Elvis Depressedly
Holo Pleasures


4.0
excellent

Review

by Brendan USER (3 Reviews)
September 28th, 2013 | 55 replies | 4,048 views


Release Date: 04/16/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: If there's a cool spot in hell, I hope you get it.

6 of 6 thought this review was well written

Remember when you got sick back in middle school? You stayed in bed all day, wrapped in warm, encompassing blankets while your mom made you some warm soup to sooth your throat, and maybe even threw in a homemade cookie on the side. I’m not really trying to get nostalgic with these thoughts, but there’s something about this album that brings to memory the sense of comfort.

elvis depressedly, a lo-fi indie pop group from South Carolina, first release as a full band (as opposed to a single songwriter/performer) has come in the form of a short, but solid album. Wrapped in a layer of fuzz, the 6 songs flow together; bringing a certain aesthetic to the music that seems to be common amongst members of the Birdtapes label (see Julia Brown and Teen Suicide). Each of the song’s melodies is instantaneously catchy and easy to immerse yourself into the pleasant atmosphere of the album.

The singer’s soft spoken voice, similar to that of Elliot Smith, gently guide the melodies while sitting in the hazy atmosphere that the album is composed in. The guitars are also fuzzy and atmosphere, the drums are faded in the back, sometimes barely audible, but still contribute to the aesthetic of the project nonetheless. Added instrumentation, such as the strings on a few of the tracks, are either the cleanest thing you hear on the album, or soaked in weird effects, such as on the closing track “thinning out”.

The lyrics on the album are truly what allow this project to be set out from other releases in this style. The album leads off with “okay”, whose melody seems to be cheery and light; that is until you read into the lyrics. The second line of the song reads, “I’ve become a catacomb of secrets, ***ed up inside”. And the lyrical theme doesn’t seem to lighten up over the course of the tracks on here; it pulls the “happy sound/depressing thoughts” scheme throughout the album. However this isn’t a bad thing however, in fact it allows the listener to further find comfort in shared pain and experiences.

One of the major drawbacks for the album is that it is a very short release, with the longest track on the album clocking in at a mere two and a half minutes. Also, sometimes the attempted experimentation can be less than satisfactory at times, such as the weird vibrato effect on the track “Teeth”. While some may enjoy it, it personally didn’t sit well with me. Overall this release is a worthwhile listen, with a set of memorable and catchy as hell lo-fi pop songs. It may not necessarily be the happiest release of the year, or the longest to say the least, but it will drape that blanket over your shoulder while you’re sipping on homemade soup.


user ratings (69)
Chart.
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
dimsim3478
September 28th 2013



4885 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This guy is also Coma Cinema.

Digging: Microwave - Stovall

Spare
September 28th 2013



5271 Comments


good bandz good revu

bakkermaarten007
September 28th 2013



3409 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"If there's a cool spot in hell, I hope you get it."
My favourite line as well. =)
"One of the major drawbacks for the album is that it is a very short release"
Exactly why I gave it only a three. Before I totally get into the feeling of the album, it's already finished... I wouldn't mind for such type of songs to reach almost ten minutes.

Good review, pos =)


Cygnatti
September 28th 2013



21350 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

sweet album.

Pheromone
September 29th 2013



3466 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

You inspired me to listen to this, I say inspired I'm not even sure the album clocks in more then 15 minutes so It's basically just to pass time, Good review anyway.

Digging: Sneaker Pimps - Becoming X

Nikkolae
September 29th 2013



4837 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is just so nice, didnt thought i would like it this much, thank you, review is nice too

Digging: Pallbearer - Foundations of Burden

daftpostpunk
September 30th 2013



18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad to hear a lot of you are enjoying the album!

YakNips
September 30th 2013



9545 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

WOAH HOLY FUCK SOMEONE REVIEWED THIS :D

Yeah this is fuckin perfect

Digging: The Brave Little Abacus - Just Got Back from the Discomfort

YakNips
September 30th 2013



9545 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Okay yeah you reviewed this and you have LYSF 5d. You're my new best friend.

Cygnatti
November 22nd 2013



21350 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Still one of the best this year.

EaglesBecomeVultures
November 22nd 2013



5223 Comments


this album is pretty decent, band has a lot of potential.

YakNips
November 22nd 2013



9545 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I love this oh so much

Pheromone
November 22nd 2013



3466 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I do like this band to a degree, I should probably give this a listen, any recommended tracks?

YakNips
November 22nd 2013



9545 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

All 6

daftpostpunk
December 1st 2013



18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

still one of my favorite things to come out this year

skeames1214
January 8th 2014



2713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't think it's possible to listening to this sitting up

YakNips
January 8th 2014



9545 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

lol

skeames1214
January 8th 2014



2713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wanna find you
a way out of my head
the world is ending inside you
let it love you to death

YakNips
January 8th 2014



9545 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

ooowoooooooooo

owoooooooooooo

skeames1214
January 8th 2014



2713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

sad-pop is such an underrated genre



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy