Motorhead
Aftershock


4.0
excellent

Review

by PsychicChris USER (50 Reviews)
October 30th, 2013 | 16 replies | 955 views


Release Date: 10/21/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Aftershock has a few tweaks that make it more unique than its most recent predecessors but is about even with them in terms of quality.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Every Motorhead review ever written starts with some statement about the band’s apparent invincibility and unwavering persistence, but their infallible reputation has been slightly shaken over the last year. Iconic vocalist/bassist Lemmy Kilmister’s recent health troubles have caused some alterations to their touring schedule, leading some to question the band’s future as a fully functional unit. Fortunately, Motorhead’s twenty-first studio album adheres to their longstanding status quo while reviving a few tricks that haven’t been seen in some time.

Even with health scares to consider, it’s safe to say the band dynamic hasn’t changed a bit. Lemmy’s vocals retain their slurred but commanding croaks, his ferocious bass playing often leads to guitarist Phil Campbell playing a lot of catch up, and Mikkey Dee’s drumming is as rapid fire as ever. The clear production and chorus-oriented songwriting also make it quite similar to the efforts that have been put out since 2004’s Inferno.

But with there being fourteen tracks on here, more than any other Motorhead album, it does end up being one of their more diverse releases. In fact, it has a fair amount in common with 1977’s Overkill. In addition to many tracks having a less than three minute run time and a fast punk execution, “Lost Woman Blues” plays like a mellower version of “Limb From Limb” and the melancholic “Dust And Glass” has a psychedelic tone that recalls “Metropolis” or “Capricorn.” There’s no track as massive as “Overkill,” but “End Of Time” does come close to matching its intensity.

Of course, having fourteen tracks also means that there are some bits of filler to be found. Even the most casual fan can tell you that there is no such thing as a bad Motorhead song but a number of tracks do run together, especially towards the album’s end. The highlights make up for them as always but even those seem like they needed more development or more dynamic song structures.

Overall, Aftershock has a few tweaks that make it more unique than its most recent predecessors but is about even with them in terms of quality. It doesn’t have the fire to challenge the likes of Inferno but it secures the band’s standing in a more uncertain time. I’m still holding out for a bluesier direction, but the classic aspirations may be enough to recommend it to established fans.

Current Highlights:
“Heartbreaker”
“Lost Woman Blues”
“End Of Time”
“Do You Believe”
“Silence When You Speak To Me”

Originally published at http://psychicshorts.blogspot.com



Recent reviews by this author
Judas Priest Redeemer of SoulsBlack Label Society Catacombs of the Black Vatican
KXM KXMVista Chino Peace
Melvins Tres CabronesWarbringer IV: Empires Collapse
user ratings (87)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Matthew Hopkins (3.5)
We are Motörhead, and we like sausage rölls....


Comments:Add a Comment 
PsychicChris
October 30th 2013



207 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Another one of those albums that's either a low 4 or a high 3.5, but it's fucking Motorhead.

Hoppoman
October 30th 2013



633 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was going to see them in November, but they cancelled the tour because Lemmy is ill.

Fucking Motorhead

KILL
October 30th 2013



70586 Comments


gota check

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

tempest--
October 30th 2013



12601 Comments


lost woman blues is good

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 30th 2013



15789 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

never really got into any of their post ace of spades albums apart from a few good songs here and there, might give it a try

Digging: Synaesthesia (UK) - Synaesthesia

LittleStranger
October 30th 2013



481 Comments


I don't think they ever done a dud, great album

emprorzurg
October 31st 2013



510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The reason they've never had a "bad" album is because Lemmy's still in the band!

manosg
October 31st 2013



5717 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Album rules, agreed with PsychicChris' initial comment. autopos.

joshieboy12345
October 31st 2013



5370 Comments


Lemmy that ugly man.

Digging: Rise Against - The Black Market

tempest--
October 31st 2013



12601 Comments


his mole is hotter than you

DrGunther
October 31st 2013



184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fuck sakes, thanks for the update on the tour being postponed Hoppoman, just read up on it - first I've heard of it. Seen them twice before but they're always good (and louder than anything else).

Pretty good album this, first one I've heard since Inferno and it's just as good as ever.

DrGunther
October 31st 2013



184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And Pos'd on the review btw, right to the point.

Hoppoman
October 31st 2013



633 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@DRGunther

I was meant to see them a few years back, but Lemmy broke his finger on the night so they had to cancel (luckily, Opeth were playing across the road with Pain of Salvation.) And this is the second time they have canceled on me, so I'm not a happy bunny about it :P

dante1991
October 31st 2013



513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I was going to see them in November, but they cancelled the tour because Lemmy is ill.

Fucking Motorhead"

Sucks major balls. This was a really solid album too.

"never really got into any of their post ace of spades albums apart from a few good songs here and there, might give it a try"

Overkill is better than Ace Of Spades IMO, not sure why it's got the reputation of the best album. Post Ace I'd say check out Iron Fist, Bastards, Inferno, The World is Ours and Aftershock. They had a bit of a lul in the late 90's/early 00's but have brought it back since.

Digging: Opeth - Pale Communion

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 31st 2013



15789 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeh ive heard most of the post spades stuff just none of it compares to overkill and ace of spades for me, killed by death is my fave motorhead song tho and thats quite late

manosg
October 31st 2013



5717 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^Killed By Death was the first Motorhead song I listened and the one that got me into the band. The other one was No Voices In The Sky I think.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy