffin

CUBAN LINXXXX

"The Hive" - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vsVH9CqrTeA
"Infection Defective" - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Imyjhr87BOE
"My Missing Link" - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8-QO7D3A15c

if the vocals aren't your thing at first give them time, they grow on you

DanielNightLewis
November 5th 2013


552 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I was working up to reviewing this, it's pretty overwhelming though so finding the words was tough. Good job though!

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2013


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

yeah i'm pretty unfamiliar with the genre/this band so didn't really know what direction to go in which is why it's so short, but i like the way it turned out, thanks!

ethos
November 5th 2013


1799 Comments


hyped to hear

DrGonzo1937
November 5th 2013


5897 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album rules, agreed.

Digging: Ilenkus - The Crossing

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
November 5th 2013


19917 Comments


great review i'm convinced to check this out now

Digging: Dornenreich - Freiheit

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2013


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

appreciate the love guys, i might look for some links to throw on here for those who aren't entirely convinced but i hope you guys (ethos & atari) dig ittt

iwasnvrurbf
November 5th 2013


626 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

album's pretty good, need to give it another listen

Pheromone
November 5th 2013


3632 Comments


I fucking hate this band, well this "genre" in general. Isn't for me.

Good review though

Digging: Squirrel Bait - Skag Heaven

DanielNightLewis
November 5th 2013


552 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Oddly enough I think the short block style review works in your favour here as it kind of reflects the music perfectly.

I listened to this album 4 times back to back when the record arrived. It's one of the most challenging things they have done in years while the production makes it superficially the most accessible.

iwasnvrurbf
November 5th 2013


626 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

there's far too many variations of noise rock, you can't say you hate the whole genre
listen to McLusky or Big Black

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2013


7417 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8 | Sound Off

Vocals on this annoy me at times, but the music is awesome. My Missing Link is especially such a killer track.

Mad props for reviewing this.

Digging: Dope Body - Lifer

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2013


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Oddly enough I think the short block style review works in your favour here as it kind of
reflects the music perfectly.


yeah at first i was apprehensive about writing a really short one but when i finished this i thought
it made a lot of sense

nerdtalent: noooooooooooooo :[

edit: Greg: Thanks! yeah the vocals at first were a bit tough on me too but after several listens
they don't stand out as much and i even dig them now

Pheromone
November 5th 2013


3632 Comments


Just not for me man.

EDIT: But cheers for making this review, I've heard so much hype around this release and I was always interested in seeing a detailed desc of peoples feelings towards it,imaginary pos

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2013


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

appreciate it!

yeah i can see how it might not be someone's cup of tea but i thought with that avatar of yours melt-banana had you :P

tempest--
November 5th 2013


13878 Comments


heard a track on plug, can't remember which one but it ruled

need to check

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2013


6198 Comments


Listening to the posted links, this sounds awesome, j noise with tech punk/metal leanings.

Candy Gun - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RgnoBN007Vc

Digging: Aeon Sable - Visionaers

TheBarber
November 6th 2013


1972 Comments


Awesome band, gonna check now!

Digging: Iceage - Plowing Into the Field of Love

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
November 6th 2013


6154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Glad you guys dig it so much! Yeah candy gun is one of my favorites too (tbh everything on here is my favorites) I almost posted that one too

TheBarber
November 6th 2013


1972 Comments


Wow this couldn't come out at a better time, insta-sold after The Hive



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy