Depth Connection
Different Waves


3.5
great

Review

by TMobotron CONTRIBUTOR (23 Reviews)
September 13th, 2013 | 27 replies | 2,455 views


Release Date: 07/02/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Too joyous to miss.

Different Waves is a purely joyous affair. Everything here is filled to the brim with such gleeful electronics and energetic instrumentation that it can be hard to find much fault in any of it. And yet it's easy for albums of a charming nature to ride entirely on that charm, failing to leave enough of a mark to be remembered. It's a trap I initially suspected Depth Connection would fall into on his debut EP, as the short opener and initial half of “Flower of Life” – while both being entertaining enough to get by – dabble in some of the more common stylings found in dance music. Fortunately, in “Flower of Life”'s latter half, Different Waves lifts off into the clouds and never comes down.

What separates these two aspects of the EP is Depth Connection seemingly finding his own identity, because the house beat on “Flower of Life” is well-produced and functional, but it's not even remotely as memorable as the airy and infectious melodies that soar over its final minute. And still this elevation of quality doesn't compare to the highlights of the EP found in the middle tracks, where “Droplets” meshes playful synth scatterings with organic guitar instrumentation in a way that calls to mind the peacefulness of Phaeleh in his finest hour. But instead of taking the easy route and riding the track out in that manner – which would've produced a fine track on its own – Depth Connection opts to use the driving force of the previously used dance-floor electronics to boost the guitar-work into a brisker pace and step into a style of post-rock that's entirely his own. Throughout “Droplets” and “Tunnel Vision”, the EP hits on such a natural blend of the infectious nature of dance music and the climactic journeys of post-rock that it reveals fault in a few parts of the EP that simply don't strive to accomplish the same task.

Depth Connection may have found a sweet spot, but he also makes it clear that he has more than one trick up his sleeve, as the remix of Lights' “Siberia” is able to capture the energy and ecstasy of the EP's peak moments in a completely different nature. Lights' fittingly smooth vocals are fueled with an extra injection of adrenaline and surrounded with the best synth-work on the EP, allowing Depth Connection to steal the show, using Lights as a natural accompaniment rather than relying on her as the focal point. It's no surprise that there's room for growth in a few places here; it's to be expected from a debut release. But the real surprise is how comfortable and unique Depth Connection already sounds on most of this. Even in the least impressive moments on the EP he's nailing a sound that other producers will try to use for their entire career. But at the EP's most impressive moments, the energy is overpowering, evoking dance as a reflex rather than an option.



Recent reviews by this author
Depth Connection Fever DreamsFatima Al Qadiri Asiatisch
Strict Face Fountains/Highbury SkylineA/T/O/S A/T/O/S
Lucy Churches Schools and GunsShackleton Freezing Opening Thawing
user ratings (17)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2013



7019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's free, it's by sputnik user twlichty, and it's impossible not to enjoy:

depthconnection.bandcamp.com

Mad.
September 13th 2013



3568 Comments


Great review, pos'd.

Droplets is a brilliant song, this needs some Sput-love

Digging: Dwellers - Pagan Fruit

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2013



7019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Droplets is incredible yeah

Rev
September 13th 2013



9375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review man

EP has great energy throughout, but is bogged down by some clunky production and execution

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
September 14th 2013



6321 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nice one!

Digging: Sully - Blue

Mad.
September 14th 2013



3568 Comments


Clunky production? I thought the production was one of its strengths

twlichty
September 15th 2013



3407 Comments


WOW! awesome to see a review for this! Thanks so much for the words man

twlichty
September 15th 2013



3407 Comments


Bump

Scoot
September 15th 2013



17677 Comments


be happy that yours at least got a review

Digging: Unjust - Glow

twlichty
September 15th 2013



3407 Comments


no one's reviewed yours yet scoot?

Rev
September 15th 2013



9375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this needs more comments!!!

twlichty
September 15th 2013



3407 Comments


yes it does, because the review is really well written.

i'd also like to get so more feedback on what to improve upon, this review brings up some great points and Rev has pointed out some solid points too which is really constructive as a producer

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
September 15th 2013



7019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

WOW! awesome to see a review for this! Thanks so much for the words man


No prob man, I thoroughly enjoy this so no need for thanks.

Scoot somehow it totally slipped by me that you made music, I just DLed electronic cigarette I'll check it out soon.

twlichty
September 15th 2013



3407 Comments


electronic cigarette is really strong, i love the added bass parts

DissolvingAtom
September 15th 2013



69 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

great to see some more love for this sput project. I wish you would have mentioned Golden Clouds though as it has some of the nicest post-rock guitar sections towards the middle of the track, after a kind of rough intro with all the dubstep stuff going on

Rev
September 15th 2013



9375 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i'd also like to get so more feedback on what to improve upon, this review brings up some great points and Rev has pointed out some solid points too which is really constructive as a producer

I'll totally send you a really descriptive message on facebook with feedback, but don't get me wrong, this has fantastic production for a debut! there's just a few little things that you could keep in mind in the future that could make it even better

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
September 15th 2013



7019 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I wish you would have mentioned Golden Clouds though as it has some of the nicest post-rock guitar sections towards the middle of the track"

Yeah I almost mentioned it but I was trying to keep this pretty brief since it's for an EP that's free, I figured it would be better to keep it short and let people check the link out on their own.

twlichty
September 15th 2013



3407 Comments


yeah Rev i'd love that, i also wanted to ask you about what your live set up for bansheebeat consists of so hit me up!

PunchforPunch
September 16th 2013



5862 Comments


sounds gr8 will add this to my dl list

Digging: Horna / Behexen - Split

Mad.
September 16th 2013



3568 Comments


Hey Twlitchty, when are you gonna give that ol' guitar some more love?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy