Circles
Infinitas


4.0
excellent

Review

by Bridgette Baini USER (2 Reviews)
October 14th, 2013 | 11 replies | 4,196 views


Release Date: 10/11/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An abundance of technical riffs, electronic embellishments, and rhythmic syncopation that’s bound to impress any musical being from one aspect or another.

2 of 2 thought this review was well written

Circles
Infinitas

01. Erased
02. On My Way
03. As It Is Above
04. So It Is Below
05. Another Me
06. Ground Shift
07. Responses
08. Visions
09. Radiant
10. Wheels In Motion
11. The Signal (ft. Kin Twelve Foot Ninja)
12. Verum Infiniti
[11th October 2013]
[Basick Records]

Progressive metal fans are alas, treated to the release of Australian band Circles’ debut album, Infinitas! It’s been a long time coming from the band’s beginnings in 2010 - which saw their Prelude EP quickly find it’s way to the audio devices of many music-loving Melbournians. A few more releases, international tours; and we have ourselves a set of tunes that are well-worth the wait.

Suspense is set within the very first track, ‘Erased’, through a seamless transition from dismal ambiance and harmonized vocals, to the heavy, calculated riffs Circles are best known for, but it’s not all “same, same”!

A more familiar tune, ‘Another Me’ would have to be a perfect example of their progression in a short amount of time, with the mastering on this single further improved on the album - speaking of which, is entirely self-produced with props to guitarist Ted Furuhashi.

Standout tracks from this album are; As It Is Above, So It Is Below, and The Signal. The pair of songs ‘As It Is Above’ and ‘So It Is Below’ are cleverly incorporated to somewhat act as a reference point to the album’s theme. However, whilst maintaining this, there’s still a variety of theoretical influence that avoids any mundane composition of tracks – which is not only refreshing, but a good quality for albums within such intricate sub-genres of metal.

One would have difficulty flawing Infinitas but for the sake of diverse feedback; ‘The Signal’ featuring Twelve Foot Ninja’s Kin isn’t long enough to have more of a vocal involvement from the equally as talented Aussie frontman! Having said that, the track still stands as one of the most effective pieces in terms of storytelling. It embraces an almost Ancient Middle-Eastern approach through foreign acoustic percussion and strings – preparing us for a smooth exit, with the variety of textures in impressive vocals displayed by Perry Kakridas found in the final track, ‘Verum Ininiti’.

Packed with sporadic tempo changes and the layered time signatures us prog-metal heads go weak at the knees for, this album is an abundance of technical riffs, electronic embellishments, and rhythmic syncopation that’s bound to impress any musical being from one aspect or another.

- BB


user ratings (34)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
Cipieron
October 13th 2013



3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just ordered this online with a physical copy of The Compass too.

i really enjoy these guys, another solid aussie band that sadly gets a lot less love than they deserve

SitarHero
October 14th 2013



4645 Comments


I've tried getting into them, but for some reason the vocalist just turns me off. His melodies are kind of whiny...

Cipieron
October 14th 2013



3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i guess i can understand that. personally i love his voice though

SitarHero
October 14th 2013



4645 Comments


Yeah, he's technically a great singer.

SitarHero
October 14th 2013



4645 Comments


Lead vox sounds like Patrick Stump when he sings. Listening to As It Is Above made it clear to me.

Manqaness24
October 14th 2013



129 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's not bad nothing special. I like the vocals though.


Cipieron
October 14th 2013



3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the second half of this album actually seems stronger than the first, a little more variety to be found

GodOfAtheism
October 22nd 2013



7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It has its own unique charm, vocals are solid and nothing on the album is too overbearing. The Electronic aspects of the album blend in well.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
November 3rd 2013



1852 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Pretty decent album I thought. Although sometimes the experimentation can get slightly out of hand and basically ruin the musical direction of songs such as 'Another me' and 'Ground shift', the musicianship here is enough to keep listeners interested. Clean vocals for me are awkward whenever they are sung against a barrage of heavy, intense tech-metal compositions and so it's really the harsher style which really gets the music going. For a debut this is good and promising.

Digging: Black Anvil - Hail Death

unforgiven89
November 17th 2013



143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, i really like this. There's enough interesting riffs and massive vocal lines to keep it from being a typical boring Djent release. The vocalist has a really strong voice and i like his vocal melodies. I can understand how the tone of his voice would turn some people off though.

After one listen it's inbetween a 4-4.5

unforgiven89
November 22nd 2013



143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Actually, totally loving this now. A strong 4.5 for me. This is sooo catchy. Extremely consistent aswell. Every track is gold.

Definitely one of my favourites of the year.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy