Nine Inch Nails
Hesitation Marks


3.5
great

Review

by MegaMetalHeadBro USER (8 Reviews)
August 28th, 2013 | 47 replies | 2,979 views


Release Date: 09/03/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Decent enough album with a couple of really bad songs that drag it down

2 of 15 thought this review was well written

Infamous for being the one-man band, the project of Trent Reznor, Nine Inch Nails is a project that has achieved a large amount of success over the course of many years, arguably reaching their pinnacle when legendary artist Johnny Cash covered the song Hurt. However, for many years now the band appears to have been on auto-pilot, releasing albums that do nothing particularly fresh and are a huge step down from releases such as The Downward Spiral. Reception of their latest album, Hesitation Marks, has been very positive, however, and for good reason. This is a step in the right direction for Trent.

This is an album that is nothing like anything they have worked on before, feeling new and fresh. The introduction to Copy Of A says all that needs to be said about this album, boasting an ethereal feel in the electronic sounds and the fun enough beat. Trent's vocals are as powerful as ever before, being laced with emotion as he pours his lyrics out and the electronic musical mayhem builds up and he declares "I don't know for certain anymore". This is definitely an album that pulls no punches, showcasing some of their best and most unique and enjoyable material in years.

Trent says it himself on the aforementioned track, "I am just trying to catch up with myself", and that he has done very well on his 2013 outing. Come Back Haunted showcases one of the most powerful choruses in his career, whilst it also shows that he has maintained his knack of writing thought provoking lyrics wrought deep with clever imagery. I Would For You is the standout song here and is perhaps the strongest song he has done since The Downward Spiral album, with a lot of emotional vocal work and music fits it really well. The way Trent almost mumbles the lyrical content here could not set more of a bleak sound up for the track, and this is exactly how NIN music should be done.

Sadly, it is not all positive here and there are a few real stinkers on the album. All Time Low in particularly has some atrocious dance beats that really do not feel at home at all despite the fact that this album makes heavy use of a lot of synth work, and it really isn't a particularly good song. This is one point in the album where you will almost be questioning what the hell was going through Trent's mind.

Despite the weaker songs here, this maintains a step in the right direction and a solid progression for Nine Inch Nails. Tracks like I Would For You showcase why he still possesses a whole lot of talent and knows how to focus it with some of the most ridiculously good vocals out there when he almost yells "I only have myself to blame" two minutes fifteen in. This is an album that will not win many album of the year awards for 2013 but is certainly a solid release.



Recent reviews by this author
Lamb of God ResolutionAvenged Sevenfold Hail to the King
Joy Division Unknown PleasuresBring Me the Horizon There Is a Hell, Believe Me I've Seen It
Annihilator FeastAnnihilator Never, Neverland
user ratings (711)
Chart.
3.7
great
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
climactic
August 28th 2013



18624 Comments


no u didnt

YourDarkAffected
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2013



1648 Comments


"Infamous for being the one-man band, the project of Trent Reznor, Nine Inch Nails is a project..."

Among some other issues with your review, this opening sentence is just terribly awkward to read. I would fix that.

Digging: My Brightest Diamond - None More Than You

Minus.
August 28th 2013



2680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I already have a review written for this but I'm holding off on submitting until the release date.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2013



9550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Infamous for being the one-man band"

Why does that make him infamous? That would be called talented in my book.

"This is definitely an album that pulls no punches"

Wouldn't this mean the album is underwhelming? Which in this case most of your review says it isn't.

Not gonna neg cause you have barely written any reviews but some of your thoughts and sentences are
worded awkwardly. And save this in case it gets taken down. It's not "offically" out yet.

The777thVermicide
August 28th 2013



277 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Good album but lame review, skele. You're trying too hard, besides came back haunted is wack ya twat

LocustGrove
August 28th 2013



540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Vermicide lol I barely tried on this review.

and it shows...

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2013



9550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh you barely tried?? Does that imply you won't take my critiques into account?

sixdegrees
August 28th 2013



16907 Comments


great, more extruded review product from skele

Digging: Ted Nugent - Shutup&jam!

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2013



9550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You know what, neg lol

The777thVermicide
August 28th 2013



277 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Vermicide lol I barely tried on this review.

Yeah I can notice that you nonce. Get a job lazy douche, written shit by a non native speaker or a chav is better than this crap.

LocustGrove
August 28th 2013



540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Sadly, it is not all positive here and there are a few real stinkers on the album."

Please fix that sentence for the love of god

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2013



9550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Why would you not try in a review unless your trying to be funny? I don't understand that mentality.

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
August 28th 2013



12846 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is cool nd all but id rather jam new qotsa or aic

Digging: Dinosaur Jr. - J Mascis Live at CBGB's

LocustGrove
August 28th 2013



540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

skele just being skele

jtswope
August 28th 2013



2001 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good luck keeping this up.

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2013



9550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It was a pretty fun album. Nothing too new or innovative but Reznor's talent still shows.

LocustGrove
August 28th 2013



540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good luck keeping this up.

thaaats what she said

TheGreatQ
August 28th 2013



1328 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^lol

Digging: Empty Yard Experiment (E.Y.E.) - Kallisti

porch
August 28th 2013



8453 Comments


"This is definitely an album that pulls no punches"

"Wouldn't this mean the album is underwhelming?"

actually no it wouldn't. nice work

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2013



9550 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just how it sounds to me. Pulls no punches to me sounds like it's playing it safe.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy