Against Me!
True Trans


3.0
good

Review

by Green Baron USER (108 Reviews)
August 26th, 2013 | 15 replies | 3,181 views


Release Date: 07/12/2013 | Tracklist


7 of 8 thought this review was well written

Tom Gabel's decision to undergo gender transition was indeed a courageous one, and a year after becoming a woman, Gabel (erm... Grace) has released the first single off of Against Me!'s upcoming sixth studio album, Transgender Dysphoria Blues, "True Trans". If the title gave any indication, both songs on the single are about Grace's gender transition. As Grace's first recording as a woman, “True Trans” answers many questions about how Grace would turn out after becoming female. Thankfully, she still sounds the same, and the passion in her voice is still there. The single is two acoustic songs done solo by Grace, and just that. It’s not as good as the acoustic Against Me! EP, but Grace still manages to put on a fairly enjoyable performance, even if it isn’t much at all.

“***mylife666” is the better of the two songs on the single, with lyrics that manage to be personal while not overly in-your-face. Lines like “No more troubled sleep, there’s a brave new world that’s raging inside of me” and “I never wanna say that I regret it” are able to express Grace’s emotions about gender transition without being downright explicit. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the other song, “True Trans Soul Rebel”. It does have a catchier hook than “***mylife”, but is brought down by its lyrics, which often come across as overly boastful about the fact that she’s a woman now. “Does God bless your transsexual heart?” is so blatant that it comes off like she's bragging about her gender transition. Overall, although “True Trans Soul Rebel”’s chorus and guitarwork is better, “***mylife666” is the superior song due to its more subtle lyrical content. Both songs are decent, though, and my belief that Transgender Dysphoria Blues will be a great album is not shattered.



Recent reviews by this author
Royal Blood Royal BloodCaleb Johnson Testify
The Dirty Heads Sound of ChangeThe Gaslight Anthem Get Hurt
Beware of Darkness OrthodoxAdelitas Way Stuck
user ratings (42)
Chart.
3
good

Comments:Add a Comment 
plasmacoil
August 26th 2013



28 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

this review is kind of short. pos'd anyways but yea it's short

TheGreatQ
August 26th 2013



1325 Comments


I may be wrong, but I'm pretty sure you're not supposed to review singles here. Regardless, have a pos. I didn't know this
was released so now I have to go check it out.

Digging: Empty Yard Experiment (E.Y.E.) - Kallisti

Crawl
August 26th 2013



1576 Comments


it's meh

Green Baron
August 26th 2013



19092 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

you can review whatever the hell you want to, as long as it's on the database you can review it

Digging: Royal Blood - Royal Blood

mryrtmrnfoxxxy
August 26th 2013



12796 Comments


This sucks hard. Tom should have stayed Tom

woa

Digging: Dinosaur Jr. - J Mascis Live at CBGB's

XingKing
August 26th 2013



10319 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

This shit sucks hard like the rest of AM's past few works

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
August 26th 2013



7982 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this review is kind of short. pos'd anyways but yea it's short



He reviewed two songs, I don't think anyone is looking for a dissertation.


These songs rule, just like AM! has ALWAYS ruled

OverSlyZed
August 26th 2013



125 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

The lyrics are just terrible...and disgusting.

slep
August 26th 2013



1604 Comments


yeah, I always thought singles weren't allowed in the database, so you may have slipped one through the cracks here. regardless, you wrote a good review.

haven't heard these, but even with the overall declining quality of AM! albums as a whole, they've continued to have solid singles, so I'd bet these are good. will listen at some point

Irving
Staff Reviewer
August 26th 2013



7163 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm pretty sure this was an EP.

Green Baron
August 26th 2013



19092 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

well, according to wiki (fuck me, it's good enough), "True Trans" was released as the first single. I always thought singles only had one song, but whatever.

XingKing
August 26th 2013



10319 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Singles are usually bundled with another unreleased song and remixes/live versions

Green Baron
August 26th 2013



19092 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

normally, the b-side is either an unreleased song or a live track. it would have made more sense for "true trans soul rebel" to be the single and then "fuckmylife" to be the b-side.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
January 17th 2014



16083 Comments


Lol this review

plasmacoil
February 18th 2014



28 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

wow



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy