Blessthefall
Hollow Bodies


4.0
excellent

Review

by NarlusKing123 USER (2 Reviews)
August 24th, 2013 | 16 replies


Release Date: 08/20/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: A new, fun album from a pretty good band.

Every now and then there is a band that you absolutely hate. Just seeing this band made you angry. For me, blessthefall was this band. Every time I saw a picture of them it pissed me off. Their last album, Awakening, was crap. The only songs I could even remotely enjoy were the first three. But their new album, Hollow Bodies, is surprisingly enjoyable.

Let's talk about a big part of the band blessthefall, Jared Warth. I personally love his screaming. I think if blessthefall didn't have cleans this album would be at least a 4.5. But sadly, that isn't the case. As in other albums, Jared screams his lyrics with so much strength and power you are almost knocked out of your chair. He is at the top of his game here in Hollow Bodies, and it shows in every line.

Now let's talk about Mr. Pretty Boy, Beau Bokan. Probably my least favorite person in blessthefall, he seems to just go along with the band. No doubting he has a nice voice, no matter how monotone it is. But on Awakening, his vocals felt unneeded, as though they were only there to make some teens happy. But now, he seems to show that he is a force to be reckoned with. Whenever he sings the chorus, you can actually feel something. Whether it be sadness, depression, or hate, Beau sings with passion.

The guitar playing is the same, but with less solos and more breakdowns. Honestly, I think it's fine. People complain that breakdowns are cliche, but breakdowns are fun. They are they so you can head-bang and mosh for the hell of it. Or at least, that's my opinion. Now, the bass. People state that it is inaudible. Are they deaf? The bass is most definitely there. You can clearly hear it in the verses, though it seems to go away in the choruses for some particular reason. Even though the bass just follows the guitars on breakdowns, it's still fun to it on any album, especially this one.

Now the songs are written well. The overall outcome of the album is nice. Most songs have the same structure though. Opening breakdown, Jared, Beau, Jared, Beau, breakdown, more Beau. On this album nothings wrong with that. There are even a couple songs where just Beau is singing, which gives you a break from Jared's screaming which can get annoying if you listen for too long. They even have guest vocals from Jake Luhrs on the track “Carry on.” That completely blew my mind. It was a complete “Did that really happen?” moment.

Overall, Hollow Bodies is a fun, enjoyable album that I will definitely be listening to for a while. If you have a chance, pick up the album or stream it and see if it’s for you.


user ratings (204)
Chart.
3.1
good
other reviews of this album
1 of

Comments:Add a Comment 
NarlusKing123
August 24th 2013


6 Comments


Sorry if the first line sounds weird. Finger slipped while writing and didn't notice. Suggestions for other reviews would be nice too! Thank you!

FrozenVain
August 24th 2013


2469 Comments


You contradict yourself in the summary and the paragraph. In the summary you say that it's a pretty good band but in the first paragraph you say that you hate the band besides this album. That doesn't really make sense to me.

"People complain that breakdowns are cliche, but breakdowns are fun."

Hating on breakdowns isn't cliché at all. 99% of them just suck ass.

Decent first review though.

spartanawasp
August 24th 2013


303 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"There last album..."

Their.

Pos'd, but any review about blessthefall that has a positive score it seems will get instant negs.

ILJ
August 24th 2013


6728 Comments


A new fun album from a pretty good band.

Digging: Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels 2

ILJ
August 24th 2013


6728 Comments


anyway, review reads quite choppily and there are several errors throughout. you have some descriptions, but they're quite brief and you don't mention any examples. the review is also very personalized (by that i mean you talk about yourself several times in it) which can work well, but in this review it doesn't. it's not a terrible review, but it needs some work.

in the future:

go into more detail about aspects of the music. you mentioned that the bass follows the guitar for the most part, which is fine, but for everything else you kinda just skim over them and move on.

talk about specific songs, what you liked about them, what you didn't, etc (without saying "i like" or something similar) and then about the album as a whole, sort of like you did in the last descriptive paragraph.

stuff like the opening paragraph is more or less irrelevant. talking about previous albums by the group is a good intro, but be more specific. however, the "i hated them" spiel is unnecessary. also, you don't need to say "i enjoyed this album" we can tell that from your score.

i don't mean to make it seem like i'm tearing apart the review, because it's not that bad, but you seem like you could get better with time. read some contributor/staff reviews, get a sense of what they do and mimic some of their writing styles and see how it goes. eventually you will come into your own.

FourthReich
August 24th 2013


18041 Comments


that album cover is fucking ugly

Digging: Hail Mary Mallon - Bestiary

henryChinaski
August 24th 2013


2833 Comments


Indeed.

Digging: Pianos Become the Teeth - Keep You

TooLateToGoBack
August 24th 2013


1779 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

They managed to make a worse album cover than MMF Challenger.

Album itself is pretty eh. The harsh vocals are still good, and it is catchy, but my god does Beau bring the whole thing down. I was never a big fan of his, but he's got progressively worse with his singing - like on the track "Open Water" which isn't bad because Lights lends a hand, but his vocals are nasally, strained, and just awful.

AtomicShane
August 24th 2013


1925 Comments


pretty mehh.... kinda neet hearing Jake Luhrs tho

Digging: Trophy Eyes - Mend, Move On

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
August 24th 2013


50850 Comments


OK stop reviewing this now

Digging: Bobby Barnett - Little Wounds

NarlusKing123
August 24th 2013


6 Comments


Thanks for the suggestion guys!

pepster50
August 24th 2013


334 Comments


I remember i liked their first album but I just do not have the patience to give this one a chance, just checked out their single and it was terrible. blahh...

pjquinones747
August 24th 2013


766 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think this album is good, but you really gotta work on your reviewing. Very painful to read.

Digging: Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel

pjquinones747
August 24th 2013


766 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listen to ILJ, he knows what he's talking about. He's given me a few pointers here and there.

joshieboy12345
August 25th 2013


5371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Sucks.

twlichty
August 25th 2013


3417 Comments


Can you think of a different adjective than "fun"?


Thanks



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy