Lazer Kitty
Moons


4.5
superb

Review

by Thompson D. Gerhart STAFF
October 23rd, 2013 | 16 replies | 2,343 views


Release Date: 10/08/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A cosmic journey you shouldn't miss.

Hot on the heels of mind expanding debut Ruins, Moons is another cerebral journey into the musical cosmos that solidifies this "acid improg" trio as one of the most talented bands to chart experimental space.

While Ruins displayed a versatile array of tracks that seamlessly fused together post-rock, electronic, progressive, and ambient space jams into one off the wall and around the bend package that surprised and astounded on every track, Moons is a tighter, more directed release with the same charms. Focusing more on the darker and more vast elements of their sound, Moons personifies the depths of space and does it well.

From the opening void of "Hyperion" to the exiting chimes of "Luna," Moons relies on a slow and steady pace based around groovy and dark bass and enticing phaser-esque keyboards set to stun, all led by driving drum beats and swirled around with a good peppering of bells (literally) and whistles that carry a certain trademark Sufjan Stevens playfulness at many times (especially on "Luna").

Breaths of melody from guitars and woodwinds on tracks like "Dino Wipeout" and "Titan" are light and refreshing - just expansive enough to shift the tone of the album and keep you captivated as Lazer Kitty continue to employ and improve their masterful use of crescendo and decrescendo to add power or restrained wistfulness to their tunes. And make note, this isn't a come and go trait. Moons is a full collection of songs that seem to encapsulate purposefulness perfectly.

While Ruins darted and dodged around the band's experimental arena of sounds in a way akin to their namesake, Moons is a more pointed album with a clear mission, using every track to build from a feeling of mixed dread and wonder to the final absolute realization of cosmic joy and enlightenment that "Luna" represents. In a way, the entire album is like one long and more fully-realized representation of the same experience Ruins' "Revolutions Per Minute" gave us - the full cosmic journey from launch to landing and beyond. And it's a journey you really shouldn't miss.



Recent reviews by this author
Althea ElevenAnimals As Leaders The Joy of Motion
Angel Vivaldi Away With Words - Part ITides of Man Young and Courageous
Gab.riel TangentBeing Anthropocene
user ratings (8)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
related reviews

Ruins

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2013



1918 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

More of you need to listen to this band because they're awesome.

Edit: Link (as slidenslip already posted below): http://lazerkitty.com/album/moons-2

slidenslip
October 23rd 2013



1016 Comments


http://lazerkitty.com/album/moons-2 coochie coochie coo

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 23rd 2013



18577 Comments


good review, sounds cool

Digging: Somos - Temple of Plenty

Calc
October 23rd 2013



10832 Comments


has the way of providing links for your loyal readers gone to the wayside atomic? Has it?!?!?!?!!?

I guess i'll look for this myself....


and doesn't personify only apply when talking about a person? if not then nvm me.


Pavelboca
October 23rd 2013



82 Comments


I think he used "personifies" just fine. I think "characterizes" would have worked there too.

Album, seems interesting, not really my cup of tea though- but great review!

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 23rd 2013



1918 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

has the way of providing links for your loyal readers gone to the wayside atomic? Has it?!?!?!?!!?


Was on the way out out the door for work and forgot the link - sorry! Slidenslip posted it below my initial remark and I'll edit my first post to reflect it.

Personification is actually the act of granting humanlike qualities to inanimate or non-human objects or concepts, so that should work

Thanks gents!

Calc
October 23rd 2013



10832 Comments


I knew it could be used generally like that, I guess I thought the word characterizes would work better, oh well it's not like your wrong. I will listen to this after my car appointment good review.

Mad.
October 23rd 2013



2923 Comments


Saw your other review for this band, awesome name, awesome artwork, awesome genre, will defo check

BallsToTheWall
October 23rd 2013



44164 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

RULEZ

bloc
October 23rd 2013



34489 Comments


Pretty album art

Digging: Gamma Ray - Empire of the Undead

DeMilQ
October 24th 2013



89 Comments


"Lazer Kitty" ..holy shit.. I need to check this out right now!

Mad.
October 24th 2013



2923 Comments


"mind expanding debut Ruins"

It's not their debut, they've written 24+ hours of music...?

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 24th 2013



1918 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

It's not their debut, they've written 24+ hours of music...?


It's their first studio album. I guess that's a bit vague in the review, my bad.

From their description of Ruins: "Recorded in the Spring of 2012, this is Lazer Kitty's debut
studio record with all the bells and whistles"

Mad.
October 24th 2013



2923 Comments


Ok, what's their old stuff then? 0.o

Record is good if a little repetitive and lacking 'oommph'.
I'd love to see where this band goes, especially if they implement some other instruments to create a bit more variation.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 24th 2013



1918 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

You might prefer Ruins, then, which is much more varied and high octane.

All of their previous albums are recordings of live jams if I'm not mistaken. They still play a lot of
improvised stuff, from what I understand, especially live.

Mad.
October 25th 2013



2923 Comments


Ah right, it did kinda put me off to see that they had like 30 albums

I'll give Ruins a go



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy