Caligula's Horse
The Tide, The Thief & River's End


5.0
classic

Review

by Ginjaninja USER (2 Reviews)
October 2nd, 2013 | 26 replies | 14,559 views


Release Date: 10/04/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: The Tide, The Thief & River's End is a superb progressive/alternative rock album

3 of 3 thought this review was well written

Caligula's Horse – The Tide, The Thief and River's End

The progressive music scene is ever changing, as is the inherent nature of the style. As an ideal, musicians strive to look forward. Progressive music will always be a genre that artists aspire to add to, whether crossing genre styles, technical proficiency, or using phallic sex toys in lieu of drum sticks.

Caligula's Horse utilise all of these in “The Tide, The Thief and River's End”, and they've had two years between the Colossus EP to not only refine their sound, but redefine the band. What started out as a one man band, has now come into fruition as a band of musicians all contributing their musical prowess to this album. As a progressive/alternative rock piece, TTTTARE is not only an abbreviation that sounds like a pirate sound, but it's progressive music cloaked in a blanket of pop vocals, captivating songwriting, and pristine production, with Vallen's idiosyncratic guitar style.

I think a lot of people will find similarities between “Tide” and Caligula's debut “Moments from Ephemeral City”, and the first one that I noticed is the track order and the dynamic of the album, not just in regards to loudness, but also emotionally; relentlessly emotional. Whether it's words of frustration, phrases of profound ecstasy, I feel involved. Often Grey blurs the lines between these two, committing to the most fervently charged performances in the bridge in “Atlas” or the outro of “Into the White”.

For the first time we see writing credits extended to Greensill in “Dark Hair Down” the single and video clip release for the album. If his contribution to this killer track is worthy of credit, his own project “Opus of a Machine” is very anticipated on my behalf. The marriage between Irish and Couper has never been stronger, and I hear so much Opeth influence in this drum and bass relationship, particularly in the latter half of “All is Quiet...”. The stop-start accents in “Into the White” make what feels like the calm before the storm still have so much playful personification in the music, in parts that seem larger than a band we are reminded of the 'realness' these musicians create.

As a listener, we are consistently narrated to by Jim and the backing choir (in particular the end of “Old Cracks...” I tend to imagine as a subtle reference to Halo). Yet what is clearly a concept album, it is still deeper than what is narrated to us. I'll use “Dark Hair Down” as a prime example for Vallen, Greensill and Grey's integration of storyline based lyrics and musical ideas, with a blatant theme involving the power of religion and it's impact on women still to this day. And that is one of the key ideas behind this album, that the story and the entrenched issues can be put in the context of any period of time, whether it be 100 years ago, or 5000 years ago when Earth was [with absolute certainty] created. The point is that to this day we are battling these basic human rights.

For anyone looking for the next wave of progressive/alternative rock music, Caligula's Horse have produced that album. In stores from October 4, The Tide, The Thief and River's End will be available for sale through the usual music purchasing outlets.


user ratings (63)
Chart.
4.1
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Calc
October 1st 2013



12114 Comments


"The Tide, The Thief & River's End is a superb progressive/alternative rock album"

Superb - 4.5

just kidding, but you should delete that last paragraph and post a link.

Digging: He Is Legend - Heavy Fruit

Dimor
October 2nd 2013



1755 Comments


Listening to "Moments from Ephemeral City" atm. Feels very fresh and vibrant after first 3 songs, really enjoying the variety in the sound.

percyforward
October 2nd 2013



38 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yay start stop in to the white

unforgiven89
October 4th 2013



143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm keen to give this a listen. Dark Hair Down and All Quiet On The Wall are amazing. I think this will definitely be a 4.5.

Jim Grey's voice is soooo amazing. Like a perfect mixture of Ian Kenny and Maynard.

unforgiven89
October 9th 2013



143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, so this is pretty amazing, the aussie prog scene strikes again. Helm, Karnivool and now Caligula's Horse have all released really great albums this year.

Another reviewer called it a mixture of Periphery, Pain of Salvation and Porcupine tree and that's pretty spot on. It's a bit djent but with enough melody and softer passages to make it interesting. Some seriously beautiful moments on this album. Jim's vocals are amazing as always, he should be much more well known as a vocalist.

Atlas, Into The White, Dark Hair Down and All Is Quite On The Wall are my favourites atm.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2013



6079 Comments


tttttttttttttttttttttare

Digging: Your Old Droog - Your Old Droog

VuvuzelaBzz
October 9th 2013



63 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I've listened to this a few times now and it's very good. At the moment I'm feeling like it's a 4, but I need to let it sink in a bit more before rating. I can already say this is in the top 3 best vocal performances of the year for me though.

unforgiven89
October 10th 2013



143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

After a few more listens, this is possibly my album of the year. It's just incredible.

Yeah, Grey's vocal performances are always top notch. You should also check out his other band, Arcane. They're fantastic aswell.

VuvuzelaBzz
October 10th 2013



63 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm aware of them actually. They've been in my "backlog" for about a year(I'm slow, I know), but I'd quite liked what I'd heard by them at the time, so I'd liked them on Facebook. Yesterday they made a status about this so I decided to check it out ;p

unforgiven89
October 12th 2013



143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Definitely check out their album 'Chronicles From A Waking Dream'. While i really like this, Chronicles is still the best thing Jim Grey has done. It's a masterpiece imo. It's sort of similar to this but with less djent, more prog and synths.

Lakonian
November 17th 2013



2 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

it is not progressive rock, it is metal

percyforward
November 24th 2013



38 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it's kinda both genre nazi

Tyrael
November 24th 2013



20797 Comments


yea this rules

unforgiven89
November 28th 2013



143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This should be getting a lot more hype than it has. Every review i've seen for it has been atleast 9/10. Fucking amazing album.

Funeralopolis
December 2nd 2013



11154 Comments


This is pretty good

Digging: Banks - London

whiteadi
December 16th 2013



3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

After I listen to this for 10 times I can say I find it more and more interesting.

Cool band!

RadicalEd
December 20th 2013



2587 Comments


Well this would have been in my top 50 this year, a shame that i just discovered it yesterday... really really good vocal performance.

unforgiven89
December 27th 2013



143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Such a shame that this album has gone pretty much un noticed. This deserved a lot of hype. Pretty close to a masterpiece.

Kalopsia
March 28th 2014



929 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

still spin this every couple days, totally agree that it's a shame they haven't gotten more attention

ButteryBiscuitBass
July 29th 2014



9877 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

solid shit, bit pussyole in places, but good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy