Buckethead
Pearson's Square


5.0
classic

Review

by DarkDemon USER (1 Reviews)
October 29th, 2013 | 29 replies | 7,794 views


Release Date: 10/24/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: After a few failures, Buckethead finally releases an album worth the price it costs.

2 of 13 thought this review was well written

Buckethead always was my favorite artist. I always admired his work and the easiness with that it sailed in different musical styles. He can make albuns so heavy as “The Cuckoo Clocks of Hell” or light and beautiful albuns as “Electric Sea”. But lately, it seems that it is a little depleted. And this can be perceived by some albuns, as “Slug Cartilage”, “Pancake Heater” and “Splatters”, that for me they are true musical failures. However, it also has good recent albuns, as “Mannequin Cemetery” and “Feathers”, but they are nothing of extraordinary, therefore I did not have expectations on “Pearson's Square”.

But I was deceived in finding that Pearson's Square would be a common album. Before exactly to catch my earphones, already I prepared for the strong noises of the heavy guitar and its riffs. But when pressing play, I felt my body to stop. What I was hearing was pretty guitars, with melody, with smoothness. I sailed in the waves of this album, I felt me in the sky, and I felt me sad when it finished. This album is the test of Buckethead still has something of good stops in showing them. The instruments combine with that worthy of it would be sharpened of the orchestras.

The album cover is already a real trip. It is a sad picture that brought me loneliness and anguish. As I listened to this album, I stared at the cloudy sky. That brought me a feeling of orgasm. Pearson's Square is an album for a day sad and melancholy. It may seem boring to some, but I know others will enjoy. It's a trip. An album that should be better studied by Buckethead for it to continue releasing albums other good and not splashing the remainer of his creativity over the years. Buckethead can renew itself, and this album made ​​me believe it.


user ratings (42)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
EverythingEvil2113
October 29th 2013



1279 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've somehow managed to keep up with the Pike series, and despite my views that he has released WAY too many albums this year, I have to say this is one of his best. Mellow Buckethead is best Buckethead.

RadicalEd
October 29th 2013



2590 Comments


Pretty bad review. Still... i will check this out.

Dimor
October 29th 2013



1757 Comments


Yeh, this review is pretty awfully written

RadicalEd
October 29th 2013



2590 Comments


"As I listened to this album, I stared at the cloudy sky. That brought me a feeling of orgasm."



insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2013



3364 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Could've been a lot worse as a first review. You should've focused on a couple of highlights from the record, because you talk more about everything surrounding it. I don't see the real trip behind the album cover, but that's your vision. It's okay to write about what this album means to you in any possible way, but you could have used those adjectives for certain tracks.

Also, in the first paragraph you wrote "albuns" twice instead of "albums".

Either way, I like sad and quiet Buckethead, I must check it out.

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

Nafain
October 29th 2013



154 Comments


I gave up trying to keep up with all his releases this year

Gonna wait till he starts to slow down then ill check em all

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2013



15906 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Having lost track of all his stuff I try to think of his albums in three types
1 - laid back melodic noodling
2 - heavy
3 - bleep bloop bleep honk

From the review I'm assuming this is a type 1

Digging: Nemrud - Journey of the Shaman

Nafain
October 29th 2013



154 Comments


"3 - bleep bloop bleep honk"

lol

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2013



3364 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That's pretty much his type of records these days. This one's not as good as Pike 13 or Electric Sea, but it's a nice listen. I admire his desire to release 50 records or so per year, however, even if more than half of these are quite good, there are some terrible experiments thrown too. (I only listened to about half of what he's put out in 2013)

Those bleep bloop bleep honk records of his are really weird lol.

dante1991
October 29th 2013



531 Comments


Tbh, I'm getting a bit tired of this guy. Does he have no life? Is he just releasing every idea he ever gets? I mean, doesn't he have any pride or values about his work?

I do like a fair bit of his work (Population Override is supurb) but for some reason it's really starting to annoy me now...

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2013



3364 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I understand you. Besides Electric Sea, Pikes 13 and now, Pearson's Square (which are amazing, great and cool), most of these Pikes I've checked out wore off almost immediately. Half of them don't even have titles or anything, it seems most of it was done in a rush.

RadicalEd
October 29th 2013



2590 Comments


The whole Pike Idea was stupid from day 1 and he's released a bunch of crap since then. I may check this out, since I liked his mellow stuff alot. But I didn't like Pike 13 at all, so I'm not having high expectations.

Hoppoman
October 29th 2013



634 Comments


Buckethead, you release more albums that people can take.

turnip90210
October 29th 2013



309 Comments


Correction - Bucket's been steadily going downhill since ISOT opened his eyes to the fact he can put any crap he wants on a CD and his fan base will lap it up. But yeah, the Pikes series (especially the insanity of 2013) is a bit like a nail in the coffin.

Listened to this on YouTube for the lols, was extremely boring and formulaic. I didn't last all the way through.

ForestGagnon
October 31st 2013



10 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

One of Buckethead's better pikes so far. Love how mellow yet uplifting this album is.

Lambda
October 31st 2013



2417 Comments


"The album cover is already a real trip. It is a sad picture that brought me loneliness and anguish. As I listened to this album, I stared at the cloudy sky. That brought me a feeling of orgasm."

lmfao

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Adultery

freedomofspeechnoway
November 2nd 2013



413 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This review seems like it was written for an esol class. That being said, the album is a good listen.

Digging: Buckethead - Closed Attractions

fleshstorm94
November 4th 2013



106 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Album is awesome as hell

Froot
November 27th 2013



830 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is the most whimsical review I've ever read.

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
December 24th 2013



1601 Comments


I wish I had a feeling of orgasm..



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy