Dance Gavin Dance
Acceptance Speech


3.5
great

Review

by Thompson D. Gerhart STAFF
October 15th, 2013 | 34 replies | 2,351 views


Release Date: 10/08/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The robot dies. A new machine is born.

Bull*** about "new Bugattis" and mother***ers being made golden aside, Acceptance Speech is a catchy album with hooks galore. From the fretboard rampaging of "Doom & Gloom" to the more melodic moments of songs like "The Robot With Human Hair pt. 4" that perfectly set up and frame Tilian Pearson's signature vocal delivery as well as they tune in on Jon Mess's equal yet opposite approach, there is nothing soft or subpar about this album. Except the lyrics, which sound like they were written by an angsty 14 year old with the imagination of a 12 year old.

Still, there's enough redemption in the ever-astonishing vocal delivery and vivacious instrumental undercurrent of every song on Acceptance Speech to make it enjoyable through and through. A little more prominence lent to Will Swan's melodic, hyperactive, and on-point guitar work would benefit Dance Gavin Dance going forward, but it's easy to see that the goal of Acceptance Speech is more in establishing a sing-along, jump around atmosphere, and, in that, the "partycore" label is neither inaccurate nor an albatross.

This isn't Downtown Battle Mountain III - it's an album that plays to a wider audience with a few more restraints. And that's okay. It's not the pinnacle of DGD's career, nor should anyone expect it to be. It is, however, a fun and, dare I say, addicting album which shows an initial synergy between the group's latest incarnation that will only percolate and mature over time, playing to the pop strengths of Tilian's new vocal dynamic and the way he intermingles with Mess's love-it-or-hate-it vocal attack and the much manipulated post-hardcore sound the band's instrumental section offers.

So take Acceptance Speech for what it is: an earnestly fun approach to making music and feeling out things with a new group that doesn't involve a strung-out scam artist for once.



Recent reviews by this author
Althea ElevenAnimals As Leaders The Joy of Motion
Angel Vivaldi Away With Words - Part ITides of Man Young and Courageous
Gab.riel TangentBeing Anthropocene
user ratings (483)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013



1918 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Sorry for slamming two reviews in so near to one another, but I probably won't have time to review again for a while anyway and this is probably irrelevant among all of the other reviews anyway. Writing is also helping me take my mind off of some bigger things right now, so there's that.

Anyway, this album is pretty good and does not deserve a 1.5.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013



9506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

THANK YOU

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013



1918 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

You're welcome! I really dig this album. I don't know where the hate is coming from or what miracle some were expecting from this.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013



9506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

Honestly, the production is pretty damned frustrating, but I think it's silly to dismiss an album on such traits. The solid songwriting is still here, esp in songs like The Jiggler

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013



1918 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, man. I can kind of see why they mixed it the way they did (entire album reads as intentionally vocally dominated), but ultimately I think they'll find better production moving forward with this group as they find more of a solid groove.

And damn straight the songwriting is still solid. It's not as innovative as DHBM2 or other albums, but it's definitely still good.

And yeah, all that said, I am a Tilian Pearson fanboy through and through.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013



9506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

oh i'd argue the production, not even considering the vocals, is flawed here. Moment that strikes me that way the
most is the intro to Carve-- so much noise, man, and so hard to decipher what's happening.

I loved Tillian in Tides of Man, and I think I prefer him in this style of music. Tides of Man is apparently coming out
with a post-rock album, which I'm hesitant about.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013



1918 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Really? I see that noise in "Carve" as entirely intentional and I think it plays out pretty well. It's a really, really deliberate chaos that kind of allows Tilian's part to break in add a little order.

I loved him in Tides too. I was really disappointed when they kicked him out because he wanted to do some stuff with Saosin. The snippets of the Tides post rock album sounds pretty awesome. I'm def. gonna check it out and see what's up, but I can see where you might be hesitant. It's a big dynamic shift for them.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013



9506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

it is a big shift, but what makes me hesitant is that Tides' new sound is something that has been done before, at least from the single. I'll just hope they find something interesting to toy with on the upcoming album!

TheSupernatural
October 15th 2013



857 Comments


2 staff and 2 contributor reviews? The album really isn't worth this much attention

Digging: Cage Grind Noir - Pilots

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013



9506 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

Thank you for the public service announcement

ShitsofRain
October 15th 2013



4738 Comments


Carve is when shit gets real

DBM yo

Digging: Ground Zero - Revolutionary Pekinese Opera, Ver. 1.28

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
October 15th 2013



7879 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

wagwagwagwagwag

Digging: Kettle Rebellion - Kettle Rebellion

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2013



48587 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

don't slander wag with this album

Digging: Banner Pilot - Souvenir

Chesse
October 15th 2013



529 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

with the imagination of a 12 year old.


yeah isn't it great? lol

TheSupernatural
October 15th 2013



857 Comments


White trash Circa Survive though. I'm from Sacramento, and I've never even bothered to listen to these guys beyond a couple of shitty songs.

It's all just shitcore scenecrunk with half decent instrumentals, right?

loveisamixtape
October 15th 2013



5787 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

finally a good contrib review of this

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2013



48587 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

you wish

captaincrunch11
October 15th 2013



1195 Comments


Anybody who thinks this is white trash circa hasn't listened to DGD's last four albums

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
October 15th 2013



7879 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

shut up treb get smarter

bloc
October 15th 2013



34500 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

At least there's one positive staff review now...

Digging: He Is Legend - I Am Hollywood



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy