CHVRCHES
The Bones of What You Believe


4.0
excellent

Review

by Patrick Lyndsey USER (5 Reviews)
September 20th, 2013 | 20 replies


Release Date: 09/23/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Take off a point if yov don’t like synthpop; take off three points if yov have no sovl

Sometimes you remember you love music. Amongst the refuses of lowbrow entertainment and guiltless displeasures shines beautiful sounds and songs that are just genuinely worth listening for. Sometimes these things are more esoteric and dark than others, and other times they’re just fun as hell and immediately captivating, completely enjoyable experiences from start to finish.

Chvrches is a Glaswegian three-piece band that likely captured the hearts of those listening with their Recover EP, which would sonically and quite literally be extended into their debut album, The Bones of What You Believe. So many right notes are hit here, so many well-crafted songs become entirely fun, so many sappy and bright lyrics and spun throughout; it’s a completely enjoyable experience from start to finish.

Singles ‘Gun’ and ‘The Mother We Share’, along with ‘Recover’ which previously had it’s own EP and has been redone to fit in better, all showcase a brighter and more poppy side of Chvrches, with bouncy but never speedy paces, Lauren Mayberry’s angelically sweet lyricism and vocals, nostalgically dated synth-effects and heavily packed instrumentation. Nothing on this album even approaches minimalist or underdeveloped, for better or worse. At times it borders on overproduced, which is quite at odds with the trend of many pop album these days, in which compositions involve thumbing basses and hard, artificial drum tracks and very little else. Which isn’t to say it doesn’t have these things, it just also includes mild guitar work, fun, multilayered synths and a variety of arrangements that never feel sparse or lazy.

Even the comparatively more brooding tracks, such as ‘Science/Visions’ and ‘Tether’, the latter of which feels some serious 80s rock influences, still feel fresh and energetic. The two tracks that feature primarily male vocals, ‘You Caught the Light’ and ‘Under the Tide’ respectively, carry themselves well and continue in a slightly darker tone, but even then songs never feel drained or burdened. Slower paced tracks relax and comfort as opposed to anything else, and the brighter and more energetic tracks excite you as you listen. Cheesy as some songs get, it never feels tacky or forced, and that’s a blessing because Chvrches occasionally straddles too close to that line.

Really, there isn’t a better adjective to describe this album than ‘fun’. It’s light, it’s fluffy, it’s not high art but you won’t go mad listening to it, and if it’s the sort of thing you’re in the mood for you won’t be disappointed. With luck, Chvrches will continue to output music of this quality, and hopefully refine their sound to an even more distinct and vibrant place.


user ratings (483)
Chart.
3.8
excellent
other reviews of this album
bmon13 (3.5)
A highly enjoyable album, that only suffers from its various musical inconsistencies....

putnam39 (4)
Faced with burgeoning expectation in the perpetually fickle indie music world, Chvrches appear prime...

garth (4)
Surprisingly engaging synth-pop...

Eli EMERITUS (3.8)
"The Bones of What You Believe" is just too damn cute....


Comments:Add a Comment 
Synthpop
September 20th 2013


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I did this review on a dare basically. Chvrches wanted people to replace 'u' with 'v' so this happened.
Sorry if it's hard to read as svch.

Also I feel like this is really short so I'd like some feedback on what to improve becavse I imagine I'll edit it a good bit.

JS19
September 20th 2013


4331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Not funny

Digging: Gates - Bloom and Breathe

Synthpop
September 20th 2013


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sorry. Is the review okay otherwise?

JS19
September 20th 2013


4331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Well seeing as you completely butchered any flow or reading-ease, I have no idea

Funeralopolis
September 20th 2013


11567 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well seeing as you completely butchered any flow or reading-ease, I have no idea [2]

The whole 'v' thing is not only not really funny but makes the review difficult to look at, nobody is going to read it.

Digging: Black Milk - If There's a Hell Below

treeqt.
September 20th 2013


9704 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

how does that make it any harder to read. your brain doesn't read letter by letter.

JS19
September 20th 2013


4331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It just disrupts the writing. Like if every word had a spelling mistake it would ruin a review

RHCP1999
September 20th 2013


53 Comments


Its like repeating the same joke forty times over, just annoying in the end

DropdeadWHA
September 20th 2013


654 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, should of dropped the 'v' thing.

StallionMang
September 20th 2013


5831 Comments


Neg'd until you put the 'u's back.

Digging: LCD Soundsystem - This Is Happening

zxlkho
September 20th 2013


3465 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

neg'd as fuck

Synthpop
September 20th 2013


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

aight, i listened. i really didn't think this would be any sort of issue, but i guess if that many people were frustrated by it i kind of had to. i hope you'll reconsider how bad this review is! it's still not excellent and i'd like advice on improving the actual content of it, but for now, the v thing is gone.

Synthpop
September 20th 2013


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks! ugh, i feel really bummed about this now, haha.

StallionMang
September 20th 2013


5831 Comments


Yeah, pos'd now, cause it really is a good review.

JS19
September 20th 2013


4331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah it's a nice review now, will pos

Synthpop
September 20th 2013


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks y'all.

Funeralopolis
September 20th 2013


11567 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

pos, need to get this album

Synthpop
September 20th 2013


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah it's definitely worth it. super infectious and sugary music.

brandontaylor
September 25th 2013


81 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the singles are definitely the best tracks on here, but wow the synths at the end of 'tether' are so great they get me every time

Synthpop
September 26th 2013


56 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd definitely agree to that. The singles are just perfect encapsulations of everything good about this band.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy