Arrayan Path
IV: Stigmata


4.0
excellent

Review

by warlordfun USER (7 Reviews)
August 28th, 2013 | 25 replies


Release Date: 06/10/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Arrayan Path expand their sound to something great

IV: Stigmata, the fourth full length album by Cyprus-based neoclassical power metal act Arrayan Path, is another solid notch in the band’s belt. With their previous albums they managed to prove to the power metal scene that they were a rising force to be reckoned with, although, their inability of absorbing and balancing their influences was a downside for the band’s career. Until the release of the excellent Ira Imperium, Arrayan Path were nothing but a solid power metal band, but the release of IV: Stigmata shows a band, which expanded its musicianship to a whole new level. If nothing else, IV: Stigmata is an enjoyable outing that presents Arrayan Path as a more confident and dynamic band than its previous releases.

In IV: Stigmata, Arrayan Path take their sound into a more straightforward and heavier songwriting approach, while the lyrics deal with the Christian mythology. This is in contrast to Terra Incognita and Ira Imperium, where the Cypriotes incorporated an emotionally invested and bombastic retelling of various ancient myths and cultures. First and foremost, the lead guitar lines are amazing, with blazing fast arpeggios and melodic classically infused scales. There is much stronger emphasis on galloping rhythms and speedy segues, like the chorus and main riff on Midnight and the First-Born Massacre –which is probably the album’s finest moment. The group never really breaks into the realms of speed metal, but the songs are intensive enough, so as to escalate your heart beating rate. On the other hand, there are some slower and more plodding songs to be found here, such as the beautiful Harbringers Of Death and the infectious Pharaoh’s Wish. The self titled track focuses a bit more on subtle symphonic elements and slow paced, melodic guitar lines, in an attempt to amplify the dark content of the lyrics.

The powerful weapon of Arrayan Path is the vocalist and band founder, Nicholas Leptos, who seems to be a lot more confident in his singing duties with respect to past releases. He attains an extremely melodic mid-pitch vocal range and as a vocalist, i could consider him as a crossover between Roy Khan and Fabio Leone. Listen to The Bible Bleeds or Midnight And The First-Born Massacre and you will see what i mean. Some weaker moments though, such as The Storyteller couldn’t be avoided. It would be very nice, if the album closed with one epic song, but this isn’t enough to downgrade the album’s quality.

To sum it up, the dark concept of the lyrics and more brooding atmosphere help set this apart from other contemporary power metal acts. If you dig bands like Rhapsody, Kamelot and Iron Mask you will appreciate what the band has to offer here. IV: Stigmata is the best Arrayan Path release to date and it is another landmark in what is growing to be a monumental discography.

Overall: 4.2/5
Recommended Tracks:
-Midnight And The First Born-Massacre
-The Bible Bleeds
-Clepsydra
-Stigmata
-Judas Iscariot



Recent reviews by this author
Running Wild Death or GloryWarlord Deliver Us
Heavens Gate Livin' In HysteriaSacred Warrior Master's Command
Medieval Steel Medieval SteelWarlord The Holy Empire
user ratings (5)
Chart.
4.2
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
warlordfun
August 28th 2013


390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hey guys, i hope you like my review.
If you are new to this band take a look, please:

Clepsydra
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CvDC4gtp7eQ

Midnight And The First-Born Massacre
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X7hiwvQo7fU

Stigmata
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VUxHAnIQ9i8

Cassiopeia
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DRU_0WXY-N8

Mystic Moon
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=55GEPuwqJdA

Liberation Song
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mndp48-OtRI

warlordfun
August 28th 2013


390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

humm, no comments. sigh

BallsToTheWall
August 28th 2013


44606 Comments


Was expecting some "Keepin it white, keepin it right", NSBM, hopes foiled, leaves thread dejected.

Digging: Mare Cognitum - Phobos Monolith

BallsToTheWall
August 28th 2013


44606 Comments


Good review Mr. Man.

warlordfun
August 28th 2013


390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@BallsToTheWall what exactly are you trying to say?

warlordfun
August 28th 2013


390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@BallsToTheWall thanks

BallsToTheWall
August 28th 2013


44606 Comments


I was expecting this. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M18BtleeCgs .

warlordfun
August 28th 2013


390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@BallsToTheWall, ahh ok my bad.

CaptainDooRight
August 28th 2013


29881 Comments


Overall, this is a very solid review. Have a pos.

Constructive criticism:

*Your "I's" in your review are lower case.

*I noticed that you have both the album names and the song titles in bold. From a formatting perspective I feel your review would look more professional if you italicized the album names and put the song names in qoutation marks. About 95% of the experienced writers on Sputnik do it that way as a universal thing. Regardless, you could do it your own way but it would be nice to see some type of distinction between the two.

In regards to my interest in this album/band:

Just from the simple fact that you mentioned this vocalist has Roy Khan-like characteristics, my interest has increased. Perhaps, when I have time, I'll give those links you posted a listen.

Digging: Impetuous Ritual - Unholy Congregation of Hypocritical Ambivalence

warlordfun
August 28th 2013


390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@CaptainDooRight, i appreciate your constructive criticism. I'll bear these things in mind, i'm trying to improve my reviews, believe me.

manosg
August 28th 2013


6250 Comments


Well written bud, have a pos.

Digging: Acrimony - Tumuli Shroomaroom

warlordfun
August 28th 2013


390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

thanks dude. check this album out, you won't regret it!

manosg
August 28th 2013


6250 Comments


I've added a couple of the tracks to my list and I'll give them a listen, I trust your taste.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2013


6197 Comments


Good review overall, kudos for writing it and pos, the band is tight indeed.

Digging: Aeon Sable - Visionaers

warlordfun
August 28th 2013


390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@manosg, that's great, and please share your opinion with me, when you'll listen to these songs

warlordfun
August 28th 2013


390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

@Voivod, Wow thanks for taking the time to help with some of this. Your constructive criticism is more than welcomed!

warlordfun
August 28th 2013


390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

hey bro, glad you like my review. You won't be dissapointed by this album!

lostforwords
August 29th 2013


446 Comments


Good review, pos.
For some reason I was lead to believe they were an epic metal band, but they sound like a 90's Italian
power metal act instead (Labyrinth, Rhapsody and Symmetry), which is fine with me!

warlordfun
August 29th 2013


390 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

"Good review, pos"
@lostforwords, thanks man!
"but they sound like a 90's Italian power metal act instead (Labyrinth, Rhapsody and Symmetry), which is fine with me"
Yes exactly! Μan i used to believe that Dickinson, Fabio Leone, Geoff Tate, Rob Halford had their own unique voice, but in power metal (and other genres) you will find so many vocalists with a similar voice quality!

aggelosm
August 29th 2013


471 Comments


very well written. Have a pos.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy