Erra
Augment


4.0
excellent

Review

by Wayne H. USER (14 Reviews)
October 30th, 2013 | 490 replies | 27,798 views


Release Date: 10/29/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Erra prove they are perhaps the most genuinely inspired band in all of metalcore.

20 of 23 thought this review was well written

Augment: Verb. /ôgˈment/ To make (something) greater by adding to it; increase. By this definition, metalcore upstarts Erra have certainly augmented their discography with the release of their new LP. Following the release of their debut full-length Impulse Erra firmly established themselves as a force to be reckoned with in the metalcore scene, leaving fans a veritable maelstrom of anticipation for their future releases.

Suffice it to say Augment lives up to the hype. Where Impulse had its glimpses of transcendent brilliance, instrumentally and lyrically, its successor fully harnesses Erra's potential, infusing the record with song after song of rich, layered soundscapes. Although Augment may not quite reaching the heights of primal wrath that songs like “Seven” encapusulated, it may only be tastefully sacrificed in the name of greater cohesion.

Do not be misled; serene, their sound is not. Yet often throughout the album, one finds moments of serenity, perhaps only made more poignant by their predominantly metallic style. Augment finds Erra reveling in perfect harmony with itself. Like it or not, this is the sound of a band who knows exactly who they are. Erra's trademark dynamism and complex-yet-fluid guitarwork seems to reach new heights on Augment, giving the album a vitality all its own that was absent in their previous work. It is this frenetic interplay between soaring, melodic cleans and crushingly wrathful screams that many have come to recognize and love Erra for. These elements Augment delivers in spades. Songs like “Pulse” and “Hybrid Earth” seem to channel a passionate energy too often omitted in metalcore today. In this sense, Erra has the distinct advantage of being more genuinely inspired than many of their peers.

Thematically, Augment harnesses and sonically reenacts topics that permeate the human experience; feelings of identity crisis, misanthropy, sorrow, love, and anxiety that resonate all too well with the current generation. In these common, perhaps almost cliched ideas, however, their songs imbue with an exalting hope that truly makes Augment not merely an album, but an experience, a set of ideas and outlooks that Erra shares with its fans. Take, for instance, “Rebirth,” a song that was leaked well in advance of the proper release. Breathing life into the otherwise inanimate, albeit well-composed music is Erra's passionate, almost religious belief in living genuinely: “Follow your heart, and leap from the cliffs. Close your divine eyes to reason. Let inertia move you. Cling and be clung to. Speak and be spoken to.” These few lines, perhaps encompass Erra's approach to music, and indeed, to life. Authentic and unafraid, Augment carries an imperfect beauty all its own.



Recent reviews by this author
Shadow of the Colossus END GAMEBalance and Composure The Things We Think We're Missing
Lemaitre Relativity 3Mr. J. Medeiros Pale Blue Dot
Elitist EarthErra Impulse
user ratings (262)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
itsalltherage (5)
Erra have managed to take their contrasting dual vocals, sprawling layered melodies & complex groove...

Deuce8311 (4.5)
The augmentation of an entire genre....

kidthatplaysguitar91 (3)
Overall this album sounds like Impulse 2, and listening from start to finish is quite a boring activ...

Esoteric (4)
Erra marked their crowning achievement through Augment by living up to its definition, in the most m...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Winsomniac
October 29th 2013



7963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is streaming on youtube at http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLG71P8eT4DF0xKVjXg3mFEV4n6ZOOAO62

Whew. Doesn't cover all the aspects I wanted, nor is it as well written as I'd like, but I'm only a humble mortal.

DeathGrinder
October 29th 2013



152 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"Erra prove they are perhaps the most genuinely inspired band in all of metalcore."

Oh wow.

Winsomniac
October 29th 2013



7963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah my summaries are fucking awful. I know this. I admit this.

bloc
October 29th 2013



34735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This album is ace, I like it more than Impulse.

Funny how on paper they're not doing anything new whatsoever, but when they start playing it just sounds way better than everyone else.

Digging: Messiah - Choir of Horrors

Winsomniac
October 29th 2013



7963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For me its the musicianship, cohesion, and for some reason I can't entirely explain, they really do appear to be more genuinely inspired and love the music they make. I feel like you can really tell they put their all into their songs.

bloc
October 29th 2013



34735 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I hear you. You're definitely connected to this stuff more than I.

JeetJeet
October 29th 2013



719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fucking sick album. These guys are machines when it comes to riffs.

paradox1216
October 29th 2013



445 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Holy shit an actual good review for this

They have a unique sound just by the way they make riffs and such. It's like all of the old classic rock bands - same on paper, yet pretty distinctive when you hear them.

Digging: He Is Legend - Heavy Fruit

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2013



49955 Comments


"They have a unique sound just by the way they make riffs and such. It's like all of the old classic rock bands - same on paper, yet pretty distinctive when you hear them."

lol u hi mate

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2013



49955 Comments


OK I listened to one song and I can pinpoint every single influence from the damn thing, and certainly none of them are classic rock bands

Winsomniac
October 29th 2013



7963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Treb, that's not what he means. You may consider rereading.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2013



49955 Comments


he's saying classic rock bands are the same on paper but sound different or some shit which doesn't even make sense, and this shit sounds like every other album ever so yeah not a good comparison

OwMySnauze
October 29th 2013



933 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I'm glad they didn't go the Elitist route and turn Risecore.

Digging: Secret Band - S/T

paradox1216
October 29th 2013



445 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you don't make sense

paradox1216
October 29th 2013



445 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah elitist's last full album was great and then they put out that much, much shittier EP with really, really retarded sounding clean vocals

Winsomniac
October 29th 2013



7963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It makes pretty good sense to me; I at least understand his comparison. The idea is that Erra aren't physically doing anything different than many other metalcore bands, they simply execute the same elements (polyrhythms, layered melodies, chugs, riffs, breakdowns, screams, cleans, etc etc) more effectively than their peers. And I agree.

Honestly when I read that comment I just pictured you as your avatar. I get that you're not the biggest fan of Erra. That's perfectly fine and I'm sure your reasons for not enjoying it are legitimate. I just don't feel the same way.

OwMySnauze
October 29th 2013



933 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah I was surprised they dropped their sound for bland and awful music.

Winsomniac
October 29th 2013



7963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think Between the Balance really suffered lyrically. Still mad love for Elitist as a band, Mike D is the most righteous dude.

OwMySnauze
October 29th 2013



933 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I still jam Elitist's other albums and still like them but I try to forget they even made that newest EP. Hope they recover from it.

Koffiiing
October 29th 2013



1103 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

my boy jesse killing it on this



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy