Deltron 3030
Event II


2.5
average

Review

by Hermano USER (3 Reviews)
October 13th, 2013 | 31 replies | 3,353 views


Release Date: 10/01/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Same formula, same information.

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

There’s something unnerving about Joseph Gordon- Levitt’s spoken word introduction to Event II on Stardate. An album of this magnitude is rooted in near mythical past, folks have spent over a decade waiting for the follow up to that which is often heralded as one of the most impressive records to ever come from the genre. So when that distinguishable voice begins speaking in what sounds like a narrative that wouldn’t be out of place on the opening page of a Grant Morrison Batman and Robin story arc, it works so well to dislodge a lot of faith to Del and Dan’s initial cult following.

Instead of channeling the creativity that Del once honed on the original 3030 record, the ‘mythical duo’ decide to create an almost carbon copy of that initial work. For this reason they have hindered this record from ever reaching the stratospheric realm in which it’s predecessor still resides. It’s hard to judge Event II on a lyrical basis. Lyrically, Del is just as proficient as ever, however it seems like he’s beating a dead horse. The same themes are dressed in different costumes throughout the record and it eventually becomes tired.

On The Return, Deltron (Dan and Del The Funkee Homosapien) take everything that made 3030 such a phenomenal opening track and emulate it a level of annoyance. The beat again is incredible, it’s near opium laced with warmth and Dan shows us how to make a 7-minute track float on by without much thought, however, it seems like some of the magic of Deltron has disappeared as a cohesive unit. Del bumbles through the track with his trademark animated flow and gives us everything we have come to expect from him. It is here that lays the problem, it is no secret that this is 13 years of musical work from this collective, yet somehow instead of experiencing something new and exciting, we are offered the same work, slightly repackaged.

Those taken aback initially by the guest spots on Event II need not worry. Comedians David Cross and The Lonely Island feature in two skits based on the same concept; times are changing, kids don’t respect their elders, youths taking things for granted, etc. This happens 3 times on the record to no benefit. Other guest spots are given to the likes of Zack De La Rocha (of Rage Against The Machine fame) and Mike Patton (just of fame) the former offering exactly what you’d expect, a pissed off, *** the system chorus that honestly probably wouldn’t have made the cut on Evil Empire. Patton’s contribution is far more minimal, giving up only a pseudo haunting background vocal sample on the lead single.

The ingenuity that made 3030 so rewarding was in its pioneering of futuristic hip-hop as an idea, one that spread and resulted in truly great emulations in style by other artists and had an accessibility to a certain group of people into the genre that otherwise would never have bothered. This level of creativity is what, we as a listener expected and after 13 years of waiting, what we felt we deserved. Instead, Deltron has delivered the level of creativity that has amounted to what can only be described as a glorified collection of B sides.


user ratings (89)
Chart.
3.5
great
related reviews

Deltron 3030
recommended by reviewer
Deltron 3030 3030
Gorillaz Gorillaz
trending hip-hop albums

Run The Jewels

Old

Matangi

05 Fuck Em

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hermano
October 13th 2013



60 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

There are some good tracks here but nothing new.

Underflow
October 13th 2013



2185 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I've never understood why something had to be new to be quality. Sure, this record isn't as good as
its predecessor, but there's plenty of quality material here - you said so yourself. You praised the
lyricism and the beats. Good review, but I completely disagree with you on what a record needs in
order to be an enjoyable listen. For me, songwriting, lyricism, musicianship, etc. are just as
important.

That said, emulating oneself can be become tiresome if it continues for an extended duration (see
AC/DC's entire discography for self-parody and tiresome repetition), but this is only the group's
second album.

Digging: Freddie Gibbs and Madlib - Pinata

Hermano
October 13th 2013



60 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

there's new and then there's original. this is neither.

Hermano
October 13th 2013



60 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

If this had come out 2-4 years after its predecessor, I would have a very different view of it. 13 years is a long time to just give a revamp of old material

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 13th 2013



48561 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Let me tell you something, G.O.B. We’re going to track this Hermano down, okay? And we’re going to nail him. Because if anyone’s going to go out with that girl, it’s going to be one of us.

Digging: The Hotelier - Home, Like NoPlace Is There

Underflow
October 13th 2013



2185 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, that's an understandable viewpoint, just one we don't see eye to eye on. That's not particularly important to me (especially since this group had one album prior to this). Still though, as I said, it was an enjoyable review.

Hermano
October 13th 2013



60 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Agreed, this was really hard to write as I intended for it be a positive review (3.0-3.5), then I started listening to the album again to refresh some points and I started writing this instead which is I guess how i really feel.

Thank you, just getting back into writing.

Hermano
October 13th 2013



60 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Trebor - You're the como.

Gyromania
October 13th 2013



14653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

bullshit

Gyromania
October 13th 2013



14653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

seriously though, superb writing here

Gyromania
October 13th 2013



14653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

there are some typos you'll catch when re-reading it though, like:

The ingenuity that made 3030 so rewarding was in it’s pioneering


and some sentences can be strengthened, but impressive stuff for a second review

Hermano
October 13th 2013



60 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

thank you, appreciate it.

bloc
October 13th 2013



34499 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah this isn't that great

Digging: He Is Legend - I Am Hollywood

Inveigh
October 14th 2013



24192 Comments


not sure about a rating for this yet, but I agree with most of what this review has to say. nice work.

fairly entertaining album but when compared to the first one it's pretty disappointing.

Digging: Symptom - Caverns Of Katabasis

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
October 14th 2013



8958 Comments


I can't believe this never got a review

Digging: Waxahatchee - Cerulean Salt

Tyrannic
October 14th 2013



3224 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

i'm not going to rate this for a long, long time.

but, at the same time, i agree that its totally a rehash.

i wanted a rehash. i didn't want a drastically different deltron, i just wanted deltron to spit about the next event. yeah its definitely a revamp but its a revamp of a practically perfect album so whatever

Tyrannic
October 14th 2013



3224 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

also david cross absolutely slayed lawnchair quarterback.

Hermano
October 14th 2013



60 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

to be fair, Cross could read any script and it would be funny.

Days of Future Passed
October 14th 2013



461 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review. I was really looking forward to this (like many) but the album fell short. The interludes are the best part imo

greencorn5
October 16th 2013



169 Comments


Seems like a harsh review for what is actually a really good album. So, it's not a big change from the first, I could see marking it down a little because of that but 2.5 really? I think you may have just been let down. 13 years is a long time to wait for a follow up and not have it meet the unrealistic expectations that a 13 hiatus would bring. Listen to this in a couple years and I bet you don't agree with your rating anymore.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy