Dayshell
Dayshell


4.0
excellent

Review

by Jeremy Bentham USER (66 Reviews)
October 16th, 2013 | 132 replies


Release Date: 10/15/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: One of the most unique voices in metal has found a new home.

When Shayley Bourget left Of Mice & Men due to depression and personal issues, I was worried that it might be a while until he did anything with music again. His clean vocals and massive hooks were the driving force of The Flood, with his soaring melodies being a trademark of the bands sound. When he announced his new band Dayshell, I was immediately interested and excited that he was going to be a frontman of his own band at last.

Luckily, Dayshell come out swinging on just about every track here. This self-titled debut album is one that shows a band playing to its main strength - Shayley's voice. You'll find his signature melodic vocals taking over everything here, and unlike Of Mice & Men where some songs turned into breakdown fests the music of Dayshell's debut album wraps around Shayley's vocals perfectly and focuses more on the atmosphere than the aggression. The frontman's many influences also shine through on this album, most notably Deftones, whom Shayley has stated in numerous interviews about Dayshell were one of his main influences on this record. Lead single "Share With Me" is a perfect example of how the music all comes together around the vocals, where Shayley creates a massive vocal hook in the chorus that makes the song both memorable and atmospheric.

Even though the music here focuses more on the melodic rather than the aggressive, there are several moments on Dayshell that venture into heavy territory. "Edge of the World" and "I Owe You Nothing" are both tracks that show off Shayley's surprisingly capable screaming vocals, and while breakdowns do show up they are well placed and used sparingly. Tracks like "Avatar" and "Aimless" also show off drummer Raul Martinez' skills and how effective the rhythm section is. The acoustic moments are a welcome addition to the record and album highlights, with "A Waste of Space" having one of the best soaring choruses on the entire record.

With their self-titled debut album, Dayshell prove to be the perfect outlet for Shayley Bourget's melodic vocals. The songs are strong and show much promise for the future, and fans of Shayley's work with Of Mice & Men will be glad to hear him taking over the songs fully. Focusing on atmosphere and hooks, the elements that once restricted Shayley are now gone and allow for his potential to be fully realized. If the band expand on this sound and experiment even more on future releases they could have something truly special. One of the most unique voices in metal has found a new home.



Recent reviews by this author
Slipknot .5: The Gray ChapterKorn The Paradigm Shift
Chimaira Crown Of PhantomsSecrets Fragile Figures
Stone Sour House of Gold and Bones - Part 2Love and Death Between Here And Lost
user ratings (155)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
BassDemon333
October 15th 2013


3415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is out today and it rules

BassDemon333
October 15th 2013


3415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think you'd like this a lot andcas

BassDemon333
October 15th 2013


3415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah it'll be interesting to see how OM&M's new album fares without him on it

paradox1216
October 15th 2013


521 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is really great, actually. about as good as I expected

wacknizzle
October 15th 2013


13670 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review here, short and sweet. I definitely noticed the Deftones influence on here especially in the atmosphere. Cool record, glad Shay came through with something great. It was upsetting when he left OM&M, he was the best thing about the band

Digging: Phobocosm - Deprived

Cipieron
October 16th 2013


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

just kind of happened upon this band tonight, i like what i hear

BassDemon333
October 16th 2013


3415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad you guys are liking this, Shayley is a great vocalist.

joshuahuntkc
October 16th 2013


1612 Comments


I'm kind of surprised this might be good. I saw them live and they were atrocious. His singing was pretty terrible and they didn't have any stage prescience either.

jmnewcomer18
October 16th 2013


3408 Comments


great review. album needs some growin

wacknizzle
October 16th 2013


13670 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I cringed from the live video I watched honestly. I was pissed that they got another guitar player so he wouldn't have play to live. But either way this record is sweet

joshuahuntkc
October 16th 2013


1612 Comments


By the way, good review.

Cipieron
October 16th 2013


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah i could never get into Of Mice & Men for whatever reason, but this really clicks.

BassDemon333
October 16th 2013


3415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its cause Shay was one of the best parts of OM&M and this is just him finally

East Hastings
October 16th 2013


4392 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is so blah even with his voice. first track is the only one that gets plays and thats because of his screams

TooLateToGoBack
October 16th 2013


1780 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

He was the best part of OM&M, but this is an absolute chore to listen to.

Like, I really appreciated how well he complimented Austin, but just Shayley gets grating really quickly.

merpmerp
October 16th 2013


803 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hesitant to check this out, band seems pretty boring.

joshuahuntkc
October 16th 2013


1612 Comments


based on what you have in your favorites, you would probably find them boring.

Gyromania
October 16th 2013


16074 Comments


great review, will request a feature when i get on my pc

BassDemon333
October 16th 2013


3415 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks a lot Gyro

tresm87
October 16th 2013


1360 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it's pretty good. average at times instrumentally. he may be best at the slower softer songs

Digging: The Almost - No Gift To Bring



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy