John Frusciante
Outsides


3.5
great

Review

by tom USER (13 Reviews)
August 29th, 2013 | 223 replies


Release Date: 2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: all that is here will be sunlight

If last year’s PBX Funicular Intaglio Zone taught us anything, it’s that John Frusciante is essentially done with rock music. Pop though? Not so much. At its core, buried under the layers of bleeps, bloops, and scattershot drumbeats, were six or seven very good pop songs. Outsides is the natural evolution of that sound, seeing Frusciante pick up where he left off on PBX and delving even deeper into the world of electronic music, in the process abandoning any semblance of pop norms or traditional songwriting structures.

This isn’t necessarily to say that Outsides is inaccessible. Indeed, the angel choir and bass groove in opener ‘Same’ are as infectious as they are bizarre, inviting the listener into the weird and wonderful space within. Let’s talk about ‘Same’ for a moment: a hypnotic ten minute instrumental home to a guitar solo which owes far more to the everywhere-at-once mindfuckery of Robert Fripp than to previous influences such as, say, Bernard Sumner or Jimi Hendrix. Hearing Frusciante go over the edge this way brings thrill after visceral thrill as he chops, changes, and shreds with reckless abandon, showing what is possible when he nails the balance between man and machine. Where the EP stumbles is ‘Breathiac’, a short yet disruptive instrumental which targets brain over heart and ends up falling flat. It would be unfair to pin this on the lack of vocals - some of the most moving songs in this discography are instrumentals (‘Ramparts’, ‘With Love’, ‘Falling’ et al.) – moreso it seems to be flaunting some form of complex rhythmic theory (or something) and ultimately fails as a listenable tune. This area of production is where Frusciante still has much room for improvement. The ideas are there but lacking finesse, too often slipping into ham-fisted Aphex Twin worship.

Thankfully, ‘Breathiac’ is easily overlooked when followed by a track like ‘Shelf’. This here is the true gem of the record and is exactly the sort of song that vindicates Frusciante on his questionable adventures in Electroland. Without getting into tedious details, suffice to say you’ll get three minutes of fun danceable jammy goodness before abruptly switching gear into full-blown Fruphoria™ mode where everything just clicks. Beats, grooves, choirs and synths all come together over a gorgeous chord progression to elevate the listener to that next level before fading out and making you hit replay again and again and again. What we’ve got here is yet another worthy addition to this fine discography. A disjointed, messy, occasionally frustrating yet ultimately rewarding listen. What it lacks in polish is redeemed by those familiar flashes of JF brilliance which are again occurring with greater and greater frequency. After a dozen or so spins I can’t help but feel that John is on the cusp of something great here. Outsides may be just a stepping stone, but it’s a pretty damn good one.



Recent reviews by this author
John Frusciante 4-Track Guitar MusicBroods Evergreen
The National Cherry TreeJ Mascis Tied to a Star
Milo Greene Milo GreeneThe Daysleepers Drowned in a Sea of Sound
user ratings (49)
Chart.
3.2
good
other reviews of this album
willi (2)
John goes nowhere....


Comments:Add a Comment 
tommygun
August 29th 2013


26166 Comments


bear with me here fellas i've had a lot of wine and no dinner

tunes:

'same': https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=19OwhHtkJmM
'shelf': https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SiotHC81mGY

Digging: Sticky Fingers - Land of Pleasure

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
August 29th 2013


34368 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Fruphoria™"

I lol'd. Pos'd of course, ace review.

Digging: Radiohead - A Moon Shaped Pool

tommygun
August 29th 2013


26166 Comments


it's a real thing man!

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
August 29th 2013


34368 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Of course, I never doubted it. Speaking of Fruphoria, I finally jammed Stadium in full a couple times and goddamn he's on fire in that album. They all are actually, there's maybe 3 or 4 songs I didn't dig on the whole two discs. I mean that's like 24/25 good songs in one album how the fuck is that even possible omg

tommygun
August 29th 2013


26166 Comments


right on dude yeah he just tears shit up on there

dem solos on 'turn it again'

'hey' is prob my fave rhcp song true story

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
August 29th 2013


34368 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think If and Hard to Concentrate were my favourites, both of them so fucking beautiful. I wish Kiedis would actually try with his lyrics more often because when he actually has a subject to write about he pens some beautiful shit.



I would 5 it right now if it weren't for Snow (Hey Oh), Charlie, and So Much I.

manosg
Contributing Reviewer
August 29th 2013


9356 Comments


John Frusciante is excellent agreed. I might check this one in due time.

Review is well written, pos.

Digging: Ripper (CL) - Experiment of Existence

adarkishman
August 29th 2013


627 Comments


jahaaahaah nice3eee

tommygun
August 29th 2013


26166 Comments


thanks bros

dude rowan wtf charlie rocks???

btw have you heard this?

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
August 29th 2013


34368 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sorry dude Charlie bored me. And yeah I heard this when it first streamed on YouTube, I remember you telling me what you thought of it before I listened, but I haven't jammed since then.

tommygun
August 29th 2013


26166 Comments


swee

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
August 29th 2013


34368 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Will jam it again soon man. Then again I gotta jam all his stuff again soon cos I haven't really listened to him since I went through all his albums. Sphere at the Heart of Silence is still the best though.

tommygun
August 29th 2013


26166 Comments


sphere is amazing yea

avonbarksdale221
August 29th 2013


8296 Comments


fru·pho·ri·a [froo-fawr-ee-uh, -fohr-]
noun
1.
a state of intense happiness and self-confidence induced by listening to John Frusciante's music: She was flooded with Fruphoria as she danced on the podium to the second half of 'Shelf'

Fucking lol man. Sweet review :]

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
August 29th 2013


34368 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Josh > other people.

Actually, Josh > all other people.

Did you create me a word for Josh's brilliance yet?

tommygun
August 29th 2013


26166 Comments


cheers avon bro

nah rowan man still thinkin about that one

it's ok we have time as long as it's ready before the next dot hacker record!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2013


3899 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review, pos. I have to listen to this again, it's been a while now.



Also, there is a recent cool interview with John over at Billboard, if you haven't checked it out already - http://www.billboard.com/articles/news/5657748/john-frusciante-qa-on-his-electronic-evolution-and-why-hes-done-with-rock

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
August 29th 2013


34368 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@tommy sweet, hopefully Dot Hacker won't be too long I NEED MORE.

ButteryBiscuitBass
August 29th 2013


10926 Comments


Sweet review tommy old mucker, love your writing style.

tommygun
August 29th 2013


26166 Comments


@ buttery - wow thank you so much, i chucked in a bernard sumner reference just for you :]

@ raul - yeah man very interesting interview, he really just gives no fucks anymore haha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy