I Am Legion
I Am Legion


2.5
average

Review

by Will Robinson STAFF
August 31st, 2013 | 47 replies | 4,553 views


Release Date: 09/02/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A major missed opportunity.

Noisia's reputation for collaborations is spotty at best. Sure, they had a boatload of fantastic ones with the release of killer album Split the Atom (Amon Tobin, Joe Seven, Giovanca), but let's not forget they've also produced some questionable tunes with other artists (*cough* KoRn *cough*). So, no matter their so-far-excellent record with UK grime/hip-hop group Foreign Beggars (who also appeared on Split the Atom), the merger of the two groups for OWSLA's I Am Legion project was nevertheless met with trepidation across certain corners of the Internet. However, the album's lead single, "Make Those Move," helped quiet fears of impending mediocrity a bit. And why not? The song is terrific. Everything that could have gone right with Noisia's foray into grimy, balls-to-the-wall hip-hop went right, and its kick-ass verses and demolition derby of a bassline ensured the song was near-perfect.

It's a crying shame, then, that the project's debut full-length is middling. The thing is a rather watered-down affair, with Noisia's talents wasted on generic beats ranging from plodding, wishy-washy half-time to trap-for-dummies 808s and hi-hat taps. I hate to make the comparison to Split the Atom, as these two releases are very different beasts, but at least the latter actually showed some goddamn spirit. Whereas that was Noisia alternating between dancefloor-smushing neuro wobbles and inventive broken-beat interludes, I Am Legion sees the trio creating some seriously half-hearted stabs at the dancefloor and far too many interludes which by and large go the way of the "full" tracks. Foreign Beggars' rap skills don't exactly help the affair, either. Orifice Vulgatron and Metropolis, the two MCs of the group, deliver a thoroughly uninspired performance throughout, despite occasionally clever lyrics and decent flow. The two rappers simply sound mundane, and their normally effective arena-pumping antics fall flat here.

There are some excellent tracks on the LP. Along with the aforementioned "Make Those Move," "Dust Descends" is a classic case of Noisia in their element, and the pounding breakbeats of the neurofunk they're so good at shine through as some of the best on the album. There are also some thoroughly awful ones. "Choosing For You" is almost an insult to Noisia's production quality, as the incredibly simple Skrillex drops and post-drop 808s (think his "Goin' Down" remix of Birdy Nam Nam's "Goin' Hard) are massively disappointing. However, even with the slight crests and dips the album has going for it, the whole thing is an unfortunately monotonous and dull affair. It's fun at times, sure, and mindless fun isn't bad all the time. However, especially given what Noisia is capable of, I Am Legion is unfortunately a step down from what could have been.



Recent reviews by this author
Todd Terje It's Album TimeSkrillex Recess
NickBee Empty Your MindDisney Soundtracks Frozen: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack
We Roll Like Madmen The Kids Must DieThe Glitch Mob Love Death Immortality
user ratings (19)
Chart.
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013



3013 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Will post on www.muzikdizcovery.com tomorrow, album's streaming ahead of its release date on Spotify.

Review breakdown:
Split The Atom mention count: 3
I Am Legion mention count: 2

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

Eloriaz
August 31st 2013



598 Comments


Awww, I was hoping it to be really good. I love Split the Atom. Better luck next time I guess. I will still give it a listen since I haven't but upon reading your review, I am truly not expecting one of the best dance albums of this year D:

Nice review tho =]

Digging: Source Direct - Exorcise The Demons

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013



3013 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Thanks! Yeah, this was MAD disappointing, especially after Make Those Move was actually pretty good

Eloriaz
August 31st 2013



598 Comments


Exactly! I also thought "Make Those Move" was a fun little track that reminded me of "Shellshock" on
their first LP. I am curious to know (and hear) what went wrong.

I had my hopes pretty high for this one, as well as for BT's new album (whyyyy). Still, 2013 has been
an excellent year for electronics so far, so thank God :P



Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013



3013 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

BT's new album isn't as bad as people are saying IMO, I give it a solid 2.6/2.7. It's cheesy as fuck, sure, but he wasn't ever going for something different and it still sounds all right (though These Hopeful Machines was far, far better)

Eloriaz
August 31st 2013



598 Comments


I may have been a little harsh with BT's new album. But when I listened to it, I just felt like I
didn't discover anything. I guess I'm so tired of those same "EDM" tracks we all hear again
and again (and that all sound alike) that his production skills (and he does have mad skills!)
couldn't hide the fact that.... he seemed to be willing to do the same thing than those producers who
keep rehashing the same track and the same sounds again and again >_>

I was hoping Noisia would think a little bit outside the box like they had done with Split the
Atom
though :/

edit: BT's new album seemed to have no personality to me. there. that's what I was trying to say :P

FelixCulpa
August 31st 2013



1236 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yup pretty much. Nice review. Man, "Make Those Moves" hinted at what felt might have been such a fun album.

Acanthus
August 31st 2013



9510 Comments


Once the second track was released you could begin to see hope for this dwindle, especially with their chosen direction.

Digging: Symphony X - Paradise Lost

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013



3013 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

The second track was "Choosing For You," right? Worst track on the album IMO

Acanthus
August 31st 2013



9510 Comments


Yeah I think that was it, Foreign Beggars are really hit/miss for me so I wasn't looking froward to this with any major hope.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013



3013 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

They were admittedly pretty good on Split the Atom

Acanthus
August 31st 2013



9510 Comments


Some tracks they enhance, others just fall flat for me.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013



3013 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

In general, they've been pretty bad IMO since about 2011 or so

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
September 1st 2013



30298 Comments


HORSESHIT!!!!


post-drop 808s


Post drop drumbeat? What do you mean by this?

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
September 1st 2013



3013 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I couldn't figure out a way to say "after the drop" so I said "post-drop"

treeqt.
September 1st 2013



7848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this is actually not even that bad

Digging: Jason Lescalleet - Much to My Demise

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
September 1st 2013



3013 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Hence the 2.5 in lieu of something worse

treeqt.
September 1st 2013



7848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

but the 3.0 because this is fun : O

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
September 1st 2013



3013 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

It's fun, sure, but so is most of Noisia's other material, and this is a serious step down in quality from that.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
September 2nd 2013



30298 Comments



I couldn't figure out a way to say "after the drop" so I said "post-drop"


I was more curious about the 808s - wouldn't the drumbeat more or less be the same as before "the drop" (ugh)? Just seemed like a weird thing to make reference to



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy