Feed Me
Calamari Tuesday


2.5
average

Review

by Will Robinson STAFF
October 19th, 2013 | 23 replies | 4,444 views


Release Date: 10/14/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Exactly as expected.

There are a few predictable qualities that tend to hold true when reviewing a big-room EDM artist album. First, the album is often overlong. In Feed Me’s case, this is absolutely true - there’s virtually no reason the album should run for significantly longer than an hour. Of course, some albums do quite well with a rather long runtime (Deadmau5’s For Lack of a Better Name comes to mind), but there’s typically some sort of thread holding the album together which justifies that length. Which brings us to quality number two: the album is usually all over the place. Again, Calamari Tuesday fulfills the prediction. Jack of all trades, master of none, the album dips into boring trap, watered-down electro and French house, and haven’t-I-heard-this-before brostep, among others. No matter where the album goes (and it goes a lot of places - there’s even a chiptune ending to the last song, for crying out loud), it’s pretty clear from beginning to end that it always holds true to what Feed Me seems to have become - a lifeless, background-music-only kind of producer.

Jon Gooch should be better than this. As Spor, he revolutionized the drum & bass world with his blistering neurofunk and brutal basslines. Even in his early days of taking shaky steps into the world of EDM with Feed Me, he was at least interesting: songs like “Blood Red” and “Muscle Rollers” exhibit what can be so good about clubby and generic-sounding electronic music. However, Calamari Tuesday goes down the road trodden most recently by the likes of Sub Focus, Chase & Status, and Avicii. While it’s hard to deny that it’s kind of fun and well-produced, a lot of the album is sloppily done. Take, for example, opener “Orion” and how its ominous, threatening opening dissolves almost immediately into Beatport-top-100 electro cheese, tepid and stagnant. Or inevitable Tasha Baxter feature “Ebb and Flow” and how the stereotypical, exhausted “uplifting female vocals” over melodic synth lines melt into the kind of dubstep most of the music-listening world derides as “toilet music.”

Granted, some of the album is truly fun - the breakbeats on the very same “Ebb and Flow” and the chopped-and-screwed electro goodness of “Chinchilla” come to mind. However, on the whole, Calamari Tuesday is just more of the same. Which is why it’s a bit surprising to see all the positive reviews it’s gotten across all corners of the blogosphere. “It’s as if Feed Me is opening the gates to a mythical mountain!” shouts Dancing Astronaut. “Cement[s] his place...among the upper echelon of producers in the world,” exclaims Your EDM. “Using a balance of instrumental tracks and ones featuring vocalists, Feed Me has created one of the better albums this year,” raves ThisSongSlaps.com.

Thus, the third predictable quality of the EDM artist album: people, especially so-called “tastemakers” such as huge electronic blogs, tend to love any album produced by a big name in the scene. Not that anyone’s wrong to like the album, of course, and to each his or her own. However, it feels like the press isn’t even trying anymore: there’s money to be made off of the stagnating pop-electronic scene, and so the scene continues to stagnate until there’s no more profit in 3-day festivals and EDM is rendered irrelevant. As a result, the art of reviewing popular albums becomes an endlessly repeating circlejerk where the end product is money instead of semen.

And, unfortunately for the quality of Calamari Tuesday, it seems as though Jon Gooch has bought entirely into the phenomenon. The album is exceedingly safe and uninteresting, and it’s really saddening to see what was once a promising new talent only a few years ago devolve so rapidly. Though it’s probable this album could be used for background music while shooting virtual terrorists and trolling on forum boards, its future seems shaky. No doubt it’ll be cast aside in favor of the next big EDM release in a month or two, as is typical in the scene. Unfortunately, there’s not enough value in Calamari Tuesday to keep it from being anything but that.



Recent reviews by this author
Ariana Grande My EverythingRustie Green Language
The Bug Angels and DevilsVenetian Snares My Love Is A Bulldozer
Seven Lions Worlds ApartBig Freedia Just Be Free
user ratings (13)
Chart.
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 19th 2013


3449 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

fuck tha edm umbrella

fuck tha police

Eloriaz
October 19th 2013


694 Comments


Sad to hear this doesn't live up to his first Feed Me album, which I liked. But then again I can't say
I'm surprised either >_>

Great review Mr. Will!

Digging: Simian Mobile Disco - Whorl

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 19th 2013


3449 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Thanks man. I do have a soft spot for FMBA but this is just not as good.

mindleviticus
October 19th 2013


8229 Comments


Brostep in 2012 - 4.5
Brostep in 2013 - 2.5

Digging: Cultes Des Ghoules - Henbane

Eloriaz
October 19th 2013


694 Comments


Yep, same for me. "Blood Red", "White Spirit" and "Grand Theft Ecstasy" were probably my favorite tracks from Big Adventure. I was particularly impressed with "Blood Red" and had it on repeat for a while.... which is ironic because I am really not into brostep anymore but he managed to make something inventive and fun out of it!

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 19th 2013


3449 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

you know it mindle

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 19th 2013


31153 Comments


This is a really great way to make a case for edm

Even in his early days of taking shaky steps into the world of EDM with Feed Me, he was at least interesting: songs like “Blood Red” and “Muscle Rollers”


That was the "early days", I'd think his first tunes would be more appropriate here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=itFi-Bt_-gw. Made in 08, before edm hit it big and Feed Me wasn't just a Skrillex clone

Digging: Banks - Goddess

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 19th 2013


10181 Comments


Being a Skrillex clone, what a worthwhile endeavor

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

mindleviticus
October 19th 2013


8229 Comments


I really liked Big Adventure actually

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 20th 2013


50310 Comments


My friend plays Feed Me in his truck and yells nigger out the window at people that don't use their signal

Digging: The Brave Little Abacus - Masked Dancers

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 20th 2013


3449 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

actually laughed out loud at that one treb

Rinx7
October 20th 2013


14 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I totally agree. Feed Me has become almost full on boring now. At least Big Adventure and To the
Stars, even though they were somewhat generic (None of Feed Me's releases have compared to his first
two, Mordez Moi, The Spell/Raw Chicken), had some genuinely good tracks and felt like they had some
soul put into them. This album has become a sort of amalgamation of different styles and doesn't
really sound original or cohesive at all and just ends up being a boring, but well produced, romp
through modern EDM.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 20th 2013


3449 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Agree with that hard. At least it doesn't have any absolutely abhorrent tracks, but that's really not saying much

rawkfist777
October 31st 2013


7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

(apparently, on this site there is no such thing as good EDM. bias.)

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2013


3449 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

actually:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v3tWWV04SvE

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GchK39ZFrN8

and even http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G6GIdGhxyHw

rawkfist777
October 31st 2013


7 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I mean...every time I rate something above average that's EDM, the majority of people tend to bitch and complain about how terrible it is. Like, I happen to really enjoy the new Krewella album. But no one else does, apparently.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2013


3449 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Well that was because I personally think the new Krewella album is super generic and boring. Like Play Hard was good (and I reviewed it, giving it a 3), but their new album is like offensively cookie-cutter. Check Camo & Krooked if you want some full-album EDM. You're allowed to like what you like, but forgive me if I really dislike some stuff.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 31st 2013


31153 Comments


Like the new Camo & Krooked for instance

ItsEric
November 3rd 2013


54 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Don't get hurt hurt just because someone doesn't like something you DO.



Wozz
May 19th 2014


1 Comments


Theres a lot of things wrong with the review. Let's go through a few.
1.First of all any "reviewer" who uses the term "big-room EDM" to an album keeping electro at it's roots just shows extreme incapability to give a professional opinion of such material. If you don't know the genre or have some kind of background knowledge (which you probably don't judging by this review) don't do a frikking review about that material.

2.Anyone who calls Feed Me a "Jack of all trades, master of none". The guy is arguably the best dubstep and electro producer at the moment. This album is far from watered down and the "I-heard-this-before brostep" tracks (maximum of 2 tracks in the whole album, depending on who's point of view we are looking at) are excellent from a brostep's values.

3. "background-music-only" I doupt you have even been to a Feed Me gig? Don't judge a track by your own personal opinions about what you might dance to in a club.

4. "dissolves almost immediately into Beatport-top-100 electro cheese" Theres nothing about cheese in this album. Pure, down to it's core, gritty electro. Please explain how that is cheese? Please listen to the electro side on beatport and tell me how many similar tracks are there to for example "Orion" or let alone any of those tunes. And just the fact that "Death By Robot" was and probably will be the only single of this album just proves you wrong.

5. Calling out other reviews and shouting and exclaiming that their review is rubbish just downgrades this review to 1.0 and completely insignificant to any extent.

6."No doubt it’ll be cast aside in favor of the next big EDM release in a month or two, as is typical in the scene." Don't make a review based on things that
a. Things that aren't in a album
b. Haven't happened yet
Might end up in your being wrong making a feel out of yourself (like now for instance)


I could go on and on and on but i'm running out of time. Please try doing a better job next time. This was the most unprofessional review from a music based website I have seen.





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy