Nice Hooves
Nice Hooves


4.0
excellent

Review

by Free Chesse13 USER (1 Reviews)
October 14th, 2013 | 11 replies | 728 views


Release Date: 06/18/2013 | Tracklist


2 of 3 thought this review was well written

Nice Hooves are a Detroit hardcore band. Made mostly out of members of The Armed, and play in similar style. Although they aren't quite as spastic as The Armed's latest releases they are actually closer to their debut These Are Lights. Nice Hooves has a greater punk influence in their sound rather than a metalcore one. There is more focus on creating catchy riffs and jamming rather than being as heavy as they can all the time. Roots is a song that exemplifies this really well. It's a slower song that starts off with a pretty cool riff, which they precede to jam the *** out of. The band interjects with some cool guitar fills here and there and it really shows a different side of these guys. It shows that they are talented songwriters and it's a side they should explore as The Armed.

The two songs after are some of the best on the album. White Knuckle is a fast song and it shows that this is where Nice Hooves are at their best. The whole song comes together so well, as it's the closest to These Are Lights, and it shows why that's where the band is at their best. The band is really good at making fun and quick music plain and simple. As mentioned earlier there are some slower songs on the album too. Right to be Paranoid has an intro that does a really good at setting up a paranoid atmosphere. Vocalist Dave Graw sings quite nicely on this track and it helps set up the atmosphere of the song. Dave's voice isn't all that different from The Armed's vocalist, in fact on first listen you might not even notice it's someone else at all. He gets the job done, and as mentioned he has a decent singing voice, even if it is used very rarely. Where this group of songwriters really excel is just creating fun hardcore punk songs. It's fast, catchy, and heavy and its pretty damn good too. There is a good amount variety here with keeps this relatively short listen interesting the whole way through.

As always with the No rest Until Ruin label all of their music is free. If you like hardcore, metalcore, and anything similar to those genres this would be a good idea to check out. They craft some pretty good songs which is definitely worth a listen. It may not be as good as The Armed's best material, but with that being said it's still pretty good.


user ratings (10)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Chesse
October 14th 2013



529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

criticize me please

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 14th 2013



3030 Comments


criticism: you suck

in all seriousness, here goes. will be shorter than normal because i have limited time but whatevs

the first two sentences are kinda throwaways. it says about the same as rec'ing the armed in the recs section. i tend to wait to compare bands you're reviewing until second paragraph or so, because it tends to be a weak way to open a review. the rest of your intro is solid though. it's not nice and flowery like a lot of p4k/staff reviews but it's nice and punchy, just like the music you're reviewing.


your two-paragraph review would be really solid if it were only two paragraphs. again, the last paragraph's kind of a throwaway, because you can save that for your first comment and the review is quicker and easier to read. that said, the review is good, i pos'd. i think lack of experience writing kinda shows, since a lot of the sentences are really terse and some of them (like "Right to be Paranoid has an intro that does a really good at setting up a paranoid atmosphere") don't really tell me anything about the album, but this is a really solid start (not sure if you did many reviews on your chesse13 account so if it's not your start then whatever). keep on keepin' on!

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

Chesse
October 14th 2013



529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks so much. I haven't written a lot on my other profile so it kinda shows lol. Writing has never been my strong suite, and since I'm going into college I thought that it would definitely help if I practiced

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 14th 2013



3030 Comments


haha it definitely does. i've been really working hard on it for like 5 years and now it's finally coming together for me, but it takes a lot of time

Chesse
October 14th 2013



529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah. I'm thinking of writing at least once every two weeks or something if I have time. It's something I really want to be good at. Glad to know I only kinda suck lol

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 14th 2013



3030 Comments


Absolutely worth doing. I sucked until about review 15 or so, and then I was ok. Anyways, though, definitely write more.

Chesse
October 14th 2013



529 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed. Did you check out this album though???

XingKing
October 14th 2013



9127 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is killer. Glad this got a review

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2013



3030 Comments


Not a huge fan of punk/hardcore/whatever this is so unfortunately no, but I'll take your word that it's good.

Antigen
October 16th 2013



32 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Reminds me of ETID, really digging it.

XingKing
January 15th 2014



9127 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

More people need to listen to this band



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy