Native
Orthodox


4.5
superb

Review

by Adam Thomas STAFF
September 2nd, 2013 | 48 replies | 8,860 views


Release Date: 08/20/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A glimpse into the future

If you ever want to visit ground zero for forward thinking, militantly DIY punk music it's not in California's crust havens like Aladdin Jr's, in Austin's go-to SXSW hardcore hangout 1808, in Chicago's sweltering basements, nor in converging festivals such as Virginia's I Got Brains or Michigan's Bled Fest. The heart and soul of American DIY lies across the highway from the austere brick and steam stacks of the Budweisser plant in Saint Louis, MO at the LEMP Arts Center. Near extremist in their dedication and preservation of the DIY ethos, LEMP has been an unknown but hardly forgotten pillar of the tour routings of both tour greenhorns and the underground professional alike. Scrawled across its walls are the fading stickers of an entire generation of skram upstarts and post-hardcore revivalists, but if you ever get into a conversation with the owner there is one name that is mentioned more frequently in praise than the others. That name is Native. In their early post-high school career Native not only rekindled the teetering histrionics and razor sharp precision of musical gods Fugazi, they pushed that brand of hardcore influenced noise rock in new, more challenging directions with a shot of carefully aimed technicality. If you think about it, it's no wonder their debut LP Wrestling Moves created more buzz than a nest of angry hornets, but where many bands fade out due to the pressure and expectations that come with a lauded Sophomore release, with Orthodox Native have not only delivered, they have proven that they thrive under that constant pressure.

Orthodox is anything but. It bounces of the wall in a violent clash of beauty and noise. It is a stunning collection of intricately pieced together juxtapositions of simple ideas used in complicated ways. The shimmering directness of the clean guitar melds with the ever present cacophony of the hard pounding rhythm section, bluring together in a direct sonic assault on the senses. Anchoring all of it is vocalist and bassist Bobby Markos. His singing occupies the middle space between yelling and screaming and is a constant cadence that single-handedly unifies the surrounding chaos into so much more. This nimble yet powerful display of compositional brilliance never fades. Native are constantly throwing new ideas and out just as fast as the brain can process exactly what is going on making the whole of Orthodox an unrelenting experience that as soon as it fades out begs for you to press the play button again and again and again.



Recent reviews by this author
YOB Clearing The Path To AscendUnited Nations The Next Four Years
Matter TeraphimThe Hotelier Home, Like NoPlace Is There
Owls TwoTaking Back Sunday Happiness Is
user ratings (45)
Chart.
3.9
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
ShitsofRain
September 2nd 2013


5892 Comments


gotta check

Digging: Anthony Shakir - Frictionalism 1994-2009

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 2nd 2013


50333 Comments


You have more reviews since becoming emeritus than some of the current staff have as staff in that time damn

Digging: The Brave Little Abacus - Masked Dancers

Athom
Staff Reviewer
September 2nd 2013


17212 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm beginning to think I should ask for my Job back. I mean if it worked for Chan and Sobhi...

Digging: Inigo Kennedy - Vaudeville

Ire
September 2nd 2013


41762 Comments


sup staffy

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 2nd 2013


50333 Comments


You're like Deltron

He was always coming back

Athom
Staff Reviewer
September 2nd 2013


17212 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

except I had a better teaser EP.

adarkishman
September 2nd 2013


533 Comments


emertius

EaglesBecomeVultures
September 2nd 2013


5233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yesss whatup athom!

XingKing
September 2nd 2013


10561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet album with a not so sweet review. Such is life

SeaAnemone
September 2nd 2013


20284 Comments


need to revisit this -- it was surprisingly good on first listen cuz I remember their other LP being generic

NightmareCinema16
September 2nd 2013


2016 Comments


I sense someone's about to pull an Iluvatar.

EDIT: goddamn autocorrect.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
September 2nd 2013


17212 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nah, I don't put any effort into these. I just did the last two reviews because they didnt have anything written for them and figured something was better than nothing, especially with that Calculator review since they're local and friendly fellas. I don't think I should be on staff when I basically half ass these in 5 or 10 minutes. If I actually felt like trying again, then maybe. Plus no one on this site likes raw black metal, power violence, DSBM, and hardcore that isn't melodic B9 board crap which is all I really listen to these days. I'm so burnt out on post-hardcore/Skram for the most part.

wacknizzle
September 2nd 2013


13178 Comments


Sweet, I forgot this band had something coming out soon. Luckily it's on spotify so I'm listening to it right now. 3 songs in and so far it's freaking awesome, alot more solid than Wrestling Moves.

Digging: Ritual Mess - Vile Art

EaglesBecomeVultures
September 2nd 2013


5233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

album is dope

XingKing
September 2nd 2013


10561 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Everything they've done is killer

Hep Kat
September 2nd 2013


15351 Comments


not so fast

Gyromania
September 2nd 2013


15681 Comments


http://native.bandcamp.com/album/orthodox

Rev
September 3rd 2013


9422 Comments


these guys played what I think was the whole album when I saw them a few weeks back. it was cool

EaglesBecomeVultures
September 3rd 2013


5233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hep you jam this yet? big improvement

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
September 3rd 2013


1664 Comments


First sentence needs a comma after "punk music" I think. I had to read it a couple times to figure out what you meant. I understand you aren't putting a ton of effort into these reviews, but basic grammar still should apply. I'm sure you just missed a spot though. :p



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy