Opeth
Damnation


5.0
classic

Review

by Geo USER (1 Reviews)
September 21st, 2013 | 18 replies | 1,128 views


Release Date: 2003 | Tracklist


3 of 5 thought this review was well written

To start this review I must make clear that they were unknown to me up until recently. “Damnation” takes me back donkeys ages to a time when progressive rock practically ruled the world. This album seems heavily influenced by Pink Floyd, for example during the softer, spacy sections as well as the wailing guitar solos. From the first moment I heard the album it struck a chord, thanks to the influence of quality progressive bands of the past and the crystal clear production.

It has a lot of replay value, for example I can play it endlessly and in any setting. It has to be one of the most soothing rock albums I’ve heard, from the precise drumming, to the rich vocals, to the calming guitar work. One thing that won me over was the Pink Floyd vibe, as a massive Pink Floyd fan I can’t help but be taken back to the golden days of progressive rock. Even with outside influence they do sound unique, thanks to their approach and attitude. According to Mikael Akerfeldt they will not make music for the masses, which is passed on in their music. The song structures are complex but not disjointed, and the production quality binds it all together.

The album is beyond reproach. Just like Pink Floyd their music will stand the test of time. The band’s refusal to give into outside expectations gives the music character and endurance. Opeth is the best thing I have heard in the progressive genre in recent times.


user ratings (2977)
Chart.
4.2
excellent
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
HedgeTrimmer
September 21st 2013



14 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This being my first review, please excuse the short length.

But I believe this album deserves it. Brilliant.

Artuma
September 21st 2013



10802 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the review isn't really telling anything about the sound of the album and the short length is the problem here tbh. album rules tho

Digging: Mihai Edrisch - L?un Sans L?Autre

warlordfun
September 21st 2013



383 Comments


ah, another review for this overrated band.. :S

Digging: Lords Of The Crimson Alliance - Lords Of The Crimson Alliance

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2013



20018 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Album's ok.

Vakarian12
September 21st 2013



3640 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wow

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2013



9130 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Solid first review, but this isn't the only great modern prog album dude. You just have to look in the right places

Parallels
September 21st 2013



6640 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

entire review compares Damnation to Pink Floyd lol

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2013



9130 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's what I'm saying like pink Floyd isn't the only amazing prog band haha

jtswope
September 21st 2013



1868 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album but this really isn't a review.

MoosechriS
September 21st 2013



4803 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

love this album to unwind too, this and ulver's - shadows of the sun are two of the records i listen to when i'm wanting some music to drift off too.

PortalofPerfection
September 21st 2013



333 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I do enjoy this is in spurts but listening to this whole thing just bores me to tears. I'll take Heritage over this in most situation. I know, blasphemy, wutevs.

Also, the soft sections of Ghost Reveries blow this away.

Digging: Opeth - Pale Communion

Solaire
September 21st 2013



883 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not a 5, but an excellent album.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 21st 2013



20018 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I actually agree with everything Portal said.

Heritage >>

Solaire
September 22nd 2013



883 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah Ghost Reveries has solid soft passages.

Heritage I can sit through with more interest.

zaruyache
September 23rd 2013



5903 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Are the songs really that complex? I haven't listened to this in ages but I remember it being fairly straightforward melo rock, not really "progressive" stuff.

Digging: Sunwolf - Beholden To Nothing And No One

ButteryBiscuitBass
September 23rd 2013



9765 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Neggy Smalls.

Nowhere near a 5.

demigod!
September 23rd 2013



43891 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

albums chill, i prefer it to heritage but maybe cuz nostalgia.

Digging: Black Flag - My War

HedgeTrimmer
September 28th 2013



14 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

thanks for all your comments all have taken on board and i appreciate your input



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy