AFI
The Art of Drowning


5.0
classic

Review

by suss11 USER (1 Reviews)
April 1st, 2006 | 48 replies | 7,858 views


Release Date: 2000 | Tracklist


4 of 9 thought this review was well written

I give this album a 5 out of 5, not simply because I am a biased "Fanboy," but because I feel it truely deserves it. AFI has been one of my favorite bands for a long time, and this album is the absolute apex of their career so far. I firmly belive that Jade Puget is truely one of the best guiarists of our time. Though not comparable to the idolistic Hendrix and Paige, I think he is a strong contender with Tom Morello and John Frusciante. He is very underrated though, but his genius comes from the ease with which he is able to through chords together, yet stay so fast and smooth. I would love to see him show off his raw talent a little bit more, with some more flashing solos (a la "Dancing through Sunday on Sing the Sorrow) I hope to see the raw talent shown on this album furthered on their June 6th release, "Decemberunderground."

1. Initiation- A simple guitar track to begin the album, I can't really rate it because it is hardly a song.

2. The Lost Souls - A terrific song, fast, hard, satisfying. Cool chord progressions throughout the song, complemented by a great chorus, "Look what you've done to me now, you've made me perfect!" 9/10

3. The Nephilim - My least favorite song on the album, not so much as it is a bad song, but aside from some cool lyrics it really doesn't draw me in that well. It just doesn't seem to stand out beside all the other great songs on the track. 6/10

4. Ever and a Day - Yes! Great stuff here. Cool starting guitar line, softened with Davey's vocals ringing, then thrown into a thrashing chorus. One of AFI"s best songs. The traditional AFI "Oh's" thrown into the mix as well, and I love every second of it. "Will you be me destruction!?" Sang by all three band members echoing at different tones. I love this song. 10/10

5. What a ****ing awesome song. I can listen to this song over and over. Amazing guitar/bass work in this song, with ringing lyrics and lightning drums. Every part of this song is awesome. It's fast but short. The break in the middle with a cool palmuted guitar part makes this song complete for me. I love it. 9.5/10

6. Of Greetings and Goodbyes - A cool song, although better than the Nephilim, it still doesn't seem to stand out. I still find it fun to listen to and turn up loud. It has a great bass/guitar chorus, with Jade's usuall screeching bar chords and Hunter's fast, thumping bass. 7.5/10

7. Smile - I like this song, there is some anger of this song that just makes me happy. Although I think it could have been done better, it still sounds cool. Good guitar, good drums, and cool lyrics. Hard and short. 7.5/10

8. A Story At Three - A storming, furious, blairing AFI classic. One of their most underrated songs, with my favorite line in any AFI song ever. "We are the wakeful, wry and watchful, we're awaiting. Deathless ones." The fast beginning soon turns to an immaculate display of vocals from the great Davy Havok, shifted into a memorable outro. Another one of AFI's best. 10/10

9. Days of the Phoenix - Cool guiar, cool bass, cool drums, and cool lyrics, though sometimes wierd. One of their more popular songs, I like it, but I am not obsessive over it like some of my friends. I give it credit though 8.5/10

10. Catch a Hot One - Crazy bass on this song, it hurts my fingers trying to think about it. Wierd lyrics, though they still sound pretty awesome durring the chorus. I like this song, but alot of people do not. 8.5/10

11. Wester - Here it is, my favorite AFI Song of all time. Wester. Fast, amazing guitar, and great lyrics, but there is something about this song that just mezmerizes me. The singing/backup singing pull me in, all the way into the break. Where the soft drums lead the way for a great heavy palmmute guitar part, which transitions into a loud and crazy "Near Outro." I love it, "I can feel you dreaming of me!" With great backup singing in the background. An AMAZING song. Highly recommended. 10/10

12. 6 to 8 - A traditional Soft to hard song. Simple, longish, but I like it. Beautiful solo work at the end, but still a short one. I like this song alot. 9/10

13. The Despair factor - Loud bar chords, fast bass, and double bass drums. Davy has angry-ish lyrics but yet they don't seem that angry, yet desperatet in a way. It gets unenjoyably slower towards the end, but still a good song. 8/10

14. Morningstar - Beautiful soft, but towards the end they decide they will go out with a bang. Blazing drums loud bass, great lyrics by Davy, And huge guitar chord transitions make this song a great experiance every time. If I could have one song played at my funeral, this would be the one.
9.5/10


user ratings (984)
Chart.
4
excellent
other reviews of this album
Derek Marchewka (2)
Although the instrumentation is impressive, and the pace is fast and raw, The Art Of Drowning is too...

Mr. Lean Mug (5)
...

DeathOnBroadway (4)
...


Comments:Add a Comment 
DFelon204409
Emeritus
April 1st 2006



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't care if it's common. It's retarded. There's a difference between giving a biased opinion and making a statement about quality. Jade is not a Top100 guitarist.

DFelon204409
Emeritus
April 1st 2006



3995 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't care about the style diffrences. It's just absurd fanboyism.

Bfhurricane
April 1st 2006



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album kicks ***. My favorite AFI album, and I own them all. I just cant really stand Smile, too short and not too catchy.

And as for Jade, hes an extremely technical guitarist, but not that good. He doesnt just throw around powerchords, hes smart enough to use certain octaves and overdub a lot of parts. But hes not one of the best guitarists of our time. Hes a very good punk guitarist, the sheer talent u talk about isnt necessary in punk though.This Message Edited On 04.01.06

Pizza
April 1st 2006



687 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

perfect album. pretty good review. Wester is my favorite AFI song as well, probably my favorite song ever. i think Jade is a really good guitarist, but yeah he isnt one of the best. probably one of the best from any kind of punk though, IMO

Anglachel
April 1st 2006



152 Comments


Great album. Nice review. Like SOP said though, sometimes it kind of seems half-assed

TojesDolan
April 1st 2006



271 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Interesting point of view. I bought this album back in my PunkhXc days, and I personally think it's AFI's early days best material... When they started going darker and such. yabada yabada and stay fashionable is very fun to listen to, but I prefer the darker side of AFI for some reason.

"Something" sails to the sunset is also brilliant.

notuem aeturnus
April 1st 2006



16 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

great review dude afi is and always will be my favorite punk band altho their newest record isnt punk but its still good great album aswell and i completely agree with you on jade he might not do all that fancy shit but for afi hes the best guitar player for them and is extremely under rated but ya great job

my rating for album 10 out of 10

Bfhurricane
April 2nd 2006



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Actually Jade is a very technical guitarist, a lot of his riffs are fingered really impressively and are geniously thought out, as simple as they might sound. Its not something you can just listen to and recognize though, you have to actually play it.

Sep
April 2nd 2006



297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a great album. That review was very fanboy-ish though.

suss11
April 2nd 2006



15 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm not saying that Jade is comparable at all to the likes of Gilmour, Paige, Hendrix, etc. Those guys are just ledgendary. I'm saying he isn't getting the amount of recognition he deserves for the amount of raw talent he has, yet being very young. Oh and P.S., I'm not a fanboy.

DesolationRow
April 2nd 2006



833 Comments


This, in my opinion, is their weakest album. There are some of their best songs, yet some of their worst. Definitely not a 5/5. Your review was biased, but not enough for me to care that you gave it a 5/5. Sing the Sorrow, Black Sails, and ATASF are much better introductions to the band than this.

Jacaranda
April 2nd 2006



684 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[QUOTE=review]not simply because I am a biased "Fanboy," but because I feel it truely deserves it[/QUOTE]

I'm not a fanboy.

Well now....
Any way I like this album but I like Black Sails in the Sunset better and I feel those two albums have similiar sounds. I can't find it in my mind to rate any of their albums above 4.5 though. Although they are all perfect in my heart.
Decent review but you did brush off a few songs, and of course my favorite from this album is "6 to 8" which was one of the ones that got brushed off.This Message Edited On 04.02.06

suss11
April 2nd 2006



15 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sorry man, I meant by "simply because I am a biased Fanboy, I meant

I am not simply a biased fanboy.

suss11
April 2nd 2006



15 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

SO I WILL SAY IT AGAIN,

I AM NOT A FANBOY

AND JADE IS AWESOME..

Simple.

Bfhurricane
April 2nd 2006



6194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think this is better than Black Sails in the Sunset. And jade is definitely underrated but not awesome.

suss11
April 2nd 2006



15 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I think he's awesome. And you were right on your earlier comment that stated that you have to look up the tab and play it to realize it. I play guitar and alot of newer ish afi tabs are extremely difficult to learn.

albert_bass
April 3rd 2006



34 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My favorite AFI album.


A classic in my books.

suss11
April 3rd 2006



15 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Kiley and Ramos are good, and so is teranishi. But I wouldn't call it retarded to say that Jade is better. I think he really has alot of raw tallent.

Pizza
April 3rd 2006



687 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

teranishi owns

suss11
April 4th 2006



15 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Look, AFI is my fav band, but I don't think Jade's the best around. I think he is great, but I won't argue. I think his tallent goes under appreciated. But the guitarists I do think are the greatest put those bands like fall of troy (Gay screamo) and Rise against ( Just a bad band) to shame. Bands like Rage with Tom Morello and Red hot chili peppers with Jon, take those guys to the house. And while you may think I am a fanboy for arguing, I am not. Jade is better than rise against guitarist, maybe not thrice though you are right. But my current fav guitarist Is Alexi Lahiio from Children of Bodom.

Alexi Lahiio>Teranishi



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy