Laura Stevenson
Wheel


5.0
classic

Review

by OmNomsky USER (3 Reviews)
August 23rd, 2013 | 35 replies | 1,347 views


Release Date: 04/23/2013 | Tracklist

Review Summary: It's dirty laundry, it's empty styrofoam.

8 of 9 thought this review was well written

When a record speaks for itself (as art rightfully should), a description with words seems futile, doomed to failure, even downright impossible- but an album as poignant as Wheel demands recognition.

For anyone who has listened to a large amount of music, regardless of genre, cynicism can begin to rule the ear, making the slightest flaws of a track stand out disproportionately to their actual significance. It should be expected, after all, that in an age of media-saturation, ideas are reused, recycled, and consumed at a rate higher than ever before.

Against the odds, Wheel exudes ingenuity effortlessly. Each track flows, some tumultuously, others calmly. The emotional discourse can be so palpable at times that the listener has little choice but to be pulled along.

The essence of Wheel shines through each verse, undiluted by pretention or aspiration. It even lacks eagerness, and the absence of which makes space for a sense of patience. Like the title suggests, everything comes around, and with subsequent listens, Wheel only gets better.


user ratings (390)
Chart.
4.1
excellent
other reviews of this album
puertasmagicas (5)
We are the symbols we choose....

Adrian Hertzberg CONTRIBUTOR (5)
stop worrying, worrisome love...

Channing Freeman STAFF (5)
No one is ever gonna take my life from me; I lay it down, a ghost is born....


Comments:Add a Comment 
tommygun
August 23rd 2013



23638 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

fuckin sweet

Digging: Obliteration - Black Death Horizon

PunchforPunch
August 23rd 2013



5941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweet short review pos'd

jeremologyy
August 23rd 2013



265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I like Laura Stevenson, but man... Sputnik really kisses her ass. Like, everyone on here thinks everything she does is perfect and I just don't understand why.. O_O

tommygun
August 23rd 2013



23638 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

because it is

Gwyn.
August 23rd 2013



14915 Comments


dam

Digging: Grief - Come to Grief

jdennis31
August 24th 2013



6511 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"I like Laura Stevenson, but man... Sputnik really kisses her ass. Like, everyone on here thinks everything she does is perfect and I just don't understand why.. O_O" I'm generally very polite, but kindly fuck your own face. jk. Dude, Laura Stevenson is perfect.

avonbarksdale221
August 24th 2013



8087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still haven't listened to this in full. Am I a bad person?

jdennis31
August 24th 2013



6511 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Avon would have listened to it by now. You're no Avon.

avonbarksdale221
August 24th 2013



8087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can't really see this being Avon Barksdale's thing personally, but maybe thats just me.

jdennis31
August 24th 2013



6511 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Read something about Wood Harris (Avon) being a fan of indie music and wanting to incorporate it into hip hop. Can't find the interview though.

avonbarksdale221
August 24th 2013



8087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No way! I can't seem to be able to get past the "I'm just a gangster, I suppose" persona. Wood Harris will always be Avon to me.

jdennis31
August 24th 2013



6511 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yea. I just watched Dredd and it was hard for me to even see him in a lackey type role. I think I'm bout to rewatch the Wire, haha.

avonbarksdale221
August 24th 2013



8087 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Always a good idea. Just watched Boardwalk Empire which has Michael K Williams (Omar) in it which is pretty weird. Although he is still a complete badass.

lilium23
August 24th 2013



81 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This review was great. You should write a review for Age of Adz.

zxlkho
August 24th 2013



3460 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah this is a 5

OmNomsky
August 24th 2013



6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Appreciated, but Adz? Man. I still don't even fully get that album.

somerandomusername
August 24th 2013



86 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Amazing short review for an amazing album.
Not a 5 to me, but close to that.
Pos'd.

Motiv3
August 24th 2013



8920 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

short and sweet review. Pos.

Album of the year right here.

Digging: Opeth - Pale Communion

KILL
August 24th 2013



70718 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

totes

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

Drummerboy123
August 24th 2013



2312 Comments


Wow this site wanks over this album like no other....its excellent but no AOTY.

Digging: Sleepmakeswaves - Love of Cartography



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy