Green Day
¡UNO!


3.5
great

Review

by Townsendium USER (10 Reviews)
August 31st, 2013 | 26 replies


Release Date: 2012 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Someone kill the haters, shoot those fuckers down

A lot of people are calling Green Days latest efforts utter ***e. And to be honest I can see why. This trilogy is very different to what we've gotten from Green Day in the past, in fact the only album I can see as be vaguely similar is Warning. Green Day have swapped the heavy guitar sound that was present on their previous album and instead opted for a garage rock sound. This isn't really a mistake, nor is it a brilliant choice. It will probably satisfy fans, but will be somewhat of a let down for the casual listener (who will have based their opinion of the band solely on American Idiot and 21st Century Breakdown, because they're the only albums they will be aware that Green Day did).

The majority of tracks on this record are listenable, with a few here or there that you will probably skip. This is mainly down to the fact that a lot of the songs on ¡Uno! sound very very similar. Kill The DJ, Nuclear Family and Oh Love are the only songs that particularly stand out. Not to say they're the best on the album, not at all, but they are the ones that sound refreshingly new and different (for Green Day anyhow).

Something you will notice on this album is Billie Joe screaming "WOW!" a lot. He's never really done this before, so my thinking is he discovered he could do it and threw it into every other song. The first few songs, you won't mind it. After that it will start to piss you off.

The lyrics are decent, if not a little OTT with the profanity. Kill The DJ has so many uses of the F word Fred Durst would have a heart attack. There aren't any lyrics that will make you want to punch anything or anyone, but there are some that might make you cringe.

Overall a pretty good record, I enjoy it, a must have for fans, casual listeners can probably skip this one (listen to ¡DOS!)



Recent reviews by this author
Korn The Paradigm ShiftMy Chemical Romance Danger Days...
Runaround Kids Linked ArmsGreen Day iDOS!
Metric Old World Underground, Where Are You NowBreaking Benjamin Breaking Benjamin
user ratings (918)
Chart.
2.4
average
other reviews of this album
1 of
related reviews

Warning

International Superhits

Dookie

Nimrod
recommended by reviewer
Green Day ¡Dos!

Comments:Add a Comment 
Millstone
August 31st 2013


367 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Soundoff review.

Instant neg.

Ripperoni
August 31st 2013


2 Comments


Why a 3.5?

danielcardoso
August 31st 2013


2300 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Unfortunately, disagree with just about everything you said.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

god may green day fanboys never stop writing reviews on sputnikmusic.com

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

slep
August 31st 2013


1604 Comments


it's the green day fanboys that make the world go round tho!

too causal of a review here



Townsendium
August 31st 2013


51 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I knew you fuckers wouldn't like this review. But do I give a shit? No

JumpTheF**kUp
August 31st 2013


2710 Comments


that's the spirit

slep
August 31st 2013


1604 Comments


good for you, I guess?

but not to be an asshole, just write a soundoff next time then

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2013


21438 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

although i agree this album is pretty good, this is a horrific review


wont neg though

Digging: Aspherium - The Fall of Therenia

Crawl
August 31st 2013


1628 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

album needs to die


Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins on Io

Green Baron
August 31st 2013


20000 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

fuck this review and album so bad

Digging: Kayo Dot - Coffins On Io

Gwyn.
August 31st 2013


15160 Comments


lol

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2013


3469 Comments


Review isn't great but not nearly 0 for 11-worthy, so have a pos to balance things out

TheSpaceMan
August 31st 2013


2502 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

lol yeah now its more accurate

Gwyn.
August 31st 2013


15160 Comments


Always forget about the existence of this shitty trilogy until someone makes a pointless review like this

Review isn't atrocious, but it's still pretty bad

StallionMang
August 31st 2013


5821 Comments


Yuck. Neg'd.

Digging: The Velvet Underground - The Velvet Underground

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2013


21438 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this and tre are guilty pleasures. theyre far better than 21st century breakdown at least

Rawben
August 31st 2013


178 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Townsendium- im pretty sure you DO care that your review is getting hated on... I don't see why you wouldn't...

Digging: Celldweller - End of an Empire - Chapter 01: Time

Green Baron
August 31st 2013


20000 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah i'll pos too. not nearly as bad as the other review for this a few days ago

NightmareCinema16
September 1st 2013


2016 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

People need to stop reviewing specifically THIS and DOS. RIGHT NOW.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy