Vallendusk
Black Clouds Gathering


4.0
excellent

Review

by elbaliem USER (2 Reviews)
October 22nd, 2013 | 52 replies | 4,348 views


Release Date: 04/18/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: with the light of the sun guiding us

1 of 1 thought this review was well written


2013 is a great year for metal, we can find several great albums released in this year. Started by the metal giants such as Gorguts with their long awaited Colored Sands, Ulver with Messe I.X-V.I , and Ulcerate with Vermis, or several gems that went under the radar because the metalheads attention was focused only to the giants. If we delve deeper into the metal scene we will find some great albums such as In the Midst of Life We Are In Death by Cerekloth and The Charnel Expenses by Zealotry as the hidden gems and of course, there are still many more of them to be found.

One of the hidden gems you can find is Black Clouds Gathering by Vallendusk. Hailing from Indonesia. They take the concept of atmospheric black metal and take it to a higher place by incorporating folk and post-rock with nature as the main theme for this album in the vein of Agalloch. While most atmospheric black metal come out with a more depressed and darker sound, Vallendusk was somehow able to make a softer and more subtle sounds in their music.

Vallendusk kicks things off with a short acoustic guitar passage before exploding into a barrage of blast beat drumming and tremolo-picked guitars. As one of the main highlights in Black Clouds Gathering, ”Fragments Of Light” provided us with a blissful-yet-dark atmospheric feeling that continue to evolve as the album progressed.
The instrumental works in this album are spectacular, they able to provide a strong backbone for the album. The serene-sounding guitar and the steady drum works exist together to create the blissful-yet-dark atmosphere. They are able to build an epic and jaw-dropping climax of riffs such as the last minutes of “Fragments of Lights”.

The vocals in this album are haunting and evil and they able to blend quite well with the beautifully crafted instrumental works, allowing the vocals to fully functioned as a major contributor to the dark but surprisingly subtle atmosphere with majestic lyrics such as: “Over the horizon shines the lunar's many lines, In all their mighty glory, above the eternal shade, As the oceanic breeze begins to fade, Into the dark skies, We are alone in a vast ocean of constellations”

This album rolls in a similar and almost cyclical patterns. As the entire album alternates between instrumental and vocal tracks. The instrument makes up most of the album, which proves to be one of Black Clouds Gathering downfalls: Repetition. Most songs tend to stick around to the same formula. If the listener isn’t careful enough to differentiate the progressions that made between the songs, they will deem this album as a boring and repetitive records that failed to capture the listener’s heart

Overall, Black Clouds Gathering is a highly atmospheric and a solid album from a group that came from nowhere. Sure they may not have brought something new to the genre. But for those looking for a good atmospheric black metal album ,this album is a good choice.

Reccomended Tracks
Fragments of Light
Among The Giants
Land of The Lurking Twilight


user ratings (41)
Chart.
4
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
FearThyEvil
October 22nd 2013



12203 Comments


The first paragraph is pretty unnecessary. I can see how it goes into the second paragraph but it could've been worded different without going on and on about big releases this year.

Keyblade
October 22nd 2013



14208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Whoa this got a review, right on elbaliem

Digging: Phlebotomized - Immense, Intense, Suspense

Amphoteric
October 22nd 2013



1434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm still shocked this only has 18 ratings

Digging: Deadwood - Picturing a Sense of Loss

elbaliem
October 22nd 2013



838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea,this album is so underrated


Amphoteric
October 22nd 2013



1434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Probably my 2nd favorite BM album this year

Amphoteric
October 22nd 2013



1434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That break about 3 minutes into Into the Mist.. that and the entire track Realms of the Elder are probably my favorites on here

elbaliem
October 22nd 2013



838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

realm of the elder is pretty m/,but my favorite is the first track.

Amphoteric
October 22nd 2013



1434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nothing can beat that tremolo riff at the end of Realms of the Elder, I could probably listen to that all day lol

elbaliem
October 22nd 2013



838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed,the guitar rules hard.

Evreaia
October 22nd 2013



3952 Comments


I got this album like ages ago, got it rec'd by someone.

Still haven't heard it

Digging: Monarch - Sabbracadaver

elbaliem
October 22nd 2013



838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dig it now plz

JustinKing
October 22nd 2013



1285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really, REALLY good album.

BigSneakySnatch
October 22nd 2013



307 Comments


The recommended by reviewer section alone make me want to check this out.

zaruyache
October 22nd 2013



5847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

This sounds more like Der Weg Einer Freiheit than Deafheaven by a long shot. Not even like Deafheaven at all, actually. Still great, though!

Digging: Sunwolf - Beholden To Nothing And No One

elbaliem
October 22nd 2013



838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn, i forgot to add Der Weg Einer Freiheit

JustinKing
October 22nd 2013



1285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, Deafheaven isn't that similar to this in terms of actual sound. True, both use the same elements, but very different sound. Deafheaven is a lot more lush where this is more bleak, in my opinion. I get more BM from this where I get more shoegaze and post-rock from Deafheaven.

elbaliem
October 22nd 2013



838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'll edit that later when i'm on my computer

Amphoteric
October 22nd 2013



1434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't really know what you mean by lush, but this doesn't sound bleak to me at all, it seems pretty much the opposite actually

elbaliem
October 22nd 2013



838 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed.


and i recommended deafheaven because this album has the "accessible" vibe just like sunbather.

JustinKing
October 22nd 2013



1285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, both are fairly accessible for the style. I mean lush as in that Deafheaven has a very full sound with really vibrant soundscapes pretty much constantly. I guess I'm just odd. When I listen to this, it feels very bleak and dark, but in a good way. I dunno, the atmosphere of this record just hits me different, I suppose.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy