Coheed and Cambria
The Second Stage Turbine Blade


5.0
classic

Review

by Ian USER (106 Reviews)
March 30th, 2006 | 203 replies


Release Date: 2002 | Tracklist


Obviously this was bound to happen sooner, or later. I’ve already reviewed both In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3, and Good Apollo I’m Burning Star IV Vol. 1: From Fear Through The Eyes of Madness. Now I shall review Coheed & Cambria’s best work to date, their debut full-length album, The Second Stage Turbine Blade. This album possesses many different genre traits ranging from pop-punk, to rock, and going as far as post-hardcore, but at the same time manages to keep a complete, overall sound for the entire record.

The Second Stage Turbine Blade should truly be considered a classic album in ten years, if not now. It had an utterly flawless single in “Devil In Jersey City", which is a supreme choice because it successfully represented the orgasmic nature of The Second Stage Turbine Blade. In the beginning Claudio giggles, and whispers, “Shabutie", which is one of the bands early names. The song seems panicked at times, which is probably because of the constantly running guitar riffs accompanied by persistent drumming. This song is also a fine example that this is actually a fairly depressing album. Coheed and Cambria discover their true identities, and Coheed ends up killing his whole family, with only Claudio surviving. This is mainly what the early part of the story is about. “Time Consumer" could easily have been a single too. It’s over five-minutes long, but the first minute is only the drums providing a subtle beat with some laid-back guitar licks. Then every instrument comes in blazing with smooth, high-pitched vocals from Claudio. It’s a fairly simple song, and the chorus is wonderful. Around a minute to the end the song goes back to the style of the beginning before building up to a huge chorus of, “Me, and my star, Mathew good night. You know by law when you’ll be forgiven. Maria my star, Mathew good night. You know my lord when you’ll be forgiven."

Some may say singer Claudio’s voice is unattractive, but he shows complete control over his voice, and injects catchy singing through each, and every track, particularly the b-side, “Elf Tower New Mexico", and “Everything Evil". I’m not sure why “Elf Tower New Mexico" was cut from the initial release of The Second Stage Turbine Blade, in fact I think it was rather crazy to do so; it’s probably the best song on the whole album. Each instrument is doing its own little thing for the first twenty-five seconds while Claudio croons “Elf power New Mexico" a couple times. Then the instruments turn to the normal style of the album with power-chords taking over. Musically this isn’t too impressive, but the lyrics, and Claudio’s singing are absolutely epic. “Stay here in our last standing hourglass, circumstance. Devoted here in the midst of weary eyes. Lost, and buried here in your big suprise, again. Will your fingers find my bag familiar?I fit in the question I had to ask.. Did you think maybe I was doing quite well without you in the frame? Killed in defense. I can't believe I told you right after, I've given you up, go on find someone new. Till then pretend you've touched me for your last. I've given you up, go on find someone new.

“Everything Evil" has some awesome lyrics to it that must be shared with everyone. “I will stage a reenactment. In a false pretense exists inflict. Unworthy unconsciousness, why debate when the actions suppressed? Then kill the acquitted. Listen to the sounds that remain in question. In hopes they don’t solidify a truce amongst the children, and the jury that stands the verdict alive here among the dead." This is all one chunk of several verses that rule most of the first half of the almost six-minute song. The longwinded chorus then makes an appearance as the final part of the song. “Would you run? Would you run? Would you run? Would you run down past the fence? Would you run? Would you run? Would you run? Would you run down past the fence? And she screamed, Claudio, dear Claudio, I wish god damn it we’ll make it if you believe."

I love Coheed & Cambria, and I will continue to do so for the rest of my life. This never gets old; I listen to it completely at least once a week. The Second Stage Turbine Blade is the epitome of the fondness I have for the band. The technicality isn’t one to be impressed by, and is relatively simple at some points, but the whole band truly works as a complete unit. I passionately, ardently, and fervently worship this band, and record.



Recent reviews by this author
Z-Ro CocaineEmery The Weak's End
Papa Roach Old Friends from Young YearsLinkin Park Living Things
Krizz Kaliko Kickin' and Screamin'Madina Lake From Them, Through Us, To You
user ratings (1932)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
March 30th 2006


12870 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Meh, a lackluster effort I must say, but it's the best I can do at the moment.

Pyramidman
March 30th 2006


1340 Comments


i liked it

but then again, you couldve just typed hooray for coheed and cambria a thousand times, and it would have been excellent



Storm In A Teacup
March 30th 2006


12870 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[quote=Spat]Why would you post it if it lacked the requisite lustre? You're right though, you seem to have been a bit fanboyish in your language but I guess that happens with favourite bands.[/quote]I lack motivation, and time. I also just wanted to get this review I've been working on out of the way.

The Jungler
March 30th 2006


4827 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Theres nothing wrong with that especially when the review isn't bad.
From what I've heard this is my favorite Coheed record.

Concubine
March 30th 2006


333 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Its their best...

Cravinov13
March 30th 2006


3854 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is my least favorite Coheed CD. I just don't liek it's poppy, happier sound over their more darker newer albums. IKSOSE3 is still my favorite.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2006


16089 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The review is meh. I thought I was reading somebodys xanga review for a moment.

And I used to love this album, but lately, its lost its magic for me. It still has some classic tracks (Everything Evil, Delerium Trigger, Junesong Provision, Neverender), but then it has songs I just get annoyed listening to (Time Consumer, Hearshot Kid Disaster, 33, Godsend Conspirator). I was planning on reviewing this as well, I guess we'll have to see about that.

ActAppalled
March 31st 2006


22 Comments


time consumer is easily one of coheed's best songs. i have "in keeping secrets of silent earth: 3," but i have not heard much of their latest album (and have no interest in doing so). this album is by far their best work. it's way less cheesy than their other work. the production is shoddy, but i'm ok with that. everything seems more passionate to me, from the instruments to the vocals to the overall mood of each song.

Concubine
March 31st 2006


333 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

[QUOTE=ActAppalled] time consumer is easily one of coheed's best songs[/QUOTE]

123

Killtacular
March 31st 2006


1314 Comments


This album is decent. Certainly better than Good Apollo (sans Welcome Home).

deadinholywood
March 31st 2006


240 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I regret not buying this album sooner, its really catchy and i hear something new everytime i listen to it. Dont completely get the storyline to the albums yet but it will only be a matter of time. I'd rate it a 4.5/5 with standout tracks being Devil in Jersey City and Neverender.This Message Edited On 03.31.06

Storm In A Teacup
March 31st 2006


12870 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I've got no clue about the storyline. :-/

Fourtonmantis
March 31st 2006


5 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I never really got the storyline either, or even cared about understanding it that much. It's odd, but I'm totally able to enjoy the album without having a great understanding of what on earth Claudio is singing about -- just that it's an epic and urgent tale.

Anyways, this album gets my five stars. Loved it from the first time I heard it all the way through. I didn't like their second album nearly as much, and I never even bothered to listen to their third album, but in my opinion this is an amazing album. And there isn't really a single song I tend to skip often.

Storm In A Teacup
April 1st 2006


12870 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

...this is...uh...tagged as the main review...what a surprise

ninjaXcore
May 10th 2006


23 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The scream at the beginning of "Hearshot Kid Disaster" is CRAZY. Whenever I hear it I wanna SCRATCH. =)

benny and the jets
May 13th 2006


5 Comments


coheed and cambria is one of the best bands

Storm In A Teacup
May 13th 2006


12870 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Indeed.

I'm working on a tribute guitar solo to them that incorporates some of their finer guitar riffs and leads.This Message Edited On 05.13.06

Riziger
May 26th 2006


316 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just got the album.... Classic.

The scream from Hearshot Kid Disaster is one of the highlights of the album. It's just excellent haha.

Before this when I heard Everything Evil I didn't like it that much but for some reason when i heard it with this album, the song keeps playing in my head.

Haha alll 3 of the albums i have are really good, not sure which i like the best. I think IKSOSE3 is my favourite. Although this album is much heavier, IKSOSE sounds more trademark Coheed for some reason... Apollo is also excellent, maybe cause it was the first album i got.

Storm In A Teacup
June 15th 2006


12870 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[quote=]The scream from Hearshot Kid Disaster is one of the highlights of the album. It's just excellent haha.[/quote]I completely agree, although I also can understand why it would turn off a lot of people.

Siberian Khatru
June 16th 2006


55 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Aside from Heartshot Kid Disaster I didn’t really enjoy most of the screaming on this album, although it is one of my favorite CDs. I’m sort of disappointed that they didn’t find any room for screaming on Good Apollo. I think with some work it would have added a lot of depth to their music. I hope they bring it back for volume II.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy