Fit for an Autopsy
Hellbound


3.5
great

Review

by Joshua Hunt USER (21 Reviews)
September 10th, 2013 | 123 replies | 8,783 views


Release Date: 09/10/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: ...

4 of 4 thought this review was well written

In the past, nothing about Fit for an Autopsy could catch my attention. I found the music generic and uninteresting and I just could not get past the feeling that they recycled the same ideas over and over again. However, this album changed my opinion on this band and is indeed a stellar release. Not only has the sound of the band matured but they have also brought a consistent feel to the album that does not grow tiresome or boring.

The musicianship throughout the album is excellent. The guitar work is not overbearingly flashy but does sparingly display advanced technical ability. The open chug sections are more staccato and precise and the tremolo death metal riffing brings an unbridled sense of energy. At times the guitar work has a djent while the leads bring an airy sense of doom and disdain that compliments the lyrical themes of the album. The drumming is top notch, very interesting and full of unique approaches to transitions as well as great use of dynamic building. Blast beats are used throughout the album, but they are used tastefully and in various patterns. The bass lines come out throughout the album in various places but are primarily used to add to the sound rather than a new musical element. Nate Johnson’s vocal deliverer on this album is top notch. His phrasing, lyrical content, and monstrous sound really put the icing on the cake so as to speak.

All in all, the songwriting on this album is much better than previous efforts. It is clear that the band consciously structured the songs rather than haphazardly melding various non adjacent segments together as so many bands seem to do. Specific moments are emphasized without detracting from the rest of the tracks in a way that sounds musically proficient and compositionally sound; “Children of the Corn Syrup,” and “Still We Destroy,” are clear examples of this.

Fit for an Autopsy manages to create a death metal album that has a very “real” quality to it. There are no lyrics about hacking up women or doing violent offensive things. Instead you will find allegories pertaining to mankind and political schemes. Even the guest spots are notably both lyrical and vocally bolster the music to a greater good (Vincent Bennett of The Acacia Strain on Children of the Corn Syrup is a standout).

With pummeling slams and lyrics that you can’t help but chant Fit for an Autopsy has released a truly great album. It might not be for everyone, and it might not change everyone’s opinions on them, but those that sit down and listen to this album with an open mind will find it a rewarding and enjoyable listen.



Recent reviews by this author
Mikaela Davis Fortune TellerCrass Stations of the Crass
Mount Eerie White StagClint Mansell, Kronos Quartet & Mogwai The Fountain
The Apples in Stereo Fun Trick NoisemakerRavi Shankar The Sounds Of India
user ratings (66)
Chart.
3.6
great

Comments:Add a Comment 
joshuahuntkc
September 10th 2013



1579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I didn't put much time into this and I'm not sure if the rating will stick because I've only had a chance to listen to it a couple of times but I'm giving it the benefit of the doubt because I feel like it's going to continue to grow on me. It could be more like a 3 depending on how you look at it, there isn't much of anything new brought to the genre, but a lot of improvements, especially in the songwriting department.

Picked up the album Sunday night at a show. They put on a great live set, very high energy and very enjoyable "fun" vibe. Nate Johnson said some of the silliest shit I've ever heard from a front man and had total control over the stage and the crowd. I recommend checking them out live even if they aren't exactly you cup of tea because they are great.

LivingThrowaway
September 10th 2013



44 Comments


Looked at the Recommended by Reviewer section and decided I will not look into this.

Review is alright, not really pos or neg-worthy. It also reads like more of a 4 than a 3.5; you don't really point out any flaws the album has, but the review is a decent effort.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
September 10th 2013



6987 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

where's your stream dude?

PunchforPunch
September 10th 2013



6171 Comments


damn that's a great artwork

FrozenVain
September 10th 2013



2394 Comments


Weird summary. Good review though, pos'd. TPoHE was decent if I remember correctly so I will probably jam this.

joshuahuntkc
September 10th 2013



1579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I gave it a 3.5 instead of a 4 because I don't feel like they brought enough of anything new to the table to make it 4 worthy.

I don't have a stream, it's out already.

Thanks for the pos'd!

Eulogize
September 10th 2013



2968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I gave The Process of Human Extermination a 5 so I need to check this out, doubt it will be just as good but oh well

joshuahuntkc
September 10th 2013



1579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Personally I think it's leaps and bounds better than the debut. The feel and themes they bring to the table didn't change at all it's just better structured and much better musicianship.

DeadGuy
September 10th 2013



376 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sounds like The Red Chord if I'm remembering what they sound like correctly. It's been a few years

Digging: Sodom - Tapping the Vein

joshuahuntkc
September 10th 2013



1579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yes, that would be a relatively accurate comparison.

wacknizzle
September 10th 2013



12879 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is pretty much deathcore's last hurrah, genre is pretty damn dead and nearly every remaining band is stale and boring as fuck

Digging: Plebeian Grandstand - Lowgazers

FearThyEvil
September 10th 2013



12467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Won't even bother

BigPleb
September 10th 2013



35453 Comments


Will suck.

wacknizzle
September 10th 2013



12879 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I wouldn't really recommend it, but it's actually not too bad for what it is

FearThyEvil
September 10th 2013



12467 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Only decent deathcore this year for me was Bleed from Within

wacknizzle
September 10th 2013



12879 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like this more than that, couldn't get into the Bleed From Within album. This is surprisingly solid throughout as well

joshuahuntkc
September 10th 2013



1579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Stop labeling this as deathcore. It's more death metal than deathcore. There really aren't even breakdowns on this and the few that do show up are more like hardcore kid chant sections that anything.

Hockeytown
September 11th 2013



101 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

had never heard of these guys before and assumed they were more shitty generic deathcore, but i like this. it is more death metal than deathcore i think

KSK1
September 11th 2013



4077 Comments


Bet this is awful

joshuahuntkc
September 12th 2013



1579 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

well it isn't



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy