Felix K
Flowers Of Destruction


4.0
excellent

Review

by gosk8n USER (7 Reviews)
October 5th, 2013 | 18 replies | 800 views


Release Date: 05/04/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Settle into the atmosphere.

Flowers of Destruction strongest points are on atmosphere and sound design. Each rattling high hat, airy synth key, and deep bass line flow gracefully with each other. Felix K has definitely a great ear for detail as each track rises and decays every sound is masterfully used to its full. With subtleties of drum and bass, techno, and ambient weaving throughout the album, one can truly appreciate Felix K's skill in meshing these genres into an fulfilling experience.

To note one of the prominent tracks 'Flowers of Destruction #2' Felix takes his time to build up his track into something special. And this is not a problem since the rhythm of this tune is addictive with a punchy bass kick surrounded by white noise and little electronic snippets, and then the beast is revealed. The beast as in the bass, on a number of tracks the bass has no choice to make prominence against its minimal and barren backdrops. On the other hand we have many tracks (maybe too many) that do not focus on catchy rhythm but just allows the listener to settle into the atmosphere.

Felix sure does the electronic genre proud with this release, from heavy hitting tracks to the more desolated and free roaming ones. If there was any room for complaint is that there should be more tracks with a focus on dance. But this is not a big hindrance for Flowers of Destruction because overall it is a deep and joyful experience.



Recent reviews by this author
Ekoplekz UnfidelityDJ Hidden Enclosed
Justice (UK) ViewpointsBurial Rival Dealer
Special Request Soul MusicSamurai Music Scope
user ratings (4)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
gosk8n
October 4th 2013



989 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

http://youtu.be/p_0FfSlIZpU dope album

Digging: Millie and Andrea - Drop The Vowels

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2013



30320 Comments


Review is about as minimal as the album, I hope that wasn't intentional. You also have an error in the first sentence

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
October 4th 2013



30320 Comments


If there was any room for complaint is that there should be more tracks with a focus on dance.


Why? It's never been Felix's main aesthetic anyway, so the complaint would be that you're listening to him for the wrong reasons

gosk8n
October 4th 2013



989 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The album just sounds unbalanced to me at points especially on the latter half

gosk8n
October 4th 2013



989 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Review is about as minimal as the album, I hope that wasn't intentional. You also have an error in the first sentence"

My 1st review man go easy on me! but yea it was intentional


Typhoner
October 5th 2013



745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Was excited when I saw that there was a review for this (actually was thinking about doing one myself) as this really needs more attention, but yeah, it's maybe a bit too minimal ;-) Still, it tells a lot in those few sentences so I'd say it's kinda ok

But

It's never been Felix's main aesthetic anyway, so the complaint would be that you're listening to him for the wrong reasons


Didn't he release quite a bit of stuff that is less minimal than this?

Digging: DjRum - The Miracle

mindleviticus
October 5th 2013



7950 Comments


My interest has peaked

treeqt.
October 5th 2013



7885 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yes fuck yes yes yes

Digging: Ichiko Aoba - 0%

ShitsofRain
November 8th 2013



4751 Comments


nice one

Digging: Ground Zero - Revolutionary Pekinese Opera, Ver. 1.28

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2013



6251 Comments


Fuck, totally missed this.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

scissorlocked
December 26th 2013



3483 Comments


still haven't heard this one

Digging: Fantastic Mr Fox - Sketches

Typhoner
December 26th 2013



745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it was on two of my lists!

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2013



6251 Comments


Yeah I know, and I made a mental note to check it out. And then I realised I have the worst memory ever.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2013



6251 Comments


Anyways, checking this out in about 10 minutes, according to my Firefox dl list.

Typhoner
December 26th 2013



745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

haha, no problem. Like anyone ever always gets to check out their full check out list

treeqt.
December 26th 2013



7885 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And then I realised I have the worst memory ever. [99999999]

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2013



6251 Comments


So this is seriously good so far.

gosk8n
January 24th 2014



989 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Very minimal



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy