Erra
Augment


4.0
excellent

Review

by Esoteric USER (9 Reviews)
October 28th, 2013 | 188 replies | 13,130 views


Release Date: 10/29/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Erra marked their crowning achievement through Augment by living up to its definition, in the most memorable manner possible.

6 of 10 thought this review was well written

Metalcore has always found itself in the most critical state since its conception. Most common mistake lies at its modern form, opening the gates for more disturbing phases and unpleasant formulas- the synthetic use of instruments, clichéd, mostly uninspired songwriting with little to no sense- focusing onto hedonism and love-hate relationships, inaudible musical arrangements, unnecessary gestures, (mainly those that resembles to the movement of the crabs) and lastly the monochromatic-themed fashion, that infatuates target audiences and caters the most brutal poser that is scene kids. Such undesirable events caused staggering and uncontrollable flak to majority of bands, especially the less-talented ones- dragged by prominence under the most favorable, yet confusing reasons over the past few years.

However, at the depths of this atrocity lies a very few recognizable acts, drowned by utter generalization of poor and effortless materials by their famous peers. Make no mistake, Erra’s latest offering, Augment soars high with full aggression, as Erra backtracked from Impulse, once again employing straight-forward metalcore formula, emphasizing on unbelievable amount of melodies and progressive harmony without losing balance and consistency and can be consumed rather with ease.

The quintet’s prowess delves deeper into the genre this time, forging a higher stature of metalcore shrine. Augment, while surpassing the modern metalcore standards, enforces authority in a more cohesive state. Jesse Cash’s vocals remained a show-stealer, as it feels more natural on Augment, and significantly improved compared to Impulse. With respective contemporaries who specialize in utilizing the most disappointing embellishments available within the metalcore ground to the extremes– primarily breakdowns and electronics, and the majority relentlessly weaving such abomination to each and every track until there is no potential left to be found, Erra simply employ the same elements from Impulse perfectly, with devastating results. From the djenty guitar progressions to amazing drumming, and the different atmosphere veiling the songs throughout Augment, there’s no stopping Erra from unleashing their true musicianship. Perhaps the most interesting part of the record is Erra’s excellent use of both screams and growls, most notably the cleans due to its high range, although many could find it near to annoying at times in the long run.

With Impulse and Andromeda in their arsenal, Erra already cemented a concrete foundation with sheer animosity, whether to be driven largely by colossal singing or technical aspects in its perfect sense. At times possibly derailing and treading outside the standard music territory, Augment’s finest moments lies in its never-ending assault of blazing riffs, atmospheric passages and high-octane execution of their superior materials. The most dramatic piece that is “Dementia”, the album closer, imposes the aforementioned elements without hesitation. “Alpha Seed” put many metalcore openers to shame, establishing progressive guitar sections, soaring high cleans and ferocious guttural roars- drastically improving the progress of the album and succeeding on both diversity and style in a such delicate fashion.

Erra, as an ever-growing band, expanded in both songwriting and instrumental territories and it pays off. Augment is truly inspiring in its ambition, and a careful implementation of what they have to offer. Erra achieved the most tremendous growth and development of their career through Augment, ultimately defining the term completely with justice, in the most memorable manner possible.



Recent reviews by this author
Mercenary Through Our Darkest DaysThe Browning Hypernova
Human Improvement Process Deafening Dissonant MillenniumReflections Of Ruin Rebirth
Rogue Empire OverlordBorn of Osiris Tomorrow We Die Alive
user ratings (254)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
itsalltherage (5)
Erra have managed to take their contrasting dual vocals, sprawling layered melodies & complex groove...

Deuce8311 (4.5)
The augmentation of an entire genre....

Wayne H. (4)
Erra prove they are perhaps the most genuinely inspired band in all of metalcore....

kidthatplaysguitar91 (3)
Overall this album sounds like Impulse 2, and listening from start to finish is quite a boring activ...

related reviews

Erra

Andromeda

Impulse
recommended by reviewer
Erra Impulse

Comments:Add a Comment 
ericu03
October 28th 2013



158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album slays hard. Personally enjoyed it much better than Impulse.

Some tracks off Augment:

Frostbite - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fq1kQZk_XM0
Pulse - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wHJkf-Xlb10
Hybrid Earth (Music Video): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQIH45i4fmU


KILL
October 28th 2013



70573 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

and they said prog metal was dead

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

Keyblade
October 28th 2013



14240 Comments


These guys have some of the worst arts I've seen

Digging: Phlebotomized - Immense, Intense, Suspense

adr
October 28th 2013



1752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i rly like the cover.

the album is great. It's like Impulse, but with better vocals. they deliver the same, but with some improvements.

more of the same will do the trick i guess.

J0ckstrapsFTW
October 28th 2013



3652 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Album slays

J0ckstrapsFTW
October 28th 2013



3652 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

wtf this is my dig but it doesnt show up

Durrzo
October 28th 2013



1074 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I'm enjoying this quite a bit but I'll be really let down if they don't step it up on the next release, this is similar enough to Impulse that I feel like I've heard a lot of it already. I can see it getting old fast, aside from a few standout tracks.

DanielNightLewis
October 28th 2013



541 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

There are a fair few sentences in this review that simply don't make sense. Also the summary is really
clumsy, is it perhaps possible not to use the word achieve twice in such quick succession?

MadMikeLove
October 28th 2013



651 Comments


"Metalcore, as a detracting subgenre on the most menacing times, have always found itself in the most critical state since its conception."

this is such an awkward sentence and it's the very first one. This is the opposite of a hook. Draft it a couple more times and you'll get it.

album suuuuuuuuucks.

kidthatplaysguitar91
October 28th 2013



10 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really liked Impulse, but was hoping for some evolution from the band with Augment. Instead they release an album that sounds exactly like Impulse. Listening from start to finish, this album was painful. I found myself wondering, 'haven't I already heard this?'.

There are hundreds of bands that sound exactly like this, and Erra clearly doesn't even care that they don't stand out at all. Impulse was a great start, and set them up for a solid second album, but in my opinion they blew it.

Some songs that made me wake up while listening include, Ultraviolet, Prometheus, and Dementia. The rest of the album might as well be called Impulse 2.

TheNexus100
October 28th 2013



2498 Comments


heralding the band as one of the best in the genre

ericu03
October 28th 2013



158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Mike and Lewis, thanks! Review edited.

pepster50
October 28th 2013



327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is very similar to Impulse. But who cares? Impulse was great, so is this. I do hope for an evolution next album but I am definitely down for another album like this.

ThenamesTrenton
October 28th 2013



88 Comments


not digging it, nice review tho. be ready for some hate-negging man.

AfterTheBreakdown
October 28th 2013



7106 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great record.

Dunpeal
October 28th 2013



3594 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i went into this expecting some prog metal

JustinKing
October 28th 2013



1285 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

First sentence in:
"Metalcore have always found itself in the most critical state since its conception."
Either make that "Metalcore has" or "Metalcore groups/artists/bands/whatever term you prefer have" to make it grammatically correct. Also, your first paragraph is pretty wrong since you talk about the whole "scene" thing like it was at the forefront of the genre since the beginning. That shit didn't really pick up until the early 2000's, while metalcore was well underway in the mid-'90s. Just a minor gripe, though.

ericu03
October 28th 2013



158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks for the feedback mate. couple of errors in my review i think. you dig this?

AtomicShane
October 28th 2013



1756 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

ALBUM POUNDS ORPHAN PUS INTO PROLAPSE

..hehehehehe i amuse myself

JustinKing
October 28th 2013



1285 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@eric I liked their first album. I heard the first two songs released from this and thought it was a pretty decent progression. Haven't heard the full album yet, though.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy