Captain, We're Sinking
The Future Is Cancelled


5.0
classic

Review

by Vansact USER (4 Reviews)
October 15th, 2013 | 15 replies | 1,640 views


Release Date: 05/14/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Some music is meant to be experienced, not listened to.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

A long time ago, I heard my teacher say that the definition of music is "the way a feeling sounds." At the time, I thought that was a ridiculous statement. To a certain extent, I still do. So much of the music I hear every day is contrived and tepid, it's hard to imagine it as anything other than what it is... A product, and a highly profitable one at that.

Every now and then though, I find something that fits her description perfectly.

By the end of the forth track of 'The Future Is Cancelled,' I had the distinct impression that I was listening to the greatest album I've ever had the pleasure of finding. By the end of my first full listen, I was sure of it. I sat back in my chair, taking a minute to try to take it all in. Then I took a deep breath, and started it again. The album can be viewed the same way that a symphony can be viewed. Different movements in one huge, cohesive piece of music, every movement fitting perfectly into the overall piece. This is an amazing feat considering the songs were written over a span of three years. There is no filler to be found anywhere here. Every track seems irreplaceable, from the intensity and wonderful guitar work of the opener 'Adultery,' To the soaring vocals of 'Lake,' to the incredibly catchy chorus of 'Here's to forever.' Every song has a highlight, a moment that plasters itself in your memory. 'A Bitter Divorce,' is quite possibly the greatest song ever written. The climax is absolutely perfect, and the lyrics are some of the best ever penned.


'The Future Is Cancelled' Is everything that music should be, and somehow more. It's beautiful, it's smart, it's emotional, and the closest thing to perfect that music can be. It's the music you wait a lifetime for. This is the kind of music that can make you smile while tears are running down your face, because you don't understand why, but it makes you feel like life is worth the pain.


user ratings (394)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
Hogan CONTRIBUTOR (5)
Punk Album of the Year...

John weathered old reviewer Hanson STAFF (4.9)
The Future is Cancelled is a perfect punk album. Get it before it's not cool anymore...


Comments:Add a Comment 
Butkuiss
October 15th 2013



4104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Brother is really the only track off this I don't dig and Montreal is the tits

Digging: Sage Francis - Copper Gone

TooLateToGoBack
October 15th 2013



1749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Lake is one of my favorite songs of the year.

hogan900
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2013



1485 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good review dude, this album is awesome.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 4.9 | Sound Off

Im really glad people love this so much.

SteveP
October 15th 2013



33 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is a phenomenal record. It was a grower for me; the first half stood out right away, but I couldn't really get into the second half at first. The more I listened, though, the more it all clicked and now I think it's pretty much a perfect record.

Digging: Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties - We Don't Have Each Other

Scoot
October 15th 2013



17675 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

one of the year's best

Digging: Unjust - Glow

ti0n
October 15th 2013



1376 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

2nd half >> 1st

Digging: How to Dress Well - What Is This Heart?

kmace
October 15th 2013



154 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is phenomenal. Montreal, A Bitter Divorce, Shoddy Workmanship, fuck they are all great. Definitely one of the years best for me. Good review.

Crawl
October 15th 2013



1539 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Brother is my favorite song lol

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2013



19395 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

great job for a 2nd review. It seems you took some of brostep's advice and this review is definitely more creative than your last one.

A couple small things:

"By the end of the forth" should be fourth :P

"'A Bitter Divorce,' is quite possibly the greatest song ever written"

This seems like a little much. Music has been around for decades and decades so I don't think you can really justify saying it's one of the greatest songs ever written. Maybe say something more along the lines of "it's quite possibly one of the most impacting songs I've ever had the pleasure of hearing"? Not necessarily in those exact words but I just think this sentence could be changed since you have quite the hyperbole in there :3

Anyways, pos'd keep up the good work and you'll keep improving



Digging: Musk Ox - Woodfall

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2013



19395 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"'The Future Is Cancelled' Is everything that music should be, and somehow more. It's beautiful, it's smart, it's emotional, and the closest thing to perfect that music can be."

Another tip for you:

You kind of say the same thing in both sentences here "everything that music should be" and "The closest thing to pefect that music can be". I'd try and come up with another way to describe the music so it doesn't just sound like you're just repeating yourself.

Futures
October 15th 2013



7559 Comments


Just listened to A Bitter Divorce. Holy shit what a powerful song. I hope the rest of the album lives
up to that song.

Digging: 68 - In Humor and Sadness

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013



16081 Comments

Album Rating: 4.9 | Sound Off

it's never a good idea to listen to the centerpiece of an album first

Futures
October 15th 2013



7559 Comments


Well I didn't know that. I just usually check out a song or two and see if it's my thing before checking out the whole thing.

Vansact
October 16th 2013



12 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks for the criticism Atari, that's quite helpful.
And yeah, you definitely need to listen to this record as a whole, in order. Part of what makes it so great is that each song builds on each other perfectly.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy