Leftfield
Leftism


5.0
classic

Review

by zakalwe USER (5 Reviews)
October 18th, 2013 | 22 replies


Release Date: 1995 | Tracklist

Review Summary: We are going to need a bigger BOSE system

A further bout of nausea kicks in as the battered little boat lurches headlong into yet another impenetrable, black wall of water.
There’s no way through, the stench of a billion drops of salt stings the nostrils as the sea air brings tears to the eye.
The old sea dog captain with eyes rabid as his moniker would suggest clutches Leftism, the 1995 debut from Leftfield in his hand and says through grizzled tone. “We are going to need a bigger BOSE system.”

And so it was in 1995, the dance scene to anyone had lived through its heady days had settled in the underground, the mainstream consisted of guitar, angst and pop sensibility. Through a melding of each of these musical ingredients a crossover was released in the form of the Prodigys’ Music for a Jilted Generation. Then shortly after Leftism appeared and the impenetrable wave was crested.

Opening with Release the Pressure ambient strains of electronic string are accompanied by the line “I’ve got to stand and fight in this creation” and then we are off on a journey which throughout the course of the album incorporates Dub, House, Soul, Punk and Reggae to broaden the taste of a generation.
The tribal beats of Afro-Left bring about visions of standing at Rorkes’ Drift spear and shield in hand squinting against the sun ready for attack.

Third track ‘Melt’ is the sort of thing that would play in the background of the Tyrell building as Deckard carries out a Voight Kompf test. Replicants’ would struggle.

‘Original’ is possibly the most generic of the tunes on offer here however that is not to say with its discordant blasts coming in after 3mins 30sec, rhythm and beats accompanying Toni Hallidays vocal performance the song is anything less then superb.

‘Inspection (Check one)’ is what good stereos were made for and this is before the collaboration with John Lydon on Open Up. The spirit, fire and provocative anger is there in all its resplendent glory as Rotten compels “Burn Hollywood, Burn. Take down tinsel town”

Leftism came from nowhere and turned heads, nearly twenty years later it still sounds as revolutionary, fresh, relevant and head turning as it ever did.
Turn it up loud, feel the beat, enter the fray, take the journey.


user ratings (128)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
Eloriaz (5)
Dear Diary: My journey on Leftism Island....

Domhoeker (5)
Gamechanger....

AfroMan (4.5)
...

related reviews

Rhythm And Stealth
recommended by reviewer
Underworld Dubnobasswithmyheadman

Comments:Add a Comment 
Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2013


31474 Comments


Uhhhh




Hmmmmm

Digging: Hyperdub - Hyperdub 10.4

Acanthus
October 18th 2013


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Rating seems about right.

mindleviticus
October 18th 2013


8325 Comments


Leftrivium

bloc
October 18th 2013


34990 Comments


Is BOSE still even in business?

Digging: The Birthday Massacre - Superstition

zakalwe
October 18th 2013


8811 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yep, never had their stuff though.

Digging: King Buzzo - This Machine Kills Artists

bloc
October 18th 2013


34990 Comments


Same, always found them overpriced.

Relinquished
October 18th 2013


25477 Comments


they kinda are

Eloriaz
October 18th 2013


713 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I use IE2 Bose earphones and Leftism sounds great with them ^__^

Digging: Cern - Under Another Sky

zakalwe
October 18th 2013


8811 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'm in the market for some decent earphones. This is the album that will be the tester.

Wadlez
October 18th 2013


4623 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Amazing album

Eloriaz
October 18th 2013


713 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That is an excellent tester choice ;)
The basslines on this especially are a good test. They are all unique but you need decent earphones/headphones/speakers to fully appreciate them.

zakalwe
October 18th 2013


8811 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Absolutely Eloriaz, I mention in the review 'Inspection' is what decent sound systems were made for.

Eloriaz
October 18th 2013


713 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Inspection" was always the track I underrated the most on this album. Today I love it. Listen after listen I realized the sheer thickness and heavyness of it. The rhythm is unlike any other on the album (slows down the tempo after "Black Flute" and "Space Shanty" but still faster than "Original") and it's so well structured. I also love the little "breakdowns" at 3:49 and 5:36.

Acanthus
October 18th 2013


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Overpriced is a bit of an understatement, but they've built up quite the following so good for them I suppose.

Audio Technica holds my love mostly.

bloc
October 18th 2013


34990 Comments


Yeah, I love my Audio Technica ATH-M50's.

But for earphones, I would recommend the Klipsch S4's.

Acanthus
October 18th 2013


9543 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh I don't usually do earbuds unless I'm biking, then I switch over to some Logitech EU ones I enjoy.

Wadlez
October 18th 2013


4623 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This was one of the albums I listened to during my last marathon.. Good times. This and Godspeed helped me out a bit.

bloc
October 18th 2013


34990 Comments


Haha yeah I know Acanth, I was talking to zakalwe.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
January 13th 2014


13396 Comments


We are going to need a bigger BOSE system

Digging: The Smith Street Band - Throw Me In The River

Cygnatti
January 13th 2014


21795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol

Digging: Autechre - Chiastic Slide



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy