Metallica
Through the Never


3.5
great

Review

by emprorzurg USER (6 Reviews)
October 5th, 2013 | 45 replies | 1,794 views


Release Date: 09/24/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Oh boy, a new Metallica album!!!! aaaaand it's a live performance, like we don't have enough of those.

1 of 10 thought this review was well written

Metallica; once the greatest band of all time, now considered a dirty word in the music community, a word associated with the term “sellout”.

2008’s “Death Magnetic” was, for some, (suicide and) redemption for the band since their (some kind of) monster “St. Anger”, then came the sad (but true) attempt at an album with Lou Reed.

But enough puns.

Metallica’s new “experience” (‘cause it’s not “just” a movie) has a soundtrack, and not a single new song on it, in fact, it’s just a live album, showing Metallica at their recent best.

The band themselves are in fine condition, sounding as good as ever, James’ vocals sound the best since the early 90’s, Kirk’s solos are searing, Lars’ drumming is….okay, and, get ready for it; Rob’s bass playing actually audible *gasp*
Yes, the songs have been mixed really well, with the bass actually being a part of the songs now, rather than being drowned out, and with this, some songs sound better than ever, such as “Master of Puppets”.

Speaking of songs, there are some strange oddities, such as “The Memory Remains” and “Wherever I May Roam”, instead of classics such as “Blackened” or “Sanatarium”, hell, it doesn’t even include “Seek and Destroy”. But it’s ok, because he have songs like “Cyanide”, yeah, I’d much rather have that than Metallica’s best stuff *eye roll*.

The inclusion of the entire of “And Justice For All” is nice, but I do wish there was a different set list to the one that we received. “Orion” also sounds like it was recorded at a sound check, so it’s almost a re-record of the song.

Overall, if you’re looking for the complete Metallica concert experience, go get the “Live Sh*t, Binge and Purge” album, but if you’re being held hostage and get the choice between this and LuLu, choose this.



Recent reviews by this author
The Wildhearts Endless NamelessWeezer Christmas with Weezer
Baby Animals This Is Not The EndBaby Animals Shaved and Dangerous
Baby Animals Baby Animals
user ratings (61)
Chart.
3.5
great
other reviews of this album
Brendan Schroer STAFF (3.5)
Surprisingly solid....


Comments:Add a Comment 
BloodSweatandBeers
October 5th 2013



999 Comments


"2008’s “Death Magnetic” was, for some, (suicide and) redemption for the band since their (some kind of) monster “St. Anger”, then came the sad (but true) attempt at an album with Lou Reed."

shut up

Underflow
October 5th 2013



2527 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lol.

emprorzurg
October 5th 2013



510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

but...puns

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2013



4880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

but...your puns are terrible

Digging: Integrity - Those Who Fear Tomorrow

emprorzurg
October 5th 2013



510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

aren't all puns terrible? I mean, they're puns

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2013



49801 Comments


no, clever wordplay is great, shitty puns are shitty

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

Judio!
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2013



4880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

If a pun makes you laugh, it's good. If it doesn't, it's terrible.



Therefore...



your puns are terrible.

emprorzurg
October 5th 2013



510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Well, it's a good thing that these were clever wordplay, I don't know how I'd react if they were shitty.

Yeah, I know they're bad, I put about 10 seconds of thought into them.

emprorzurg
October 5th 2013



510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

But hey, I've got "No Remorse" for these puns

BloodSweatandBeers
October 5th 2013



999 Comments


stop sayin terrble puns stop 4.5ing kiss albums stop with shitty avatars

emprorzurg
October 5th 2013



510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Hey, "Don't Tread On Me" or my guilty pleasures and avatar please.

TronaldDump
October 5th 2013



475 Comments


He has plenty of fuel to make bad puns.

manosg
October 5th 2013



5742 Comments


Live Shit is all that matters for me but I'll try to listen to this one.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2013



20653 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the movie was surprisingly good. setlist could've been better though

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

Fieryfenderz
October 5th 2013



1425 Comments


These puns added Fuel to my fire.

TronaldDump
October 5th 2013



475 Comments


To that which you desire.




OOOm.

emprorzurg
October 5th 2013



510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I should "Escape" before this gets ugly

tempest--
October 5th 2013



12643 Comments


Rob’s bass playing actually auditable

emprorzurg
October 5th 2013



510 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

You ruined the pun streak, but thanks for letting me know


FiveLeavesLeft
Staff Reviewer
October 5th 2013



9722 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8 | Sound Off

lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy