Hank Crawford
Tico Rico


5.0
classic

Review

by Tucker Best USER (6 Reviews)
August 28th, 2013 | 47 replies


Release Date: 1977 | Tracklist

Review Summary: An important gateway album for those looking to explore jazz.

Sup fellas? Let me have a quick word. Have you heard about the bodacious rhythms and melodies of jazz and want to start exploring the genre? Have you been a dope and dived in at the deep end and bellowed: 'this is not for me'? Well how about having a listen to 1977's 'Tico Rico' by Hank Crawford - an album as genius as it is accessible.

Hank Crawford was a master of the saxophone and has played with musical giants such as Ray Charles, Eric Clapton and B.B. King, so it makes perfect sense that the alto saxophone is the stand-out instrument on this record. Whether it's the clever, but simple, melody which gives further life to the bombastic bass line of the opening track 'Tico Rico', or the out and out beauty of 'Lady Soul', the listener will be dazzled by Crawford's mouth-watering sound.

Hardened jazz heads will also buzz off this one. It's true that jazz is full of rewarding gems such as 'Bitches Brew', but we all have to admit that sometimes it's nice to spin a record as background music, or to simply relax. I'm a progger, but I don't feel the need to constantly analyse 'Close to the Edge', or 'Lizard'. This is where 'Tico Rico' will never get old in your collection - you will find yourself returning to it more often than you'd expect, because more often than not music should be enjoyed and not torn to shreds.

I can't stress enough how important this album is if you're contemplating broadening your horizons. When I first heard this record I delved deep into the discography of not only Hank Crawford, but the likes of Ray Charles and Herbie Hancock. Someone once told me if you don't like 'Kind of Blue' by Miles Davis then jazz isn't your thing. I am convinced that the same can be said about 'Tico Rico'.



Recent reviews by this author
The Smiths Meat Is MurderMenahan Street Band Make the Road by Walking
Primus Tales from the PunchbowlHerbie Hancock Mr Hands
McLusky My Pain and Sadness is More Sad...
user ratings (3)
Chart.
4.3
superb

Comments:Add a Comment 
ButteryBiscuitBass
August 28th 2013


10328 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

First review in a while; this album needed one.

avonbarksdale221
August 28th 2013


8265 Comments


Sweet review man, third paragraph contains so much truth. Don't think I'm at the stage when I would listen to something like this, but I'll download it and save it for a rainy day.

ButteryBiscuitBass
August 28th 2013


10328 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks guys

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2013


21577 Comments


Nice review man, pos'd. I think the review would have benefitted from more information highlighting certain parts and aspects of the album rather than just a couple of lines at the end of the second paragraph but it was well written none the less.

Digging: Foxes in Fiction - Ontario Gothic

ButteryBiscuitBass
August 28th 2013


10328 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Cheers, Jamie. I just really wanted to highlight the importance of this as a gateway Jazz album, but I see your point.

Thanks as always, bro. I hope you're all good.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2013


21577 Comments


@Buttery: Yeah I'm all good thanks bro, hope you are too.

ShitsofRain
August 28th 2013


5956 Comments


looks like a good album for starters, ty

tommygun
August 28th 2013


25406 Comments


nice man pos for sup fellas

this sounds cool will def check

couple of minor errors give me a minute

Digging: Banks - Goddess

ButteryBiscuitBass
August 28th 2013


10328 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Cheers tommy

tommygun
August 28th 2013


25406 Comments


Hank Crawford is a master of the saxophone

p sure he's dead so change 'is' to 'was'

more often than not Music should be enjoyed and not torn to shreds

'music' shouldn't be capitalised (same goes for every instance of the word 'jazz')

if you don't like 'A Kind of Blue' by Miles Davis

lose the 'a' from 'kind of blue'

i really dig the conversational tone you went for here man

very digestible and it really makes me wanna check this

good shit

ButteryBiscuitBass
August 28th 2013


10328 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sorted - thanks for your time tommy beybay.

tommygun
August 28th 2013


25406 Comments


sweet man on me way to download this now j/

ButteryBiscuitBass
August 28th 2013


10328 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Enjoy it dude!

manosg
August 28th 2013


6692 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Good choice for a review man. Album's definitely recommended for the untrained ear.

Digging: Witchfynde - Give 'em Hell

ButteryBiscuitBass
August 28th 2013


10328 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks manosg.

ButteryBiscuitBass
August 28th 2013


10328 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The review? Agreed. But some cunt negged.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2013


20155 Comments


hey i added this to the database : D

nice job man. I kind of see where JT is coming from about how you could be a bit more descriptive, but I like how laid back the review is and it's easy to read. Pos sir.

where can I hear this?

Digging: Angels and Airwaves - The Dream Walker

ButteryBiscuitBass
August 28th 2013


10328 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You can stream it on youtube mate.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2013


21577 Comments


It's on Spotify too.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2013


20155 Comments


nice. i swear it wasn't on youtube a few weeks ago lol jamming it now



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy