Trivium
Vengeance Falls


3.0
good

Review

by Thompson D. Gerhart STAFF
October 15th, 2013 | 142 replies


Release Date: 2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: In defense of the rating assigned the number three.

Listen, I'm not out to try and convince you that Trivium's Vengeance Falls is the greatest album 2013 has to throw at us, but I sure as hell can tell you that Vengeance Falls is getting a lot more hate than it deserves.

You see, that South Park episode about how people need to just home in on a certain person (or in this case, a band) and just invoke an unnatural hatred for the sake of hatred? It's a fairly accurate representation of how the musical community uplift and damn a band in the bat of an eye. Sure, Trivium don't have the social insanity issues that plague a celebrity like Brittany Spears, but they're about the closest mainstream metal gets outside of another St. Anger. Ever since The Crusade was the foolish darling of a Rolling Stone article that heralded its lack of screams and promoted the group as the next Metallica, the discerning have cast a suspicious, if not snobbish, glare upon Trivium - and it's not entirely unwarranted.

You must try to understand: Trivium really are the next Metallica, for better or worse. Listen to the riffs on Vengeance Falls and consider the structures, sound, and speed of tracks on Ride the Lightning or Master of Puppets in contrast to their contemporaries. There were albums that were far faster, more aggressive, edgier, and more creative by '84 and '86, but does that stop those albums from being enjoyable? Hell no! And neither does it stop Vengeance Falls from being a good, mindless thrash from start to finish.

At its core, the choruses of Vengeance Falls are catchy, the solos are fun, and the riffs are headbang-ready. The song structures are more simplistic than those on Ascendancy or Shogun and the album has a glaring imbalance favoring Heafy's clean approach over screams which would easily add character to many of its tracks, and those are the real issues which hold Vengeance Falls from being anything special. They do not hold it back from being enjoyable.

Some will hype up David Draiman's involvement in this album, but, to be honest, Heafy's vocal approach and phrasing don't vary greatly enough from In Waves for me to consider him as a major influence on this approach and neither does the low and heavy riffing prominent on a few songs and used as interludes in others. It's not a nu metal influence or any such nonsense, it's just a sign of the times and, honestly, a decent adaptation of the low-end being used all around metal to the thrashy Trivium sound. No more, no less. It's not exceptional, but it has utility.

We are all too often overprivileged by our access to "all of the music" these days and, due to our knowledge of 18 different records released this year which are worthy of the elusive "5/5," we discount good, solid music as "*** tier," "too mainstream," and whatever stupid and baselessly homophobic or racial slur is rotating around the basement network of elitist neckbeards with too much time on their hands to masturbate and listen to the ultra-super-duper-quadruple-fx-HD mix of Lulu. But we could all be better than that.

Vengeance Falls is an album with utility. Say what you will, there will always be room for an album like this to rally fans at sports games, to pump iron to, to up the pace of a slow work day, and hell, even to to chant along with - be it at home or at a show, if you're among those still willing to associate yourself with a "mainstream" act. And why not? Why do you really care so much what the ballscratching elite of the internet have to say about your taste in music? Nut up and make up your own mind.



Recent reviews by this author
Lazer Kitty SPIESJakub Zytecki Wishful Lotus Proof
Periphery Juggernaut: AlphaDamascus When Last We Met
Lost Ubikyst in Apeiron Abstruse Imbeciles Nailed on SlaveryDevin Townsend Project Z2
user ratings (350)
Chart.
2.8
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013


2135 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

'Cause why not.

NocteDominum
October 15th 2013


7218 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Vengeance Falls is getting a lot more hate than it deserves.




Feel like this could be indirectly aimed at me. Probably reading too much into it : ]



Good read man.



and whatever stupid and baselessly homophobic or racial slur is rotating around the basement network of elitist neckbeards with too much time on their hands to masturbate and listen to the ultra-super-duper-quadruple-fx-HD mix of Lulu.




*Mind-pos'd.

slidenslip
October 15th 2013


1016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

He's still preferable to the Cookie Monster vomit that passes for vocals on many metal records – and he's still his own rock & roll animal.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013


3880 Comments


Fucking fantastic review. I don't think I've seen any contrives write this well in a while. Apart from a "fo" In the 2nd-to-last para (which I can't quote as I'm on an iPod) this is great

zxlkho
October 15th 2013


3482 Comments


stop

climactic
October 15th 2013


20530 Comments


ascendancy was solid

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013


10497 Comments


we discount good, solid music as "*** tier," "too mainstream," and whatever stupid and baselessly homophobic or racial slur is rotating around the basement network of elitist neckbeards with too much time on their hands to masturbate and listen to the ultra-super-duper-quadruple-fx-HD mix of Lulu. But we could all be better than that. we discount good, solid music as "*** tier," "too mainstream," and whatever stupid and baselessly homophobic or racial slur is rotating around the basement network of elitist neckbeards with too much time on their hands to masturbate and listen to the ultra-super-duper-quadruple-fx-HD mix of Lulu. But we could all be better than that. we discount good, solid music as "*** tier," "too mainstream," and whatever stupid and baselessly homophobic or racial slur is rotating around the basement network of elitist neckbeards with too much time on their hands to masturbate and listen to the ultra-super-duper-quadruple-fx-HD mix of Lulu. But we could all be better than that.

Digging: bansheebeat - Lumine

climactic
October 15th 2013


20530 Comments


i cant be better than that

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013


2135 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"Feel like this could be indirectly aimed at me."



Anyone who indirectly aims something indirectly is a pretty piss-poor shot. :P Said comments are more

aimed at people with a less articulate expression of opinion.



"Apart from a "fo" In the 2nd-to-last para (which I can't quote as I'm on an iPod) this is great"



Fixed.



Thanks for the kind words guys, I appreciate it.

LittleStranger
October 15th 2013


481 Comments


Totally agree this isn't a disparate mess

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2013


2171 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good enough to keep the band's fans interested, but I don't see anything on this album that would change anyone's mind. If it does change anyone's opinion of the band, then good on that person. There are a few nice tracks on here, such as 'Villainy thrives' and 'At the end of this world', but at times it just feels too much like an "In waves" V.2.

Digging: Moondog - Moondog

Ikarus14
October 15th 2013


633 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree with a lot of points. While Draiman's input was bound to have gained a lot of mixed responses, he at least helped

keep the album as a whole focused. It's consistent and it delivers a bunch of meaty riffs, more so then the very few spots

of filler. So yeah, this album deserves a better response.

Departures
October 15th 2013


930 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

summary is disclaimer, how original

Digging: CZARFACE - Every Hero Needs a Villain

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013


2135 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Condescending comments about a summary? How original.

zaruyache
October 15th 2013


9282 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

And neither does it stop Vengeance Falls from being a good, mindless thrash from start to finish.





"Mindless" I'll give you, but there's really nothing thrashy about this record. Riffs have to have

some sense of energy to be "thrashy"; these riffs have no such thing.



At its core, the choruses of Vengeance Falls are catchy, the solos are fun, and the riffs are

headbang-ready.




The choruses aren't catchy because the vocal rhythms and lyrics are so awkward they ruin any sort of

enjoyableness they might have been able to have. And it's really hard to headbang to riffs that

sound as lazy and tired as my dead grandparents. I guess nodding off to sleep sort of counts as

"headbanging" in a sense, though.

Mabbitt
October 15th 2013


1409 Comments


I've only heard three songs from this album so far, but I've enjoyed them. They're pretty standard for Trivium, but I thought they were all good. I like how there's less screaming, too, since I much prefer Matt's singing voice.

bloc
October 15th 2013


35537 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Pretty catchy album

Ecnalzen
October 15th 2013


7002 Comments


"We are all too often overprivileged by our access to "all of the music" these days and, due to our knowledge of 18 different records released this year which are worthy of the elusive "5/5," we discount good, solid music as "*** tier," "too mainstream," and whatever stupid and baselessly homophobic or racial slur is rotating around the basement network of elitist neckbeards with too much time on their hands to masturbate and listen to the ultra-super-duper-quadruple-fx-HD mix of Lulu. But we could all be better than that."

This is all just... fantastic.

Toondude10
October 15th 2013


6865 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good read. Agree with most of what was said here accept the part about Draiman. I honestly believe that he heavily influenced this album.

Darkwatch025
October 16th 2013


220 Comments


I couldn't agree more with this review. After listening to the entire album today on my way to work, I must say that I really enjoyed it as a whole. It does lack variety though and some songs seemed to blend together, but when compared to other hard rock/metal bands out there today, this is pretty damn good. Shogun was their masterpiece in my opinion, but they obviously didn't want to go that epic route with the past two albums. I think Heafy's voice has improved with each release and I would definitely rather hear him sing more than scream. Overall, I am not disappointed with this record and I think it is good for what it is.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy